Post Match. Pies wallop Saints - all comments please
- Been liked: 2 times
Not our biggest win and not the best team we've beaten, but I'm happier about this win than any other this season. Great to see our fanatical tackling make a reappearance. Cloke is a monster, Leon is pushing AA (Heater will take his place though. What an embarrassment of riches), Pendles and Daisy are Gods, Reid is a star, Max and Harry looked much better, Dawes is back in form (how good was that knock on to Swan for our last goal?). The only negative was Cam Wood. Surprised to see praise for him. McEvoy was easily the Saint's best.
How embarrassing are the Saints? At one point they had not one, not two but THREE taggers at a centre bounce clearance. Ray on Swan, Jones on Daisy and Dempster on Pendles. I don't think I've ever seen that before. If that doesn't sum up what utter negative shit that club serves up on a regular basis...
"We ain't gotta dream no more"
- Monco Matt
I think we will beat this mob every time for the next 3 years without any problems. No doubt we have them mentally shot, they gave it everything they had in the first half, were at there ugly defensive miserable best and still found themselves 8 points down. To run out winners by 57 points (1 more than the GF2) says to me that we are a much better side than last year. And, we still have so much talent to return to the side.
Also think we are still lairising too much. Too many shots from the boundary, missing hit up targets, dropped marks, dodgy handballs etc, better tighten all that up because next week looks like a bit of a smokey.
Last edited by Monco Matt on Sun Jun 05, 2011 12:33 am, edited 1 time in total.
RED "BABY" CAVANAUGH: Didn't hear what the bet was.
- Brenny
Remember too, there were times when Wood was in the ruck against Roo, Dawson and Jones.AN_Inkling wrote:^^Wood's work around the ground wasn't great tonight, and McEvoy did beat him there - though to little effect. Wood definitely beat him in the ruck contests though. Not only more hit outs (40-30), but clearly more effective hit outs.
HOWEVER, you can only ruck who you were up against.
I think we smashed them in the centre clearances too. Which most of it comes from Wood!
Each week, this young man is getting better and better! Go Wood!
- Been liked: 2 times
^ In my opinion, clearances has little if anything to do with the ruckman and everything to do with the guys at his feet. I can recall one or two great taps down Swan's throat for clearances but mostly it was just our ground level players winning the majority of 50/50 contests and nothing to do with Wood. You'd think Collingwood fans would understand this better than anyone given the one consistent theme of the Malthouse era has been getting towelled in the hitouts and raping other teams in the clearances anyway. I thought Wood's performance last week was much more encouraging despite "OMG he only had 10 hitouts (or whatever it was)". Last week he did some good stuff around the ground, took a few marks and played Cox and NicNat to a draw. This week, McEvoy just dominated around the ground, and that never would have happened if Darren Jolly was playing.
"We ain't gotta dream no more"
- TurkishPie
It wasn't one of those awesome, devastating performances, but damn if it wasn't just as enjoyable as when this team is flying and they blast away for 11 goals in a quarter or whatever.
Maybe that's because it was against St Blunda. Even when they were forcing us to play at their tempo in that ultra-boring negative style, I never had any doubt we'd destroy this pathetic excuse for a football club. One of the words used by the commentators to describe the Pies last night was relentless, and that's what they were.
To me, it looked like St Blunda were there not to get blown out by 100, not to actually win that game. Deep down that club understands they cannot compete straight up with Collingwood right now - the Teapot all but admitted that in the post-match press conference - so they had to resort to that negative garbage just to ensure they didn't get completely embarrassed.
Our team on the other hand is so much fun to watch - even the commentators were saying it - because they play with such an attacking, positive mindset. And to boot they work harder than just about any other team, which makes for a pretty unstoppable combination.
I said it last week - the only team that beats Collingwood this season is Collingwood. No one touches this team when they get serious.
