Solutions to current defensive dilemma?

This is a Collingwood Bulletin Board - use this forum for general, Pies-related topics. For other footy topics, use Nick's Other AFL forum, and for non-footy sporting topics please use Nick's Sports Bar. For non-sporting topics please use the Victoria Park Tavern.

Clifton Hill-Billy

Solutions to current defensive dilemma?

Post by Clifton Hill-Billy »

The defensive stocks are at an all time low with injuries to Brown, Reid and Sinclair. Marley is gone for foreseeable future, Heater permanently departed. Keefe has been on the outer for a while now and lacks form and for some reason, the confidence of the match selection committee and the coach. The development of Frost is pleasing, as is the return of Maxwell to his favoured third man up, floating defender role. Nevertheless, how do we cover the current losses, from what many already considered a shaky defense?
Yes Goldy can go back and sure up our defense but what other positional changes can we make to ensure our defensive structures function at the optimum operational capacity with the personnel we currently have?
I know its early days but could we turn White into a swingman capable of playing key positions at both ends of the ground ala Ben Reid, if he struggles playing purely as a forward/ruck as Dawes and Q have? In the long run could this move work to our benefit as opposition team would not know who would be joining Cloke in attack?
Is a defense with a combination of Clarke, Armstrong and Young just too soft?
Does H do the lambada back to the back 6?
If Marley receives a custodial sentence can we bust him out, put him on a yacht and have him return to the backline wearing a wig, under an assumed name like Tony Mokbel?
Other suggestions?
"Hey Ma get off the dang roof!"
Beast

Post by Beast »

Mids helping out the backline by running two ways could do wonders too.

Post by yin-YANG »

1) Keefe clearly needs to come back

2) Frost is good and will get better so that is fantastic...

3) Maxwell did well as the loose man - still reads the ball so well - but overall it only worked when we looked for short options when moving the ball up forward rather than long bombs to Cloke!

4) Tooves is there but very quiet - due to show up soon!

5) Langdon has been good, has pace and guts - he has to be in the mix given how comfortable he looks out there.

6) Last spot probably needs to be Clinton Young if Marley does not come back... I would like to see Young take the kick outs even if Marley returns and Young plays on the wing.

Defence with Clarke, Young and Armstrong - no
White going back - no
Goldy back if needed - yes
mids -including H- to help out - YES!
Mooney to play the running sinkers role - maybe?

B Maxy, Frost, Tooves
HB Langdon, Keefe, Young
Love us or Hate us... we are Collingwood - you can't ignore the Mighty Magpies!!!
neil

Post by neil »

Fasolo has been used down back in the VFL
Clark and Armstrong no thanks
Keeffe is recovering from injury and will probably come in this week
White down back is a very bad idea let him learn his role as fwd/ruck first
Langdon and Frost look long term players.
Carlscum 120 years being cheating scum
3rd degree

Post by 3rd degree »

I like the wig suggestion regarding Marley the most , i know some somali pirates who have just got some grappling hooks from the back of bunnings, the ghost of bon scott also has a kind view of young Marley.
" Ohhh Banksy and out comes the Note Book".

Breadcrawl

Post by Breadcrawl »

Just keep pumping games into Langdon and Frost - 'tis the season.

Keeffe needs a game in the senior side in defence - the last time he played there we won. Stuff VFL form or his failings as a secret weapon CHF.

Would be good to see Oxley, Ramsay and/or Broomhead out there soon
they can smell what we're cookin'

Post by AN_Inkling »

In terms of personnel, I don't think the missing defenders is a critical issue. Yes, we are missing many, but we have a large number of options and they're all of a similar level.

A backline of Keeffe, Frost, Maxwell, Toovey, Young, Langdon is still decent from a personnel point (the surprise form of Langdon is a help). The main problem is that they haven't played together a lot and some are very inexperienced.

We will also have Sidebottom, Goldsack and possibly Harry spending some time down back.

Then there's Fasolo, Sinclair, Seedsman, Brown, Reid, Oxley, Ramsay, Broomhead, Williams, Scharenberg, Armstrong, Mooney and I'm sure I've missed a few.

That's a lot of players who could possibly play in defense. Few of these players are standouts, but all have some potential.
Well done boys!

There are 5 reasons why our defence will be fine.

1. Toovey should gradually get better week by week after missing a year out of the game.

2. Keeffe is a very good full back, where he played his best footy last year, before injuring his knee.

3. Sidebottom can be used mainly in defence until (hopefully) Marley Williams returns.

4. Young (despite my reservations about his lack of physicality) is the perfect player to be kicking out from full back.

5. Frost will only get better and better. We have found a real gem with this kid.

In a few weeks we should get back Reid (who can be used forward or back), Sinclair and Seedsman.

Hopefully in the 2nd half of the season we might also see Sharenberg and Marley Williams come into the team.

Post by roar »

Fasolo comes in for Sinclair. Lose speed, gain class. It'll be ok, I reckon.
kill for collingwood!
Tannin

Post by Tannin »

Good posting there, Rudeboy and Inky.
�Let's eat Grandma.� Commas save lives!
Neil Appleby

Post by Neil Appleby »

Murphy's Law applies to our back six. The area of the team that can least afford injuries and down go Broomhead, Reid, Sinkers, Seedsman and Brown. Williams is a huge loss. Rudeboy is right though; we can cover the losses for a few weeks and then things look OK and the development of the young boys will sit pretty well in the second half of the year.
Fasolo and Lumumba can play back at a pinch. We know H can and maybe Faz will develop a defensive mindset, but I have doubts about this move being a success. Let's not forget that we have a 'defender' who can pin-point a pass over the defences of the opposition consistently, in Young.

Realistically, the club would be aiming top 8 as a pass mark and if the year leads to games being put into a batch of young potential guns, then the future is looking bright.

Scharenberg will be icing on the cake in 2015.
After the epic draw comes the decisive knockout!
Collingwood rules the world again and Mick Malthouse fulfils his destiny with the twenty ten premiership and can you hear the people sing!
swoop42

Post by swoop42 »

Which is the better back line?

The available:

Toovey, Keeffe, Maxwell

Langdon, Frost, Young

Or the unavailable:

Sinclair, Brown, Oxley

Williams, Reid, Seedsman
He's mad. He's bad. He's MaynHARD!
Dave The Man

Post by Dave The Man »

Get Players off the Injury List
Clifton Hill-Billy

Post by Clifton Hill-Billy »

swoop42 wrote:Which is the better back line?

The available:

Toovey, Keeffe, Maxwell

Langdon, Frost, Young

Or the unavailable:

Sinclair, Brown, Oxley

Williams, Reid, Seedsman

The unavailables are better on paper and have a proven track record, with the exception of Oxley, the availables aren't too far behind but if Frost and Langdon fall away from current form then the difference is more striking
"Hey Ma get off the dang roof!"

Post by simon tonna »

swoop42 wrote:Which is the better back line?

The available:

Toovey, Keeffe, Maxwell

Langdon, Frost, Young

Or the unavailable:

Sinclair, Brown, Oxley

Williams, Reid, Seedsman

difficult assessment. how much time have you got.
no second chances