Love for Lehmann?

For all sporting topics - news, discussion, score updates etc. - other than Aussie Rules and Premier League Soccer.

Moderators: pies4ever, bbmods

gobbles21

Love for Lehmann?

Post by gobbles21 »

Darren Lehmann has gone to hospital and is in doubt for the boxing day test. Martain Love has been called to the squad as a replacement.

Do you think Love is the right person to replace him? What about Michael Clarke?

Love has been in tremendous form, but Clarke is a future star and with the series over shouldn't we be giving him a bit of an experience and a crack at making a mark at the highest level?

"I'm such a good lover because I practice a lot on my own." - Woody Allen
Donny
Has liked: 63 times
Been liked: 27 times

Post by Donny »

No. Clarke has to earn it. Against Tassie and Victoria, he made 43 in 4 innings. This is not a batsman ready for Test cricket. Love made 190 in his last dig and 450 in his two digs against England. No contest.

As for experience, he's getting it - in the best domestic comp in the world. Just like Love and Lehmann did.

I repeat what I've said before about Clarke. Just about the best judge in these matters, Steve Waugh, says putting Clarke into Test cricket now would be too soon and could ruin him.

GO THE MIGHTY WOODSMEN !! ALL THE WAY IN 2003 AND BEYOND !!!!
couragous cloke

Post by couragous cloke »

bad luck lehmann! lol go LOVE!!!!!!!!

footy ROX!
BJ

Post by BJ »

Ruin who, Clarke or Waugh???
Clarke's 21, captained Aus u/19, I reckon Waugh would have thought he, himself deserved a go at 21.....Or was he 21 when he himself was given a go??

Hmmmmm ..

BJ

"COME ON MUM YOU CAN TELL ME, I KNOW KELLY IS DAD'S, BUT I WAS A ONE NIGHT STAND WITH A COOL GUY - RIGHT?"... BUD BUNDY.. MARIED WITH CHILDREN
Donny

Post by Donny »

I'm still laughing, BJ. Well said.

Post by Northern Pie »

The way things are currently going it looks like Love won't even get a bat....Steve to get his century and Langer to get his double....declare and then bowl the poms out twice in two days for less than our first innings total.....just a regular ashes game really.........

"NEVER LEAVE, NEVER GIVE UP ON THEM AND ALWAYS BE THERE AT THE END TO CLAP THEM OFF THE GROUND. WE ARE COLLINGWOOD SUPPORTERS SON, EVEN IF THEY BEAT US, WE ARE STILL BETTER THAN THEM!"(quote from my mum when I was 8 years old)
gobbles21

Post by gobbles21 »

Good to see Love make some runs. 62* with ease. Lehmann is said to be going to miss the last test so if Love makes runs there as well it will hard for Lehmann to get back in. Love will probably be the No. 6 for the tour of the Carribean and Lehmann as the back up batsman.

"I'm such a good lover because I practice a lot on my own." - Woody Allen
Donny

Post by Donny »

Once again, lady luck interrupts Dazza's Test aspirations but with the strong possibility of Tugga not going to the Windies, there's room for both Love and Lehmann in the top 6.

Donny

Post by Donny »

Well, Steve is in the squad so which batsman will get the sixth batting spot for the first Test against the Windies?

It's a game. Enjoy it. :D

Post by JLC »

Love should play. Did a better job when he was in the test team than Lehmann did. Love is also a better slip fieldsman.

Steve Waugh is in pretty good touch and has earned his spot. I pity Buckley when he gets on in years and the same theory is applied.

Champions deserve respect.

MrsTarrant

Post by MrsTarrant »

I actually agree with JLC on this one.
Donny

Post by Donny »

Darren Lehmann is the incumbent #6 in the Test team and will take that spot in the first Test.

Martin Love did a good job in Melbourne but failed twice in Sydney and hasn't really got a run since for Queensland.

His Pura Cup average of only 41 was bettered by Goodwin, Slater, Fitzgerald, Carseldine, Symonds, Rogers, Clarke, Arnberger, Blewett, Perren and Bevan.

Really, the only time he looked the goods (apart from the MCG Test) was twice against England who were fielding probably the worst attack to come to this country since the Sri Lankans in their early days.

Post by JLC »

What did Lehmann do to cover himself in glory against England?? He made a big song and dance about he was going to make the most of his oppprtunity but he failed.

Without Warne and Mark Waugh there is a gap in the slips area and Love did very well in this area.

Lehmann has had chance after chance and the selectors no doubt want him to play but he hasnt done anything exceptional in Test matches to earn his spot.

Donny

Post by Donny »

Seems it's a non-issue, for the first Test at least, as Damien Martyn looks unlikely to be ready.