Post Match. Cats wallop Pies - all comments please
- selkevh
Come on everyone. Let's settle down.
I know it was insipid but you do not get to the top of the table if you're crap.
Deep breath and move on.
I'm going to cop it tomorrow at footy. But it'll be from those Lions muppets / supporters. Throw in some St Kilda people as well.
But I'll get through it.
Head up everybody.
I know it was insipid but you do not get to the top of the table if you're crap.
Deep breath and move on.
I'm going to cop it tomorrow at footy. But it'll be from those Lions muppets / supporters. Throw in some St Kilda people as well.
But I'll get through it.
Head up everybody.
A strong man stands up for himself ... a stronger man stands up for others.
Are we allowed to criticise the team's performance tonight? Or is this a Soviet Union style forum? People threatening others because they dared question our performance tonight. Pathetic. Take the loss on the chin fellas. We need to learn from this. But so close to the finals it doesn't help with our confidence. I don't want to face the Cats again. They've figured us out. Hopefully the Hawks take care of them next week.
Formerly LeighBrownBrigade
- Trezegol
Opinions without fact are pointless. If one team refuses to chase, place pressure on the opposition and tackle it is quite obvious their minds are not on the job. Our minds have not been on the job since rd1. Yet we have managed our season perfectly.LeighBrownBrigade wrote:Sure, mate. No problem. Are you threatening me because I expressed an opinion? More than happy to meet you to see if you repeat that threat. Another keyboard warrior. You can't take criticism? Why make it personal?Trezegol wrote:PoSo what happens if we win the next three games? I tell you what, u better not show yourself on this forum if we win the premiership. If u do, make sure you've got the guts to pm me your contact details.LeighBrownBrigade wrote:Therevare a lot of delussional people responding tonight. They screwed us BIG TIME tonight. I'll repeat what I wrote earlier. No team on top of the ladder losses by 96, yes ninety-six points, to the second placed team in the last game of the season. I don't care how much they didn't care about putting their body on the line. It was embarrasing, to say the least. Great teams don't get flogged by almost 100 points. Jolly pathetic. Our forward line non-existent.
Geelong haven't all of a sudden unpicked the lock to the press. What did they do against west coast? Nothing. Did we apply a press tonight? No, we actually did nothing.
The game was over when geelong got to 5 goals in front. At that point, why would we risk anything more? Under pressure last week, Geelong didn't look much chop. Tonight they streamed down the ground without a collingwood player in sight.
So until you educate yourself about this game of afl football, I will make it personal. And if u don't like it, you can go forth and multiply.
"There have been injuries and deaths in boxing, but none of them serious." (Alan Minter)
- Raw Hammer
- Has liked: 1 time
- Been liked: 4 times
A lot of you haven't played football before. I have all my life. It's obviously physical and requires the 'want' to be physical and pressure the ball carrier.
One year, my team was UNDEFEATED until the final two rounds, with no chance of being toppled from top spot. Self preserveation mode sinks in, and it's hard to explain. We got SMASHED by the BOTTOM team at home by about 100 points, then lost convincingly the next week to the second placed team on the eve of the finals.
We went on to beat that same team convincingly the next week, and won the premiership by 90+ points.
It CAN be switched on when finals commence.
Just relax, people...
One year, my team was UNDEFEATED until the final two rounds, with no chance of being toppled from top spot. Self preserveation mode sinks in, and it's hard to explain. We got SMASHED by the BOTTOM team at home by about 100 points, then lost convincingly the next week to the second placed team on the eve of the finals.
We went on to beat that same team convincingly the next week, and won the premiership by 90+ points.
It CAN be switched on when finals commence.
Just relax, people...
Est. 2002
Re: You
Not generally the descriptor I tend to use for you but whatevs...jack_spain wrote: I'm serious!
Hard to tell exactly what they were up to tonight. Yeah Mick was pretty chilled at 3/4 time but there was also footage of him losing his stack in the coaches box, including what looked a lot like him giving Bucks a spray at one stage. Now some of all that might have been habit but I reckon Mick would have been pretty non-plussed with what he was seeing.
It wasn't just that we were slow and uncommitted. Geelong played some pretty bloody good footy there tonight and showed that there's still a lot of life in them yet (regardless of Jack's affirmations some 2 years ago). Mind you, when they get Hawkins taking screamers in the square, you have to start thinking that they were having one hell of a good night. The bounce of the ball went their way a hell of a lot (and not just the centre bounces) and we were just running around with our mates - and not very quickly at that. We usually have 2 or 3 players manning the centre square for the rebound. Tonight, they waltzed through there on numerous occasions. Some of that was some exceptional play-on footy but most of it was us just not working to get into position.
Our last bye was 10 weeks ago. Not sure about WCE but Carlton, Geelong and Hawthorn, effectively, have had a good chance to rest up for week one. I'm cool with us getting out there and keeping the legs moving without busting a nut.
