Agree, wasted lots of very good scoring opportunities and gave them some soft goals. Hopefully we'll start to find form as we run toward the finals.Monco Matt wrote:Before the season is out I would just once like to see us rip the oppositions balls off when we have hold of em instead of giving them a tickle.
Did the minimum required to beat a Hawks reserves side, nothing more.....second gear all day.
Post Match. Pies thump Hawks - all comments please
- jackcass
Hawks game
Agreed.. Love him too and thought he started the season really well. Has dropped off markedly. I hope it is not laziness. Perhaps a lack of maturity. He is still very young and has already reached the top of the mountain. He needs to maintain the standard expected.swooper wrote:I adore Steele - but he was really off today. Give him a spell Mick.
'MADE IT LEGENDARY'
- Redlight
I think the criticism is a bit over-the-top. Especially regarding Sidebottom and Dawes.jack_spain wrote:Rubbish. Read my critique.tomoleary wrote:Let's look at the positives. Pretty much everyone put in a decent effort today,
If you thought Sidebottom's effort was good enough you were watching a different game.
Players who need to lift (judged by their own ability):
Sidebottom (obviously)
Dawes (enough said)
Harry O (has struggled all season and is too flaky in defense at the moment)
Blair (has stalled in his development)
Wellingham (still doesn't do enough and missed a sitter today)
and...
Swan (nowhere near his best, seemed to run out of ideas at times)
Pendlebury ( we'll let him have a coast now and again)
Heater ( I thought he was a bit sloppy with his disposal today and played his man far too lose)
Players I criticised last week who improved but are still far from their best:
Maxwell (still needs to back himself to mark sometimes)
Thomas (much better today but still all over the place like a dog's dinner)
Leigh Brown (at least he kicked a couple)
All in all, I am still waiting for the day when we get all 22 players playing as well as they can.
Your post reads like the after-game frustration of a fan who's just seen his club cop a hiding. However we just comfortably disposed of a aspiring top 4 club. A club that many were touting as a genuine threat to us.
We're a great side certainly, but not so great that we can win like that with eleven players struggling.
Had to be happy with that performance. While the media kept going on about the missing Hawks, let us not forget that were also missing Dids, Johnno and Beams.
My only minor concern is that all too often Dawes goes for marks above his head and takes his eyes off the ball and sticks his wrists out rather than having his fingers forward. It is a minor criticism and he is still doing a good job.
I thought that was a strong bit of play by Rounds to shrug off the tackle and deliver a good kick to our forward line.
My only minor concern is that all too often Dawes goes for marks above his head and takes his eyes off the ball and sticks his wrists out rather than having his fingers forward. It is a minor criticism and he is still doing a good job.
I thought that was a strong bit of play by Rounds to shrug off the tackle and deliver a good kick to our forward line.
Yep. Not far off the equal of Lewis, Sewell and Rioli.RudeBoy wrote:Had to be happy with that performance. While the media kept going on about the missing Hawks, let us not forget that were also missing Dids, Johnno and Beams.
Add N.Brown (not far off Roughead), Macaffer and Dick.
Their outs were important. But not the reason they lost.
We comfortably outplayed them on every line.
Well done boys!
- magpie1946
Redlight wrote:I think the criticism is a bit over-the-top. Especially regarding Sidebottom and Dawes.jack_spain wrote:Rubbish. Read my critique.tomoleary wrote:Let's look at the positives. Pretty much everyone put in a decent effort today,
If you thought Sidebottom's effort was good enough you were watching a different game.
Players who need to lift (judged by their own ability):
Sidebottom (obviously)
Dawes (enough said)
Harry O (has struggled all season and is too flaky in defense at the moment)
Blair (has stalled in his development)
Wellingham (still doesn't do enough and missed a sitter today)
and...
Swan (nowhere near his best, seemed to run out of ideas at times)
Pendlebury ( we'll let him have a coast now and again)
Heater ( I thought he was a bit sloppy with his disposal today and played his man far too lose)
Players I criticised last week who improved but are still far from their best:
Maxwell (still needs to back himself to mark sometimes)
Thomas (much better today but still all over the place like a dog's dinner)
Leigh Brown (at least he kicked a couple)
All in all, I am still waiting for the day when we get all 22 players playing as well as they can.
