Long Running Lonie

This is a Collingwood Bulletin Board - use this forum for general, Pies-related topics. For other footy topics, use Nick's Other AFL forum, and for non-footy sporting topics please use Nick's Sports Bar. For non-sporting topics please use the Victoria Park Tavern.

Long Running Lonie

Post by Black_White »

With his penetrating long runs and long kicking, is Ryan Lonie the next Dustin Fletcher?

The Phoenix Is Arising
the prez

Post by the prez »

He'll be better.Don't forget that after 93 Fletcher was a bunny for 6 years until 2000.Now he's back to the bunny class.Back to Lonie,have you noticed that whenever the Hawthorn commentators(Dermie,Dunstall,Dipper,Salmon)mention Lonie how quick they are to mention he has a twin brother at Hawthorn.You reckon they're getting excited.Wouldn't it be funny if he turns out to be the dud one.

GO WOODS

Post by AlfAndrews »

The next Dustin Fletcher?????

He's not the next anybody.
He's the present Ryan Lonie.
And that is very high praise.

Anyone who can claim to be the present Ryan Lonie must be a great footballer. We're talking about a guy who will win a string of Copeland Trophies. A guy who will win a Norm Smith Medal ... or two. He might even win a couple of Brownlows (but who cares about the Brownlow anyway). You're talking about an all-Australian player. A member of Collingwood's Team of the Century in 100 years time.

How the hell did Dustin Fletcher come into the equation?

Post by Black_White »

After the draft the Hawthorn supporters all stated that they had recruited the better twin. How many games has Nathan played???

Alf thanks for supporting my statement. You see I compared him to Fletcher because Dustin became a great player in a great team. He won Essenscums B&F (Copeland) in a premiership year. He can play both ends. His attack with the ball leads to scoring.

That's why I believe they are comparable. WHEN Ryan wins the Copeland in our Premiership year we'll talk. O.K.

The Phoenix Is Arising
slaNgman69

Post by slaNgman69 »

A mate of mine has been following this kid since u-14's coz his son played against he and his brother. Stood out by a mile kicking goals from 50m...and he was only 14 years old.

they had on talking footy the other week a split screen thing of ryan and nathan both getting goals, they were almost exactly the same (the goals). i reckon it would be good to have his borther at collingwood as well.