Pre Prelim - Pies v. Swans - all comments.

Bucks5
Been liked: 20 times

Post by Bucks5 »

Wonder what effect JMac's funeral on the Thursday will have on our players.

It is not only the emotional drain they face, it is also the additional travel to Sorrento and back, and the disruption to their normal preparation for an Interstate game.
jack_spain

Post by jack_spain »

Jolly Good wrote:Wonder what effect JMac's funeral on the Thursday will have on our players.

It is not only the emotional drain they face, it is also the additional travel to Sorrento and back, and the disruption to their normal preparation for an Interstate game.
Correct. But it will test our premiership credentials. Win next Friday night and the grand final will seem like a walk in the park - seriously.

You know our deeply loved past player John McCarthy might just have gifted us a flag. Something has happened to the playing group this week. Like the alchemists of old they have taken the tragic emotions of the week and turned them into pure gold. Repeat that dose next week and look out Hawthorn.

They have belief again. Besides Tarrant deserves that elusive flag.
jack_spain

Post by jack_spain »

tomoleary wrote:I can tell already that it's gonna be the Sydney Swans, 3 Umpires, a Sydney home crowd, the AFL and the rest of Australia vs Collingwood.
Isn't it that way every week? :shock:
woftam

Post by woftam »

Jolly Good wrote:Wonder what effect JMac's funeral on the Thursday will have on our players.

Going to be really tough on our lads.
They are going from the funeral straight to the airport & have to play the next night. It's going to be even more difficult for them than this week I reckon. Not a lot of time to get focused. Good luck boys.
Diamonds

Post by Diamonds »

Does anybody have a link or know how many tickets can be purchased per membership this week. We are going up tomorrow and a mate wants me to get him a ticket.
You are only as old as the person you feel
Grassy13

Post by Grassy13 »

I reckon if dawesy is out bring in wood and put jolly at full forward for a rest when wood rucks
Go Pies!!!
Adz

Post by Adz »

Going to be a wet game by the look of the 7 day forecast. Rain predicted for basically the entire week.
TimetoFly

Post by TimetoFly »

So we play Friday night and hawks Saturday twilight

So if we win we get an extra day break
Collingwood a way of life!
Been liked: 40 times

Post by think better »

The Reid on Reid clash could be huge!
I think therefore I think - I think
Holbrook Bloke

Post by Holbrook Bloke »

Amazing to think this will be the fourth time we've had the Pies in Sydney (inc preseason). Pretty rare! This will be an awesome game of footy and Sydney look to have the box seat with a week off and the emotion of Jude Bolton playing his 300th.

Due to the conflict with the NRL playing at ANZ on Saturday, we get one less day to recover from what was a hugely physical and emotional game (the sight of Welly, Blairy & Beamsey in the rooms after was shattered). We've got the wood over them and if it's a tight game, that can't help but play on the Swans minds.

The only question is Wood or Witts - a big call either way. Pies by 1-19pts.
Jonno
Sydney Collingwood Supporters Club (Est 2003)

Camelia Grove Hotel - The best AFL pub in Sydney all season, not just the finals.
Grassy13

Post by Grassy13 »

Pies by 10 points
Go Pies!!!
Grassy13

Post by Grassy13 »

think better wrote:The Reid on Reid clash could be huge!
Yep I reckon Reid will win that :lol:
Go Pies!!!
Been liked: 148 times

It will be a massive blow to us if we lose Dawes and Dids, but not insurmountable.

If that's the case, however, I would bring in Paine and Sinclair. Jolly will just have to ruck one out, with only minimal support from Goldy and Cloke. At least Sinclair will bring speed and tackling pressure. I would have Toovey tag Jetta as he did last time and have Taz play on Goodes. If our mids in Pendles, Beams, Swan, Blair, Wellingham, Daisy and Sidey can all play well again we will beat the Swans.

I would actually love us to debut Witts or Josh Thomas, but i can't see it happening.
Been liked: 40 times

Post by think better »

Grassy13 wrote:
think better wrote:The Reid on Reid clash could be huge!
Yep I reckon Reid will win that :lol:
Unless Reid gets the better of him.
I think therefore I think - I think

I will mention that to my , think better.