Your post reads like the after-game frustration of a fan who's just seen his club cop a hiding. However we just comfortably disposed of a aspiring top 4 club. A club that many were touting as a genuine threat to us.
We're a great side certainly, but not so great that we can win like that with eleven players struggling.
You have hit the nail on the head - I said on this site at least 2 years ago that Jack's Pain is a Hawks supporter - shows all the usual signs, chip on shoulder, small person syndrome (and usually knows little about footy) and a white anter into the bargain; and why was he in Tassie recently reporting on Acker - a pure furphy - he was watching the 'orribles perform at their home ground - keep at it Jack's - you didn't unseat Mick and your continual slagging of our players is not becoming of a true supporter. You are really hanging out for a loss, so our form must be really sticking in your craw [. We know exactly what to expect when and if we experience a loss.
I'm a big dog (two dogs) on a big hunt and I don't have time for a piss-ant on a melon stalk."
STOKE THE STOVE COLLINGWOOD
- GoWoodsmen
Can someone explain the criticism of Blair? He's a bloody terrier and really I can't remember being even remotely frustrated with him at all since he returned. To me he's like a very young Bally - gives us some real grunt.
Ive been not so much a fan but certainly willing to give Buckley a go unlike some others but I saw some worrying signs from him yesterday. He doesn't have any trouble getting the ball and is a thumping kick but he appeared to go back to his rd 1 decision making a bit yesterday.
Good to win, yes. Satisfying, not really. We got the 4 points, next in the demolition queue please!
Ive been not so much a fan but certainly willing to give Buckley a go unlike some others but I saw some worrying signs from him yesterday. He doesn't have any trouble getting the ball and is a thumping kick but he appeared to go back to his rd 1 decision making a bit yesterday.
Good to win, yes. Satisfying, not really. We got the 4 points, next in the demolition queue please!
Side By Side Forever
- Damien
- Has liked: 3 times
- Been liked: 11 times
God help our players if we have another loss this season.....
I've been watching footy for 40 years and I cant ever remember a game where every single one of our players was named in ther best.
I would have loved to see us bury Hawthorn in the last qtr yesterday but I'll take the win every time and I'm not gunna get all sooky about it when a few guys go off the boil for a week or two. Not while we continue to methodically dismantle every team we play against every week.
Jack Spain - you are looking for perfection mate, it aint gunna happen week in week out.
I've been watching footy for 40 years and I cant ever remember a game where every single one of our players was named in ther best.
I would have loved to see us bury Hawthorn in the last qtr yesterday but I'll take the win every time and I'm not gunna get all sooky about it when a few guys go off the boil for a week or two. Not while we continue to methodically dismantle every team we play against every week.
Jack Spain - you are looking for perfection mate, it aint gunna happen week in week out.
Last edited by Damien on Mon Jul 04, 2011 8:30 am, edited 1 time in total.
'Collingwood are the Bradmans of Football'
The Herald - 1930
- GlovemanGayfer
Wow! Imagine if we had lost!!
For the record we beat the team the opposition put on the park and you can not do any more than that. Wins against top 4 sides are huge and to win so comfortably gives us an edge that we haven't had against this side.
That classic line the comes out to beat player with is in full use again "didn't do enough today". They can't all get 30 touches can they? So far on here someones had a crack at Sharrod of not doing enough recently (3 weeks is a long time in football) and at Jarrod Blair who clearly had his best game this season yesterday. Some of us seem to live in a delusion that one day all 22 players will play at their best all at once. Similarly I have my 15 trained monkeys trying to type out a best seller for me, it will happen I tell you!
Let's point out some of the players the hawks did have today. Franklin, Hodge, Mitchell, Burgoyne along with some very nice younger players. I have never seen as ineffectual a 40 possession game as Hodge played. The Hawthorn game plan inflates stats and importance. From the moment Franklin missed his first shot at goal you could see his head wasn't in it. That said you have to wonder why he doesn't play midfield all day every day. Watching him run with the ball in one hand is scary.