Maybe that's because it was against St Blunda. Even when they were forcing us to play at their tempo in that ultra-boring negative style, I never had any doubt we'd destroy this pathetic excuse for a football club. One of the words used by the commentators to describe the Pies last night was relentless, and that's what they were.
To me, it looked like St Blunda were there not to get blown out by 100, not to actually win that game. Deep down that club understands they cannot compete straight up with Collingwood right now - the Teapot all but admitted that in the post-match press conference - so they had to resort to that negative garbage just to ensure they didn't get completely embarrassed.
Our team on the other hand is so much fun to watch - even the commentators were saying it - because they play with such an attacking, positive mindset. And to boot they work harder than just about any other team, which makes for a pretty unstoppable combination.
I said it last week - the only team that beats Collingwood this season is Collingwood. No one touches this team when they get serious.
I, for one, welcome our new black and white overlords
- ronrat
Disappointed the Tiprat didn't kick the last goal running in and celebrating as if he had kicked a the winning World Cup goal. He has to be part of the cleanout they need. Without Hayes they are soulless. Goddard should have been rested. This mob are shot. No trade bait and a heap of players who have been found wanting. They can only get worse and that makes the world a better place.
Annoying opposition supporters since 1967.
- GlovemanGayfer
Don't questions Ross' judgement. It's worked so well for us so far!Brenny wrote:The one question I'd ask Ross Lyon...
Jones V Daisy
Up To Half Time:
Jones kept Daisy to 10 touches. Daisy didn't look menacing.
After Half Time:
Ross takes Jones off Daisy and puts him onto Ball. Daisy racks up 21 or so touches to help bring us back into the game
Ross, my question to you - Why?
- ANNODAM
- Has liked: 21 times
- Been liked: 34 times
Has anyone noticed what a beautiful sunny day it is outside?
Always extra special when we beat those pathetic bastards!
I haven't watched the game yet, waiting until 10:30am for the replay on Foxtel.
I was listening to it on my headphones at the dinner dance last night, sitting next to a couple of Scum supporters. Every time we kicked a goal I was giggling hysterically like a silly school girl.
Before the game, said Scum supporter was convinced no Jolly & Johnson = no COLL.
I just said talk to me after the game mate!
All night his face was getting longer & longer until he finally told me to turn off the bloody headphones as the game was all over & to stop being so anti-social.
I told him to STFU 'cause I wanted to savour every delicious second!
Well done Pies!
Always extra special when we beat those pathetic bastards!
I haven't watched the game yet, waiting until 10:30am for the replay on Foxtel.
I was listening to it on my headphones at the dinner dance last night, sitting next to a couple of Scum supporters. Every time we kicked a goal I was giggling hysterically like a silly school girl.
Before the game, said Scum supporter was convinced no Jolly & Johnson = no COLL.
I just said talk to me after the game mate!
All night his face was getting longer & longer until he finally told me to turn off the bloody headphones as the game was all over & to stop being so anti-social.
I told him to STFU 'cause I wanted to savour every delicious second!
Well done Pies!
WE WERE ROBBED, RIGHT IN FRONT OF ME, RIGHT IN FRONT OF MEEE!
- Cuthbert Collingwood
loved the comments by the commentators at the end of the game that the pies almost looked fresh enough to play another four quarters of footy while saint vomit looked completely rooted
sad that we're sending such a physically spent specimen as 4 goal dane to arizona - jeeze that was a lazy 19 possies he got, never actually got out of second gear and his wind up for that 55m goal was positively daicossian
thanks leon for that touch of magic, love having you in the backline but seeing you kick a beauty is one of the best sights known to man
sad that we're sending such a physically spent specimen as 4 goal dane to arizona - jeeze that was a lazy 19 possies he got, never actually got out of second gear and his wind up for that 55m goal was positively daicossian
thanks leon for that touch of magic, love having you in the backline but seeing you kick a beauty is one of the best sights known to man
McRae for Governor-General!
- jack_spain
- Member 7167