Post Match. Pies beat Swans - all comments please

swoop42
Been liked: 8 times

Post by swoop42 »

AnthonyC wrote:
swoop42 wrote: Sounds like nerd talk to me.
Don't change the topic.
Please explain. :?

Your nerd logic has gone over my head. :oops:
He's mad. He's bad. He's MaynHARD!
Millane42

Post by Millane42 »

I know everyone has said Trav had a great game and he did dominate in the air, but seriously missing shots from 5 metres out, and others straight in front, then kicking arsey bananas and ones from the sideline. Geez if he could kick straight he'd be the most valuable forward, up there with Buddy. Now Buddy misses heaps too, if he could kick straight he'd kick 100 in a season no problem with the amount of shots he has.

Look we got the 4 points, but the script has been the same at ANZ in 03, 06, 07, 08, 09, 10, 11. We get a lead, kick a truckload of points, fail to reach 100 (tonight was a top score of 13.21 (99) and then swannies come back and we just get a victory between 1 goal and 4 goals.

Wood was terrible, Jolly needs to play, Johnson and Macaffer. Out Didak, Blair, Wood.
Most of my favourite bands start with "M" - Mars Volta, Mastodon, Megadeth, Metallica, Midnight Oil, Misfits...except King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard ~
perthmagpie

Post by perthmagpie »

Mick was a bit vague about Didak's injury. Said he believed it was cramp and they didn't want to take any risks. Said a few others cramped too. Said Dawes has been playing sore for a few weeks. Said Dawes's injury issues were slowly resolving themselves and expects Dawesy to improve in the next weeks. Agreed that our forwards besides Trav were down.

Believed we should have continued to build our lead and put the game beyond doubt. Said Sydney plays finals type football and it was good to win. Didn't have a reason for the bad kicking. Is hoping its the one bad game of poor execution that happens sometimes and hopes it won't happen again in the next ten rounds.
Magpies love pies(Lol)
swoop42
Been liked: 8 times

Post by swoop42 »

On the cfc website it says that Didak came off with a calf complaint.

Whilst the BEAST has been pretty solid the last 3 weeks IMO it comes as no surprise to me that Malthouse stated that he has been playing sore.

I expect this has been the case for quite sometime.

If he can slowly improve on his performances leading up to September then we'll be in a much stronger position than we already are.
He's mad. He's bad. He's MaynHARD!
C'mon De Bucks

Post by C'mon De Bucks »

We were always going to do it tough last nite. Reason being most clubs have struggled after a bye and Sydney are dying to beat us. Last nite was just getting rid of the cob webs of not playing for a week. I predicted we would win by 9 points an I was pretty much on the money

I'm just happy we don't have any more breaks an the boys can nuckle down on doing what they have been doing best...

Winning and winning well!!

I reckon MM we blood some fresh faces (fasolo, keefe, rounds) in the next
Month.

Dont read too much into last nite. Just an off day at the office.
mattmc33

Post by mattmc33 »

I was at the game last night.

As dominant as we were for large periods, I thought we were pretty patchy overall. Lots of clangers, not the usual free flowing offence, not as hard at the ball as we should have been at times, and they were clearly struggling in the fourth quarter. The bye was an issue obviously and there were a few guys down on form.

That all said, there were positives. As has been said, Trav was awesome and in the end the difference between the two teams. Swanny was amazing - you really get a sense at the game of how much ground he covers. He was everywhere on the field. Bally put his body on the line time and again, Leon was terrific, Taz great down back and there were times we looked completely unstoppable.

Full credit to the Swans though - they played exactly how I thought they would. Tough, hard, never say die. Threw everything at us and refused to quit. They are about a key forward and a couple of positional players away from being an exceptional team.

I enjoyed the night, but the one thing I came away with was this - on a beautiful Sydney winter's night, in that great stadium, against the best and most popular football club in the country, the Swans could only draw 38,000. Based on that, how on earth does Demetriou believe that GWS will be able to draw any more than 10,000 a game? How can that be sustainable as a business model?

