What's the story with the new jumpers?

This is a Collingwood Bulletin Board - use this forum for general, Pies-related topics. For other footy topics, use Nick's Other AFL forum, and for non-footy sporting topics please use Nick's Sports Bar. For non-sporting topics please use the Victoria Park Tavern.

What's the story with the new jumpers?

Post by AlfAndrews »

I got the latest B&W today and I noticed an ad for merchandise. They had the new home jumper and then they had the Ansett Cup jumper. But they described the Ansett Cup jumper as the "Collingwood Ansett Cup/Away Jumper".

This goes against what they announced a while back, when they said that we would be wearing the same jumper for home AND away matches this year.

The new home jumper looks great, but I reckon the Ansett Cup jumper is ... well, shall we say ... very Ansett Cup looking, y'know.

Why do they tell us one thing and then do something completely different?

God, I hope that ad was a mis-print.

ed healey

Post by ed healey »

Well as Eddie Mc pres says he reads all the posts ,he should be putting a reply to this and the pissed off pies post where member badges are slow.
Over here in WA the wet toast fans have been on radio for months whinging that the same has happened to them so its not only the pies that are slack.
Oh for the good old days when you payed your money and were given a card that was snipped on entry each week and it even included all away games.
Ahhhhhhhh Progress.

Post by Broadie »

I noticed the same thing about the jumpers when I visited the site the other day.

What happened to the pledge of the sanctity of the Black & White stripes for Home & Away matches, Eddie?

What is happening Ed?

ha 'ed' is probably in tassie watching the pies (well its finished now but u get the idea).
hey they said on the footy show we had 24,000 members, %$^ thats not bad seeing as its not even the home and away season yet.

OH YEAH AND THAT REMINDS ME.

essendon are good aren't they!
sheedy makes a bet that ess will beat coll to 40,000 members.
thats a good one, seeing as we finished near the bottom and they finished on top, well GEE DAVE! of course they are gonna have more members but f*ck thats only when they're winning, imagine how big our supporter base is gonna get when we start winning! (which will be soon).

OutKast

Post by OutKast »

The way the guernseys work is that the AFL asks every team to submit their chosen kit for all home games before the season starts. Then each round the AFL chooses what the away teams will wear in order to best avoid a colour clash. This includes home/away/ansett cup guernseys so i guess Eddie doesn't have a say, it's up to the AFL unfortunately.

Post by AlfAndrews »

Outkast,

I remember hearing something to that effect myself. So, on the strength of that it looks like the Ansett Cup jumper will be the one that the AFL will order us to wear when there's a colour clash.

The only problem with that is that the Ansett Cup jumper and home jumper are too similar to be used as alternatives for each other.

Surely a more sensible option ... are you listening, Eddie ... would have been to use the old home jumper as the alternative guernsey for avoiding colour clashes.

The old home jumper is predominantly white (with black stripes). If it is worn with white shorts it presents a sharp contrast to the new home strip, which is predominantly black (with white stripes) and would be worn with black shorts at home games.

In fact, I reckon you could just about play a match between one team wearing the new home jumper with black shorts, and another team wearing the old home jumper with white shorts, and have no difficulty telling the teams apart.

That SHOULD be what this whole alternative guernsey issue should be about ... helping spectators, players and umpires to recognise instantly which team is which, without having to perform some sort of complex spectral analysis in their head every time a pack develops.

Too simple?

I think the problem comes down, essentially, to one thing. And it's a problem that seems ubiquitous in the football industry at both the Club and League level. I've said it before ... so excuse me if I repeat myself. But basically it's a case of:

Shit for brains.

There's really no other way of putting it:

Pure and unadulterated shit for brains.

London Dave

Post by London Dave »

Alf, the only team we'd have a problem with is the beggars from Arden St. If my memory serves me correctly, they have a lovely ORANGE strip they could wear to avoid the clash. We could even offer to pay them the princely sum of 32 cents for the inconvenience. Given the present state of their finances, I'm sure they'd welcome the extra revenue stream.
Perhaps the only people who have difficulty telling the teams apart are the umps and commentators, who are notoriously blind when it comes to infractions against the black and white.
Mich@el

Post by Mich@el »

I wonder how annoying it will get when we actually use our new jumpers against teams which have predominantly dark strips (most of them). Think Essendon, Carlton, Richmond. Do we really want to look like them anyway? I'm not against the new jumpers altogether, but I think to avoid a clash we should keep a white jumper with black stripes somewhere in the deal.
SS11

Post by SS11 »

ALF
the chick in the merchandise shop says those jumpers are for Ansett cup only, the statement "they are our new away jumpers" was false APPARENTLY
the president

Post by the president »

Alf don't be too hard mate things sometimes aren't as simple as they may seem.
For the record your scenario is pretty much what we have put to the AFL for the past two years.
First up we will wear as often as possible, that is at all home games new ( or old 1917 if you like) black with white stripes jumper, black shorts and full black hose ( as they call socks at the AFL).
We will wear that strip in as many away games as possible where there is not a conflict with the home team ie;Sydney, Bulldogs,etc.
Where there is a conflict our first change will be to white shorts. We have been led to believe that this and socks with a white band will be the only away change.
If there is any other drama then the old "White " jumper and shorts will come into play.
We try as often as possible to fight the good fight but as we saw last year when the first i heard or saw of the black and white shorts and socks of North Melbourne was on my own show,these AFL House directives can have a strange way of sneaking up on you.
My ambition is straight forward, i try as much as possible to say things as they are: You wear the famous black and white stripes in AFL senior matches, other designs and Williamstown colours in the VFL and Ansett Cup. Hope that sorts out any confusion.
Best wishes to all of the faith.
The President.
P.S In black and white was a typo with the chief exec has made calls to make sure does not reoccur.Sorry for the inconvenience. Feel free to throw up any problems you have but please remember we are all mad,proud,passionate Collingwood supporters first,second and third and directors after that.
Everything is done from a members and supporters point of view especially things like uniform,song,cheer squad etc.
Your frustrations are more often than not mine.
JBJ

Post by JBJ »

Eddie, you're amazing..... to take the time and personally answer fans queries is just incredible.....I take my hat off to you (not the beanie tho')

BE LOUD - BE PROUD

JBJ

Post by AlfAndrews »

Excellent reply, Eddie, and much appreciated.

I get the feeling that things are coming to a head a bit over this jumper clash problem and I think the A.F.L. are finally realising something needs to be done. It really does detract from the Game as a spectacle if you don't have a sharp contrast between the opposing clubs' strips.

Collingwood is in the rather happy position of being able to have two completely opposite looking uniforms without departing from tradition. That is one of the advantages of having the best colours in the A.F.L. You really can't beat the old black and white, can you?

Yeah, thanks Ed!
magpie jeff

Post by magpie jeff »

04.07 Alf
you imsomniac!!!!!

There is nothing in life greater, than to be a supporter of our beloved collingwood football club,we must remain united,we must stand tall,we must be prepared to fight for our glorious black and white for we are the ENVY OF ALL NATIONS.