The AFL would be loving it.

This is a Collingwood Bulletin Board - use this forum for general, Pies-related topics. For other footy topics, use Nick's Other AFL forum, and for non-footy sporting topics please use Nick's Sports Bar. For non-sporting topics please use the Victoria Park Tavern.

timagpie

Post by timagpie »

i was in the icy rain sitting a row from the players race on the southerns stand side near the coaches box where shawry was relived about our first win of the season in about round 10 1999.
It was probably the most memorable win in the shawry as coach nightmare era.

GOOD OLD COLLINGWOOD UNITED FOREVER AND EVER AMEN GOD BLESS THEM ALL

yes i remember it well, i dont think i can recall a time when i have been colder than that bastardly day (but we won ok, so it was worth it)!!

slaNgman69

Post by slaNgman69 »

Dantheman,
I sat in a corporate box on Saturday for the first time. I can honestly say that I've never felt more out of place then that day. Shit, everybody had their suit and ties (I haven't even got a suit) and drank the chardonnay and ate phuck knows what whilst we were making one of the best comebacks of the year.

They actually let me in with a Magpies jumper and nearly got kicked out coz I was "barracking" to loudly. Thats the crap that goes on in there. The atmosphere is non-existent.

Being in there felt like being amongst Richmond supporters. Don't know the song, don't know any of the players except for Buckley and didn't know what a football looked like.

Coprporate boxes are shit!
junkboy75

Post by junkboy75 »

I don't like bandwagon supporters either. But I will concede that corporate boxes and corporate packages are important sources of revenue for the AFL and the club. In fact, a major part of the AFL's equalisation policy are corporate sponsorship and hospitality. They may not have the same feel as sitting in the outer, but I don't mind as long as they make money for the club. It also shows that there are many tiers of support, from those who are really passionate to those with a passing interest. All are required in their own way, I reckon. I go to every game in Melb but sometimes I wear a suit to the footy (C'wood tie though) because I come straight from work, particularly for Friday night games. Rest assured, I cheer as loud as anyone Image

"everyone's a winner hot pies"

yeah, even in the social club theres no atmosphere. i was in there for like 5 seconds and was like 'f*ck this im getting out of here'.
i dont like the corporates, cos when (on the rare occasion) youre walking around in the members bit, they all look down on you like theyre so much of a better person just cos they can afford one of those crap rooms with tvs and stuff, why not just stay home if ur gonna do things like that??
but while i dont like them i too realise that they give the club money and all that. but when they start buliding more of these ridiculous 'corporate boxes'(and they will when they rebulid the northern stand) then that means more yobbos are gonna get DEPRIVED from a game that they follow with PASSION, which is what the corporates dont have (or show), and thats what pisses me off. just cos they give the club more money than we do doesnt mean the club or afl or anyone should look down on us as not being as important.

junkboy75

Post by junkboy75 »

the social club's OK; they're still more passionate than other clubs. ever been to a Swans pre-match function? they're a bunch of stiffs! unfortunately, sports these days is a business, so there will always be commercial pressures. C'wood is no different; that's why they have the President's Club, the Inner Sanctum and Magpie Racing. But the Pies have never severed its ties with the grassroots supporters or traditional values. That's why Eddie refers to them as the People's Club, and why Vic Park was renamed McHale Stadium and not Shell, Optus or Colonial. Eddie may wear Versace, but he is definitely the People's President. It's fun to sit with the C'wood members (as it is with the Cheer Squad I'm sure) as you are surrounded by C'wood fans only. That's a reason why I'll never join the MCC, even though I'm on the waiting list. most (not all) of them are a bunch of elitist prats.

"everyone's a winner hot pies"
Clemo

Post by Clemo »

CQ,

I'm a SC member. I don't see myself as the quiet type. You aint heard me mate ! Don't categorise us memebers as you have no idea. SC members are guarenteed a GF ticket. I missed out in 1990 and I went to every game. Think about that one.