Post match. Pies sink Saints - all comments

piedys
Has liked: 371 times
Been liked: 101 times

Post by piedys »

pablo wrote:Ironically enough, my own knee-jerk reaction was to react to the negativity!

Anyway, well put and I agree with all your points! Even the admonishment for lowering myself....

Go Pies.
Mate not at all! LOL - venting at the venting, excellent! Didn't mean to imply that you had or were sniping or lowering yourself against me or any others, so i certainly wasn't having a veiled dig at you there!
Remember - posts are opinions and rants, nothing more, nothing less.

And yes, i'm as guilty as anyone on this site for rants and blowing-up over things that are ultimately out of our control, and have no say in.
But we all bleed Black and White blood here brother Pablo.
Enjoy the rest of your weekend sir.

Dyso
MO2

for the negative nancys

Post by MO2 »

We have had the hardest draw this year by far
We've had the worst injury list by far
We've had the most media scrutiny over a coach coming into season
We have Had the most media scrutiny over a single player

We sit second on the ladder
We have 3 of our best 22 to come back
We have a 10-0 streak against the team coming first
We have played more debutaunts than the other top 8

We have the most upside improvement to come. We are peaking at the right time.

If your not happy where we are at or what we've accomplished this season you will never be happy.
"Only in the mirror will you see who I realy am"

Dance Coconuts
rocketronnie

Post by rocketronnie »

"Only the weak believe that what they do in battle is who they are as men" - Thomas Marshall - "Ironclad".
Has liked: 271 times
Been liked: 354 times

Fantastic victory in the end. Very happy with the result. The Saints gave it their all and they still couldn't beat us. They've been playing good football lately, so we always knew they would push us all the way.

We dominated the 2nd quarter and we should have buried the Saints by half-time. We had 19 scoring shots to 7 shots up to half-time, so the game should have been over, but wasting opportunities was always going to come back to haunt us somewhat.

In regards to the last free kick decision, I have no sympathy for the Saints. I don't care whether they were robbed tonight or not, people should be aware that the first goal of the night by Saad came as result from a poor umpiring decision when Shaw was alleged to have deliberately kicked the ball out of bounds, despite it clearly not being deliberate by Shaw. When I saw the final decision with Harry O it initially it looked like a free from where I was sitting which was in level 1 of the Ponsford end.

We were ordinary in the early stages of the first quarter when the Saints jumped out of the blocks, but we worked our way into the game and by the 2nd quarter we were dominating them. It was a pity we didn't fully capitalise on the scoreboard in the 2nd quarter to guarantee there was no fightback. The third quarter was poor and our ball usage was average and against better sides we'd be trouble if we played like we did in the 3rd quarter. The last quarter was ok, but not great. I felt Daisy Thomas' goal in the final quarter gave the fans and the players the spark to hold on in the end. Great running by Daisy to beat Sam Fisher like that when the contest was there to be won.

Jolly was best on ground as he was terrific in the ruck. Beams was solid as usual, Thomas had a much improved game, Pendles was solid without being spectacular and Dawes was very good tonight. I couldn't fault the effort he put in tonight. Travis wasn't great, but he wasn't terrible either despite what others thought.

This was a must win game tonight and with Hawthorn and West Coast losing this weekend, it has given us a huge chance to stay in the top 4. We are now 2 games clear of the Eagles and a game clear of the Hawks which makes for good reading.

Bring on the Swans next weekend!

GO PIES!!! :D
rocketronnie

Post by rocketronnie »

Jezza wrote:Fantastic victory in the end. Very happy with the result. The Saints gave it their all and they still couldn't beat us. They've been playing good football lately, so we always knew they would push us all the way.

We dominated the 2nd quarter and we should have buried the Saints by half-time. We had 19 scoring shots to 7 shots up to half-time, so the game should have been over, but wasting opportunities was always going to come back to haunt us somewhat.

In regards to the last free kick decision, I have no sympathy for the Saints. I don't care whether they were robbed tonight or not, people should be aware that the first goal of the night by Saad came as result from a poor umpiring decision when Shaw was alleged to have deliberately kicked the ball out of bounds, despite it clearly not being deliberate by Shaw. When I saw the final decision with Harry O it initially it looked like a free from where I was sitting which was in level 1 of the Ponsford end.

We were ordinary in the early stages of the first quarter when the Saints jumped out of the blocks, but we worked our way into the game and by the 2nd quarter we were dominating them. It was a pity we didn't fully capitalise on the scoreboard in the 2nd quarter to guarantee there was no fightback. The third quarter was poor and our ball usage was average and against better sides we'd be trouble if we played like we did in the 3rd quarter. The last quarter was ok, but not great. I felt Daisy Thomas' goal in the final quarter gave the fans and the players the spark to hold on in the end. Great running by Daisy to beat Sam Fisher like that when the contest was there to be won.

Jolly was best on ground as he was terrific in the ruck. Beams was solid as usual, Thomas had a much improved game, Pendles was solid without being spectacular and Dawes was very good tonight. I couldn't fault the effort he put in tonight. Travis wasn't great, but he wasn't terrible either despite what others thought.

