Kit Clash needs to be fixed!!!!!!! (so does the umpiring but

This is a Collingwood Bulletin Board - use this forum for general, Pies-related topics. For other footy topics, use Nick's Other AFL forum, and for non-footy sporting topics please use Nick's Sports Bar. For non-sporting topics please use the Victoria Park Tavern.

I@n S

Kit Clash needs to be fixed!!!!!!! (so does the umpiring but

Post by I@n S »

Well its about time we had this problem fixed. It's not that hard to fix. Be like basketball, how there is a light and dark kit. or even like soccer where there is a 3rd kit.
Collingwood vs carlton. Dark at the back of the jumpers and red ad at the front.
Collingwood vs Port. back looks the same cause of the red ad and it being dark.
Essendon Vs melbourne. Red is the problem again.
These are just 3 of the ones i've noticed.

I've never worried about the colours myself. I don't really know what all the fuss is about!

Post by Black_White »

Hmm....I really cannot see any color bar black & white.
Hasn't most of this been fixed by making the away team wear the daggy white shorts?

The Phoenix Is Arising
I@n S

Post by I@n S »

It's fly emerates and for port I can't remember what it is, but it's red like ours. The shorts are not enough.
You didn't notice that both teams look dark. Imagine playing in that game and thinking a port player is a collingwood player because both jumpers are dark.
mike b

Post by mike b »

I agree with the clash problem. We need some more distinctive kits now - the game moves so quickly and it's hard to keep up at times, let alone when the jumpers and socks look the same.

Other problem clashes - Crows and Tigers, Cats and Kangas, Bombers and Tigers, Dockers and Demons, heaps others.

About the only jumpers which don't ever clash are Hawthorn (shocking combination), Sydney and to a lesser extent the Lions
the closer

Post by the closer »

the only ones i have trouble with are north and geelong.

i think the problem is the newer coolmax jumpers. they're not as dark as the old wool ones. they all have a sheen which i think makes it confusing, especially with the darker colours.

Ian - When you think about it that way then there could be a problem, have the players been asked about this?

[Unwitten Law]-[RATM]- [Rammstein]-[One Dollar Short]-[Linkin Park]-[(HED)P.E.]-[Frenzal]-[28Days]
I@n S

Post by I@n S »

I have no idea if the players have been asked. But it looks as though they have trouble with it.

I think it would be good idea to ask the players opinions on this...don't you think?

<B>-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[Unwitten Law]-[RATM]- [Rammstein]-[One Dollar Short]-[Linkin Park]-
[(HED)P.E.]-[Frenzal]-[28Days]-[Millencolin]-[Limp]-[Pennywise]
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------</B>
I@n S

Post by I@n S »

Yeah but how would i ask them? Write to the footy show and the game?
I@n S

Post by I@n S »

Well (Wanker) Carey was on talking footy and said that it's hard to tell the difference between teams at times. Good to see that Bruce can make a good point for once. Image

Post by Broadie »

Well, I@n S, it seems the AFL has been readin this board. Yesterday's Hun had an article showing that all clubs have been asked to submit an AWAY jumper that will avoid colour clashes.

There's another article in today's paper saying some clubs aren't too happy about this. There's no specific address (go to http://sport.news.com.au/ and follow the AFL link) so here's the whole text:

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><HR>
Mixed reaction to away jumper
By SCOTT GULLAN nd MICHAEL GLEESON
23may01
KEY Victorian clubs have rejected an AFL push for new away jumpers to be worn to avoid colour clashes.

Richmond and Collingwood have come out strongly against the idea, while Essendon have remained non-committal, saying they will look at it if requested by the AFL.

Melbourne and Adelaide are both in favour of the new jumpers, with the Crows considering a bright colour option.

The AFL wants the new designs to include radically different colours. The jumpers would not be worn in all away games, but only those matches against teams with similar colours or designs.

Richmond general manager Mark Brayshaw said the club's board is totally opposed to tampering with the traditional black-and-yellow sash.

"Our board has indicated hell is going to freeze over before we change our jumpers," he said.

"We have no intention of adopting an away strip.

"We did research recently where the members communicated Richmond icons, and right at the top of that list was our jumper."

Collingwood president Eddie McGuire said the league should concern itself with more important issues such as umpiring or Colonial Stadium.

"Don't sweat on the small stuff, worry about the bigger issues," McGuire said.

"At Collingwood we have black-and-white stripes, that's what we've always had and that's what we always will have."

Melbourne are hot on the issue after the clash was vividly apparent in Sunday's Demons-Essendon clash, where players looked confused at times.

In one incident, Demon Daniel Ward handballed out of a pack straight to Bomber skipper James Hird, who kicked a goal.

Chief executive John Anderson said the Demons have already spoken to the AFL about the new jumper designs.

"We have met with the AFL on it and they are very strong on making clubs have an alternative strip so we don't have a repeat of clashes like Sunday," he said.

"I am of a view that football is of a pace that requires a light and a dark jumper.

"It's up to the AFL to virtually enforce that with clubs.

"Our official position is we will forever be the red and blue, but we also accept we should have an alternative lighter strip for certain games."

Melbourne trialled an Ansett Cup strip this year that incorporated some silver, and it is understood this could be further explored.
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

DIPPER

Post by DIPPER »

When I first watched the VFL on TV over here in England during the 80s I remember watching a game-I think it must have been Essendon/Melbourne & I was lost trying to follow what was going on but then I'm used to soccer where teams have change strips & there is no real clash & as you get used to it it becomes less of a problem.Although I'm sure the odd mistake does happen when a player offloads in a hurry without having time to really look up.
What I find quite heartening about Broadie's article is that some of the clubs are dead against it-if it was in England any excuse to produce another strip to sell to the fans & rip them off further would be jumped upon but it seems as if the clubs over there haven't totally lost touch with their fans.

I do not & have never loved Liverpool FC