Post Match. Pies dump Dees - all comments please

didick

Post by didick »

Overhead three Dees toffs on the walk to the ground saying how they didn't think the Pies would get close, and they were confident of a 65 - 70 point win. I was flabbergasted. Clearly they know NOTHING about football. The best they could have hoped for was a narrow win. I wonder if they were still there at 3/4 time.
"The night is a very dark time for me" Chaz Michael Michaels
jackcass

Post by jackcass »

swoop42 wrote:Watching Melbourne today you've got to wonder why the likes of Bate and Pettard aren't getting a game.

Both have talent and have done well against us in the past, hell even Dunn and Warnock would have provided them with a bit more height and strength in defence and attack.

Strange move by there coach.
Pettard was the real surprise ommission and given his performance for Casey you'd think he's a better option than quite a few others. Suggested to a Dees supporter mate that this was going to benefit the Pies. Apparently his previous couple of games have been ordinary. Warnock to played really well for Casey and would have been a better option on Cloke & Dawes than Rivers or Frawly. Bet Bailey would have loved them both yesterday. Bate is another front runner in a team overflowing with them, Dunn is a muppet.

Post by Lazza »

swoop42 wrote:Watching Melbourne today you've got to wonder why the likes of Bate and Pettard aren't getting a game.

Both have talent and have done well against us in the past, hell even Dunn and Warnock would have provided them with a bit more height and strength in defence and attack.

Strange move by there coach.
Pettard was the real surprise ommission and given his performance for Casey you'd think he's a better option than quite a few others. Suggested to a Dees supporter mate that this was going to benefit the Pies. Apparently his previous couple of games have been ordinary. Warnock to played really well for Casey and would have been a better option on Cloke & Dawes than Rivers or Frawly. Bet Bailey would have loved them both yesterday. Bate is another front runner in a team overflowing with them, Dunn is a muppet.

Bate is one of those "in-between" players Daz, he plays very well at VFL level but struggles for consistency at AFL level. I cant believe that Pettard and Warnock couldn't get a senior game on the weekend... :shock: :shock:
Scotch

Post by Scotch »

Warnock was really good earlier in the Season too. Well as good as a Melbourne player could have been given the supply to the forward line.
"Life is too important to be taken seriously" ~ Oscar Wilde
Daicosesque

Post by Daicosesque »

Some stats:

14 consecutive quarters won - equal first ever!

26 straight conceding <100 pts a game - 8th all time.

12 consecutive home games won - a bit gay I know, but who cares.

Highest % since 1912 after 11 games.

Highest PF since 1977 after 11 games

More to come....
Carlton sucks.......
Nick - Pie Man

Post by Nick - Pie Man »

How many inside fifties? The numpties on Triple M were banging on about how our record is 74 in-50s in a game and we were close to breaking that record.
mattmc33

Post by mattmc33 »

Considering who was out of the team, considering Melbourne had a lot to play for and considering we had a lot of trouble with them last season, I thought yesterday was the Pies' most complete performance of the year.

We dominated in every single facet of the game, but to me the most pleasing thing was our intensity and toughness at every contest. We basically bashed and bullied the Deeeees into complete submission - whether it was Travis laying waste to all in his path, or Ball annihilating anyone in a Melbourne jumper who had the footy, or Wellers making a supposed better Demon midfield look incredibly second-rate - it was just an awesome, devastating performance against an utterly overmatched, clueless opponent.

Our scouting department gets another huge tick from me for unearthing yet another potential star in Fasolo; I thought Cam Wood was terrific and although John McCarthy didn't get that much of the ball I thought for the most part he looked very self-assured and confident - I guess that comes from playing alongside so many class players in a structure that is better than anything else in the comp at the moment and for a coach who has been nothing short of superlative.

I forget who it was, but somebody on SEN said yesterday when talking about the reason some people had tipped Melbourne to win "is this what we have been reduced to? Tipping against Collingwood more in hope than anything else? Is it a pointless exercise to bet against them anymore"?

You better believe it. This thing is a 3 horse race now (Pies, Pussies, Filth) and everyone else just better start preparing for 2012.
I, for one, welcome our new black and white overlords

Who is going to make me. .
Daicosesque

Post by Daicosesque »

Nick - Pie Man wrote:How many inside fifties? The numpties on Triple M were banging on about how our record is 74 in-50s in a game and we were close to breaking that record.
Correct, new record for I50s..
Carlton sucks.......
3rd degree

Post by 3rd degree »

didick wrote:Overhead three Dees toffs on the walk to the ground saying how they didn't think the Pies would get close, and they were confident of a 65 - 70 point win. I was flabbergasted. Clearly they know NOTHING about football. The best they could have hoped for was a narrow win. I wonder if they were still there at 3/4 time.

Probably friends with Dr Turf - little dee sook. :oops:
" Ohhh Banksy and out comes the Note Book".

ThePieMind

Post by ThePieMind »

Outstanding win - this mob had no idea how to handle the "press" or the pressure.

After DEES win last week, I think this win tells me more about how far the Bombers have fallen, than where the DEES are.
the fuzz

Post by the fuzz »

Great win. Just goes to show our depth, and how we don't rely on certain players to carry the team. We were underestimated by Melbourne and the media all week, so was good to put them back in their place.
Brenny

Post by Brenny »

People will say 'we only beat Melbourne'.

However, I say to them, we have 7 or so premiership players out and we didn't just beat them, we dominated them by 88 odd points.

A good side would have beaten them, but a brilliant side did what it was supposed to do... dominate them.
Heeeeeeeeeeeeeey, we want some Bayley!
perthmagpie

Post by perthmagpie »

All this from Melbourne people before the game:
'We match up well on them'
'We believe we have their measure'
'We were the only team that really troubled them last year'
'You can smell a boil over, its in the atmosphere'
'We really love playing against them'

So then snow bunnies, did you make sure you had your chains in the boot for your 3 quarter time exit from the MCG carpark?
Magpies love pies(Lol)
John Wren

Post by John Wren »

Daicosesque wrote:
Nick - Pie Man wrote:How many inside fifties? The numpties on Triple M were banging on about how our record is 74 in-50s in a game and we were close to breaking that record.
Correct, new record for I50s..
equaled. so i thought.
Purveyor of sanctimonious twaddle.