This was a must win game tonight and with Hawthorn and West Coast losing this weekend, it has given us a huge chance to stay in the top 4. We are now 2 games clear of the Eagles and a game clear of the Hawks which makes for good reading.

Bring on the Swans next weekend!

GO PIES!!! :D
This is SPARTA! :!:
"Only the weak believe that what they do in battle is who they are as men" - Thomas Marshall - "Ironclad".
Pie 65

Post by Pie 65 »

The Saints aren't a bad team boyz.
Funkadelic

Post by Funkadelic »

3-0 in games under 6 points this year. Last year we went 2-0, one of those in a final four game. Last time we lost a game under 6 points was against the hawks in the final round of 2010, and beams had a shot to win the game. I would also include the drawn 2010 gf because we didnt lose did we? In all these games the opposition has lead deep into the final qtr. Playing 4 quarter footy is nice, but having the players who when the heat gets turned right up down the stretch deliver the goods time and time again is priceless.
Tear the roof off tha sucker!!!

Post by Doc63 »

Have been listening to SEN since the end of the game, St Vomit supporter after St Vomit supporter ringing in crying about the decision.

Its music to my ears. Couldn't happen to a more deserving bunch of flogs. And the fact it was Tip Rat just makes it so much better.
I hold a cup of wisdom, but there is nothing within.
MattyD

Post by MattyD »

a few hours after the game and my heart rate is slowly returning to normal.

that really was another good win for the pies.

how tense was it? There really is a lot of hate between the saints and the pies isn't there?

We didn't play champagne footy but we won.

Bring on the swans... if we can beat them - for me - confidence in our season will be fully restored.
perthmagpie

Post by perthmagpie »

john b wrote:The second quarter is the best i have seen us play since the prelim in 2010. Which by the way is the best game of football i have ever seen from us.

We are building.

Keep it up Pies.
Hooray John. I'm not going to concentrate on all the negatives. I went tonight hoping to see the quantum leap in defensive intensity that not been sighted all year. I'm talking the swarming, manic pressure that is our only way we can beat Hawthorn and Sydney and grab the flag. It was there for 40 minutes. It was a step up on anything I have seen in 2012. I sense the experienced players are beginning to lift the whole group. We still have what it takes. Now we need to start to reproduce it for longer and longer periods, take our chances and get Krakouer, Dids and Johno back to add experience and finishing power. I just hope we are timing our run well.
Magpies love pies(Lol)
Been liked: 2 times

Post by Brown26 »

I feel sorry for the Saints supporters for that free, it was pretty soft, but couldn't have happened to a nicer bloke in my opinion. Add to that we got so many more frees than the Saints (though after half time I must admit I didn't see the differential watching the game) and they would've been pretty pissed. How the hell the umpires could NOT have given Wellingham a free for the head high hit I'll never know (will they use it in his defence when he gets offered 3 matches?).

Getting pissed over the last umpiring decision of the day is obvsiouly not sensible but definitly unavoidable, so I can only offer my sincere appologies to the saint supporters and offer to chip in for their September holiday... ;)

john b

Post by john b »

john b wrote:
watt price tully wrote: Elliot for a 100 game player should have had the experience to go back & waste 30 seconds & have a deliberate shot.
I'm sure you meant 10 game player. Leave it as a brain fade, because 10 games of AFL or 5 games of local under 15's footy, most would have milked the clock in that situation. Like i said brain fade, he would have been thinking goal= Game over, and i'm better of on the run than a set shot. Will never happen from him again under the same scenario.

On Elliot himself; What a beauty of a player, he will hold his spot. Gave plenty at crucial times tonight.
Nah, I meant 100 as a response to soo many gettin' down on him: seemed way OTT.

I agree a brain fade - but he's a youngster & he'll learn. On my sofa I went back & calmly slotted it through :wink:
Sorry got ya, i skipped the previous pages.

Can't believe so many are getting own on him for that as well. Is this the world we live in? a person can make a minor mistake in a very fast paced environment?

Had he kicked the goal the same people would be saying 'give TC money to him.'
What'sinaname
Has liked: 8 times
Been liked: 34 times

Post by What'sinaname »

Fighting against the objectification of woman.
Pie 65

Post by Pie 65 »

I just think we need to be mentally tougher at times. We let other teams get on a roll too much. We were a lot more ruthless in our golden period over the last two years.
What'sinaname
Has liked: 8 times
Been liked: 34 times

Post by What'sinaname »

Pie 65 wrote:I just think we need to be mentally tougher at times. We let other teams get on a roll too much. We were a lot more ruthless in our golden period over the last two years.
Yes, I said in another thread, it appears impossible to execute the press for 120 minutes. So apply it when needed and then play man-on-man.

Last night was an example where the press gave us a handy 1/2 time lead, but our inability to man up let the Saint right back into the game. How easily did the Saints switch the ball across the ground and move it forward in the third?