Holden to sponsor pies for $3 million for 3 years

This is a Collingwood Bulletin Board - use this forum for general, Pies-related topics. For other footy topics, use Nick's Other AFL forum, and for non-footy sporting topics please use Nick's Sports Bar. For non-sporting topics please use the Victoria Park Tavern.

Collingwood 4 eternity

Holden to sponsor pies for $3 million for 3 years

Post by Collingwood 4 eternity »

Mentioned on the 3aw rumor file

Holden to become an additional club sponsor , not playing uniform sponsorship.
1990 Grand Final :
"From the back pocket, this will be probably the last kick, he need not even kick it, the drought is over. 32 years they've waited, let the celebrations begin" Sandy Roberts

Post by mudlark »

Please NO!!!! Not Frickin'Holden :cry:
Deja Vu

Post by Deja Vu »

What happened to Lexus?
Collingwood 4 eternity

Round one Banner next year

Instead of like the old adds , "Football , meat pies , kangaroos and Holden cars"

Should read "Football , Magpies , beat the Roos and Holden cars"
1990 Grand Final :
"From the back pocket, this will be probably the last kick, he need not even kick it, the drought is over. 32 years they've waited, let the celebrations begin" Sandy Roberts
GreekLunatic

Post by GreekLunatic »

why dont we go for a higher class sponsor in mercedes benz
Brenny

Post by Brenny »

Deja Vu wrote:What happened to Lexus?

Lexus are still a behind the scenes parter. They pulled their sponsorship of the Westpac Centre, after it started costing beyond A$2m a year.

The rumour was, Westpac took it over, because Collingwood owed them money and Westpac agreed to write it off for naming rights of the training facility. Mind you that's strictly rumour. Was neither confirmed or denied. Though Collingwood deny it to the hilt.
watt price tully

Post by watt price tully »

Holden for our pokies ventures in Melton where we are helping the less affluent folk.

Could GMH be our new people's wagon?

A contrast from Lexus most coirtonly :wink:
“I even went as far as becoming a Southern Baptist until I realised they didn’t keep ‘em under long enough” Kinky Friedman
Deja Vu

Post by Deja Vu »

Brenny wrote:
Deja Vu wrote:What happened to Lexus?

Lexus are still a behind the scenes parter. They pulled their sponsorship of the Westpac Centre, after it started costing beyond A$2m a year.

The rumour was, Westpac took it over, because Collingwood owed them money and Westpac agreed to write it off for naming rights of the training facility. Mind you that's strictly rumour. Was neither confirmed or denied. Though Collingwood deny it to the hilt.

Yep I understand that but Lexus are still a sponsor of the club. The club would not take on a new sponsorship deal with a competitor of an existing partner. Unless the Lexus deal has or is about to expire - which is what I was hinting at.
ANNODAM

Post by ANNODAM »

Well, best I buy a new COLL sticker for the HSV then...
WE WERE ROBBED, RIGHT IN FRONT OF ME, RIGHT IN FRONT OF MEEE!

Proud Pies

Post by Proud Pies »

didn't hear the original rumour, but did hear Ross & John confirm a bit later that they had been contacted by the Collingwood Football Club and the rumour was just that...... a rumour

oh no, they fibbed
Last edited by Proud Pies on Thu Jan 31, 2013 5:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Jacqui © Proud Pies 2003 and beyond
SteveH67

Post by SteveH67 »

Pathetic Pies

I am not a bogan and dont appreciate my club being sponsored by the bogan's car brand of choice.
Collingwood 4 eternity

Looks as though it may be our VFL team that Holden is going to sponsor
1990 Grand Final :
jack_spain

Post by jack_spain »

SteveH67 wrote:Pathetic Pies

I am not a bogan and dont appreciate my club being sponsored by the bogan's car brand of choice.

Whatever happened to supporting our own Australian brands?

But no, the latte sipping set have to have their European cars or Japanese faux-prestige like Lexus.

Go Holden! Buy Australian or don't expect any jobs in 10 years time! :P
The Weed

Post by The Weed »

Jack is right for once, Holden is a good Australian owned company...oh hang on it's owned by General Motors in good old USA.

Guess you are still batting .00000 Jack.
mackasmatt

Post by mackasmatt »

GreekLunatic wrote:why dont we go for a higher class sponsor in mercedes benz

Because it doesn't relate to our supporter base. At all?
------------
----------
MAGPIES '18
----------
------------