Our defence is magnificent (all of them) they have run, drive and skill at this stage equal to anything the AFL can throw at them. Considering that they are made up of a group of players who were never up to it (read the critiques) they're turning out ok. Ben Reid's kicking is phenomenal and as his confidence grows he is turning into the prototype Luke Hodge type quarterback player. He makes the switch and changes the whole direction of a game. Leon's transformation is miraculous and more credit need to be given to the coaching panel for this. His ability to deliver the ball and to read player is still elite. For those with Big O issues find the tape and watch his spoil deep deep into the 4th 1/4, when all around him had stopped there was Harry going 100 Miles an hour to spoil. There is nothing less than 100% with Harry.
Finally let's all celebrate Trav. You have to feel absolutely wrapped for him. While the media and others (!) were taking shots at him he has quietly developed into an elite power forward. A player as rare as hen teeth and one who is just starting to hit his straps. As big as Franklins failure to fires yesterday was Clokes 3rd big game is a row. To hear the crowd rise as he lifts into a contest is awesome.
Well done Pies, bring on the Roos and then a similarly disappointing performance against the blues would do me fine!
For the record we beat the team the opposition put on the park and you can not do any more than that. Wins against top 4 sides are huge and to win so comfortably gives us an edge that we haven't had against this side.
That classic line the comes out to beat player with is in full use again "didn't do enough today". They can't all get 30 touches can they? So far on here someones had a crack at Sharrod of not doing enough recently (3 weeks is a long time in football) and at Jarrod Blair who clearly had his best game this season yesterday. Some of us seem to live in a delusion that one day all 22 players will play at their best all at once. Similarly I have my 15 trained monkeys trying to type out a best seller for me, it will happen I tell you!
Let's point out some of the players the hawks did have today. Franklin, Hodge, Mitchell, Burgoyne along with some very nice younger players. I have never seen as ineffectual a 40 possession game as Hodge played. The Hawthorn game plan inflates stats and importance. From the moment Franklin missed his first shot at goal you could see his head wasn't in it. That said you have to wonder why he doesn't play midfield all day every day. Watching him run with the ball in one hand is scary.
Our defence is magnificent (all of them) they have run, drive and skill at this stage equal to anything the AFL can throw at them. Considering that they are made up of a group of players who were never up to it (read the critiques) they're turning out ok. Ben Reid's kicking is phenomenal and as his confidence grows he is turning into the prototype Luke Hodge type quarterback player. He makes the switch and changes the whole direction of a game. Leon's transformation is miraculous and more credit need to be given to the coaching panel for this. His ability to deliver the ball and to read player is still elite. For those with Big O issues find the tape and watch his spoil deep deep into the 4th 1/4, when all around him had stopped there was Harry going 100 Miles an hour to spoil. There is nothing less than 100% with Harry.
Finally let's all celebrate Trav. You have to feel absolutely wrapped for him. While the media and others (!) were taking shots at him he has quietly developed into an elite power forward. A player as rare as hen teeth and one who is just starting to hit his straps. As big as Franklins failure to fires yesterday was Clokes 3rd big game is a row. To hear the crowd rise as he lifts into a contest is awesome.
Well done Pies, bring on the Roos and then a similarly disappointing performance against the blues would do me fine!
- GreekLunatic
- Has liked: 1 time
- Been liked: 17 times
- GreekLunatic
- Has liked: 1 time
- Been liked: 17 times
- Lazza
GreekLunatic wrote:I could imagine what that idiot who rights in the australian would say now that our heads will be way above the clouds. Ill take a 41 point win .
Nah he will bitch and moan about us not winning the game against the Hawk reserves by over 100 points!! I know this tactic well, they believe that if you haven't anything bad to say about Collingwood, make it up!!
Prediction: you watch this fool and others of his ilk get on the Carlscum bandwagon now!! They will beat them up to be the premiers this year for sure..... Anything against us winning the flag consecutively.