Which is a kind of ironic statement when you check out the context within which it was delivered. I mean seriously dude (and I use that term with every last skerrick of my poetic license) but get a grip. You're embarrassing us to the interwebs.jack_spain wrote: Absolute umitigated rubbish. You ****wits just can't handle the truth that we might not actually be the best team going around this year!
LOL. Just so much LOL. I'll even dust off a ROFL. A post every 75 minutes 24 hours a day presumably isn't ramming opinions down our throats.jack_spain wrote: No wonder so many people have been driven away from Nick's when ****wit bullies come on and tell us what we should think and say about Collingwood every time.
You weren't the happiest person in Melbourne when we won last year. It was my birthday and I was off my chops.jack_spain wrote: I'll be the happiest person in Melbourne if we win the flag this year (like I was last year). But after tonight I'm not expecting it. :roll
Regardless, if or when we win it this year, I expect there to be a glib retraction on your behalf followed by arrogance and grandstanding at other teams' misfortunes, not realising that you are again setting yourself up for how you're feeling now. Then we can go through this whole thing again. Believe me, it's as cathartic for me as it clearly is for you
- chrisjjj
I take it u are talking about dids??? 27 quality possesion. lol.GoWoodsmen wrote:WTF - did let us down? Far out... I have to temper what I'm saying here given that I said we shouldn't be in fighting but seriously what game were you watching?? He was one of few who tried his guts out all night. 27 touches is damn hard to argue with.chrisjjj wrote:That was pathetic, embarrassing and weak. First game I left early since that smashing Brisbane dished out to us when Brennan kick a million goals. Special mention to Ball, Didak and Jolly. 3 Senior players that let us down badly, and Sack and Fasolo will be luck to hold there spot. All will be luck to hold their spot bloody spuds. Thought that a loss may be benefical to the team at the start of that match but that was just F____ED!!! Premiership favourite, hahaha thats F____ING funny.
- swooper
- Has liked: 76 times
- Been liked: 6 times
You're posts are the best An_Inkling. I'm your biggest fanAN_Inkling wrote:Malhouse moves in mysterious ways. He may not have told you directly, but if you look in the practise game thread from Thursday, you'll see that someone posted that it was at 7:40 at the MCG. The signs are always there, you just need to read them (particularly, never miss one of my posts if you want infallible insight into the game ).think positive wrote:dead right,ktszyu1 wrote:Relaxxxxx people.
Yes, it's a bad sign to lose by that much. But we didn't take this game seriously mentally, tactically, or physically. Nobody chased, because they probably wanted to save their legs. Stupid positioning occurred, because we didn't want to show our cards. We let them waltz by us, because intensity is the key to the press, and intensity is draining.
Did we intend to get smashed? No. Do the coaching panel look at all worried? No. Will a 500% increase in intensity, the addition of Thomas, Shaw, Davis and Maxwell, and finals-like "serious" coaching bridge the gap from tonight? You betcha.
The only concern I have from tonight is the incessant long-bombs direct to Cats in our forward line. That's part and parcel of self-preservation and not wanting to work hard on the eve of what will be a taxing finals series.
im only pissed thet didnt tell us it was a practice match - at least the hawks are honest, would have stayed home where its warm!!
walk of shame 4th 1/4 15 min mark!!
Trezegol,
Keep dreaming... 10 goals kicked against Collingwood in the 2nd term. No Premiership winning team cops as many in one quarter. We didn't care? Pull the other one. No player likes being at the end of a 96 point drubbing. They exploited our weknesses tonight (too many to mention here) and they did so clinically. And earlier in the season WHEN IT DID MATTER we were lucky to 'escape' with a 3 point loss. Their wayward kicking let them down and kept us in the game. Geelong have figured us out. Just hope we don't play them in the finals. It will be a season ending game for us.
Last edited by Peponi on Sat Sep 03, 2011 12:58 am, edited 1 time in total.
Formerly LeighBrownBrigade
- Greening gold
- Has liked: 1 time
- Been liked: 1 time
I actually feel better to have got that game, and loss, out of they way. We were due for one and we got a belter. Don't forget the Cats got their first Corio defeat for years last week so would have been smarting. We'll be smarting next week. Worsfold would have watched that and thought: 'oh crap - they'll come out breathing fire next week'. The coast will be toast - badly burned toast.
If you used to barrack for the 'Pies, you never barracked for the 'Pies.
- mandy
- Lorelei
THANK YOU!mandy wrote:Yes! Yes we will!RudeBoy wrote:We will smash the Eagles by 78 points and win the flag in a canter.
And, once again it will be funny to watch all the negative bandwagoners try and hitch a ride on our parade.
SIDE BY SIDE!
BACK2BACK.
After my initial dismay - we can DO THIS!!
HANDS OFF OUR JUMPER
**Craig Kelly**Craig Kelly**Craig Kelly**