what was the year 79-80?

This is a Collingwood Bulletin Board - use this forum for general, Pies-related topics. For other footy topics, use Nick's Other AFL forum, and for non-footy sporting topics please use Nick's Sports Bar. For non-sporting topics please use the Victoria Park Tavern.

ed healey

what was the year 79-80?

Post by ed healey »

After having some of my old memorobilia stolen,I have looked through my boxes to see what I have left and have found a team photo,poster size of the magpies entire squad (43 players plus Tom Hafey and Ron Richards).

But I dont know the exact year,its not on the poster.

Ray Shaw is capt Kevin Morris is vice capt Bill Picken is deputy vice capt.

In the front row is Tony Shaw,Ray Byrne,Lee Carlson,Kevin Harris,Mark Sturgess,Bill Valli,David Miers,Ken Stonehouse,Brian Hyde,Peter Banks.

Second Row.Des Herbert,Peter McKormack,Craig Davis,Peter Daicos,TOM HAFEY,Ray Shaw,RON RICHARDS,Rick Barham,Stan Magro,Ron Wearmouth,Kevin Williams,Michael Woolnough.

Third Row.Ian Low,Graeme Anderson,Allan Edwards,Chris Perry,Michael Horsbough,Craig Stewart,Russell Johnson,Peter Moore,Andrew Ireland,David Twomey,Wes Fellowes.

Back row.Bill Picken,Mark Dreher,Michael Warren,Stephen Roach,Andrew Smith,Russel Ohlsen,Mark Hanneberry,Grant Wilmot,Allan Davis,David Brine,Greg Whitcroft,Kevin Morris.
Rene Kink was absent.

There are a lot of players that I dont recall there,.

Is it one of the sides that played off in the grand final under Tom?

Can anyone tell me the year?

Gopies.
Mike
Has liked: 89 times
Been liked: 26 times

Post by Mike »

It must be a photo of the entire squad taken early in the 1980 season.

It can't be 1979 because Ian Low (11 games) and Allan Davis (3 games) who were both recruited in 1980 are there, although John Hummell (3), Warwick Irwen (16), Laurie Sandilands (4) and Stephen Roach (4) also recruited in 1980 are missing. None of the 1981 additions are there so my guess is 1980.
Mike

Post by Mike »

I just spotted Stephen Roach.

The thing that makes it difficult is that it is the entire squad and many of the records only list senior games. So Wes Fellowes, for instance, doesn't start to appear on the lists until 1981, but he was playing reserves before then. Also many of the players who finished their senior careers played on in the reserves for a while, so the termination dates can't be trusted.

Oh...and Peter Moore was Captain in 81. That leaves 1980 as the only possibility.

[This message has been edited by Mike (edited 18 March 2001).]
London Dave

Post by London Dave »

I'd go for 1980 too. In addition, we only picked up Butch Edwards half way through 79, so he wouldnt have made the team photo. I thought Denis Banks would've made the photo but.
There are a few legends in your list Ed. i'm sure Alf will know all about Russell Johnston, who left the next year for Port, and how could one forget the silky skills of Chris Perry (taker of one sensational grab, and not much else), Mick Horsborough, who diappeared back to the bush with his mate Harris, not forgetting WA's own Bill Valli.
Didn't David Miers invent somekind of amazing football boot a few years back, but couldn't get anyone to use it because of watertight sponsorship by other makers?
Of interest to the young uns is that looking through that list, we still recruited plenty of duds back then.

My one question is this:
WHERE WAS RENE KINK THAT DAY??????
ed healey

Post by ed healey »

London Dave
there are 20 odd player pics surrounding the team photo.
Dennis Banks and Rene Kink are 2 of those but not in the team shoot.
The background is the Collingwood team shields from many years past so it is moree than likely the pre season official team snap.
I knew it would be a year when we ran second,there were a lot of them back then.
Mike

Post by Mike »

Good question Dave.

It was during the 79-80 off-season that the Club allegedly offered Rene Kink and/or Billy Picken as trade for Graeme Teasdale, a former Brownlow medallist for Sth. Melb. Collingwood failed to get Teasdale and he returned to Sth. Melb.

Kink was was apparently unhappy about the offer and relationships were somewhat strained.

Perhaps the hulk wasn't feeling too much team spirit the day the photo was taken.
London Dave

Post by London Dave »

I thought Rene might have been having a busy day at his hair salon..... He had a lot of weight problems that year too, perhaps he was a bit if a binge eater when he suffered rejection.

Teasdale, ah Mike, remember the days when the way you could tell how badly injured a players knee was as it was in direct proportion to the intensity of our efforts to recruit him!

Ed, I'd reckon I've probaly got the same poster buried in the bowels of my mums garage somewhere. We did finish second a lot then, butit was a hell of a lot better than finising second last. Was 1980 the year we came from 5th only to get slaughtered in the GF?. (One of the worst days of my life, watching that baldie Bartlett go beserk. Probably the last game of football most of those Richmond fans went to) One game I have never seen a replay of. That team was a real bunch of goers. We cleaned up Carlton in the 1st semi to. Made the season worthwhile!
ed healey

Post by ed healey »

I thought teasdale actually played for us albeit not a long career with the pies.
Its the 80 side that was flogged senseless by richmond then,and its the only poster I have apart from the 97 side which is over the bar.
Isnt it pathetic that St Kilda won its only flag against us,Richmond,Melbourne havent won one since they beat us and Carlton have run amok since 70,before that they hadnt won a flag for yonks.
Bugger it we are no longer the springboard for others,its our turn for glory.
gopies!!!!
London Dave

Post by London Dave »

Yeah, Teasdale played with us in 81 (I think) for about 8 or 9 games, before screwing up (you guessed it) his knee. I think he may have tried a comeback game but by that stage he had the turning circle of the Titanic and the leg speed of a turtle.
Hiya-and-Higher

Post by Hiya-and-Higher »

Knee reconstruction?
Yep we're interested Image
Oh you've had 2?
Far out! Let's move Heaven and Earth Image
Missed out on Rehn this year but Image
I'm pretty sure I read an article written way back by Greame Teasedale documenting how he had 5 hamstring tears in a row...coming back 1 week too soon each time...and with each new tear the pressure to come back too soon just kept increasing.
A cautionary tale.
If you think your Hammy is OK make sure you give it an extra week.