From the start of this whole Greater Waste of Space business, I always thought a second team in Sydney was absolute folly, and last night confirmed that without question. The Fat Controller is going to piss away a large amount of that billion dollar TV deal just keeping those guys afloat, and that's nothing less than a disaster for the game overall.[/search]
I, for one, welcome our new black and white overlords
Piethagoras' Theorem
Been liked: 17 times

Post by Piethagoras' Theorem »

Sydney would've beaten any other side given that opportunity last night, Geelong included. Not terribly enthralled with the win but I'll excuse the boys for being a little rusty and not finishing them off in the 3rd. Very happy that we always seem to have the belief and endurance to reassert ourselves when it matters. Perfect hit out for next week.
Formally frankiboy and FrankieGoesToCollingwood.
Been liked: 40 times

Post by think better »

I thought the younger Reid was well beaten but he did do some good things. Would he be worth chasing to join his brother at the Pies?
I think therefore I think - I think
Piethagoras' Theorem

Post by Piethagoras' Theorem »

kicks worse than his brother when he was a forward. Can take a grab though. Haven't we already got one of those? :P
Formally frankiboy and FrankieGoesToCollingwood.
GreekLunatic

Post by GreekLunatic »

Thank god channel 10 is not doing the footy next year. Also it was good to break the bye curse. If we kicked straight we would have won by much more. The score flattered the swans.
Has liked: 342 times
Been liked: 105 times

The Swans pushed us to that score - forced us to make errors - hope thats a lesson for next week

I hate the Swans, but they really Brang it on!
Has liked: 17 times
Been liked: 83 times

Completely dominated most of the game, almost kicked ourselves out of it, won anyway. I think a few dozen hours of goalkicking practice over the next seven days will be sufficient.
jack_spain

Post by jack_spain »

mattmc33 wrote: I enjoyed the night, but the one thing I came away with was this - on a beautiful Sydney winter's night, in that great stadium, against the best and most popular football club in the country, the Swans could only draw 38,000. Based on that, how on earth does Demetriou believe that GWS will be able to draw any more than 10,000 a game? How can that be sustainable as a business model?

From the start of this whole Greater Waste of Space business, I always thought a second team in Sydney was absolute folly, and last night confirmed that without question. The Fat Controller is going to piss away a large amount of that billion dollar TV deal just keeping those guys afloat, and that's nothing less than a disaster for the game overall.
Spot on. The NRL must be laughing.
MJ23

Post by MJ23 »

think positive wrote:The Swans pushed us to that score - forced us to make errors - hope thats a lesson for next week

I hate the Swans, but they really Brang it on!

na, that is the tragedy. Swans had nothing to do with most of our points scored. we worked dam hard to get the ball off them and forward and the forwards worked dam hard into space to take a mark well within range and then kicked exceptionally poorly.
Given the hawkes accuracy friday...............big threat.
"Even when Im old and gray, I wont be able to play but Ill still love the game"
Michael Jordan
MJ23

Post by MJ23 »

mattmc33 wrote:I was at the game last night.

As dominant as we were for large periods, I thought we were pretty patchy overall. Lots of clangers, not the usual free flowing offence, not as hard at the ball as we should have been at times, and they were clearly struggling in the fourth quarter. The bye was an issue obviously and there were a few guys down on form.

That all said, there were positives. As has been said, Trav was awesome and in the end the difference between the two teams. Swanny was amazing - you really get a sense at the game of how much ground he covers. He was everywhere on the field. Bally put his body on the line time and again, Leon was terrific, Taz great down back and there were times we looked completely unstoppable.

Full credit to the Swans though - they played exactly how I thought they would. Tough, hard, never say die. Threw everything at us and refused to quit. They are about a key forward and a couple of positional players away from being an exceptional team.

I enjoyed the night, but the one thing I came away with was this - on a beautiful Sydney winter's night, in that great stadium, against the best and most popular football club in the country, the Swans could only draw 38,000. Based on that, how on earth does Demetriou believe that GWS will be able to draw any more than 10,000 a game? How can that be sustainable as a business model?

From the start of this whole Greater Waste of Space business, I always thought a second team in Sydney was absolute folly, and last night confirmed that without question. The Fat Controller is going to piss away a large amount of that billion dollar TV deal just keeping those guys afloat, and that's nothing less than a disaster for the game overall.[/search]
Good accurate post re last night.
GWS is a strange one. definately an excited feeling about GWS at the local footy. At auskick early this morning and a lot of kids / familys are members of them as a "second" team just to watch footy.
Have been myself to about 6 GWS games this year.
The new comp for reserves is also almost as big as the second syd team. To have a reserve grade comp for bris/GWS/GC/syd with some re-built second div teams from act / bris will be something the northen teams have never had - a strong, skillfull development program for fringe players.
Having had to move to syd, I miss the vfl as much as the afl so this for me is exciting.
also, hopefully the pies play up here twice next year :D
"Even when Im old and gray, I wont be able to play but Ill still love the game"
Michael Jordan