To I will continue.pacmanOz wrote:When the umps gave them 3 frees in the first 90 seconds I knew it would be a tough night.
To continue the theme, Grundy was pinged at least twice for "shepherding" when clearly the Sydney ruckmen tried to tunnel him - on both occasions the dog was running in fear and everyone within 20 kms of Point Cook could hear my frustration.
Tonight we saw that pressure on even the best of opponents causes mistakes - and we are masters of making those mistakes into gold.
Goldie's ferocity was awe inspiring - Ball's courage was remarkable - but the two top class midfielders (Swannie and Pendles) were the difference!
The team goal when we ran the ball through the middle of the ground with Grundy ultimately kicking it was the epitome of Buckley - and I want more.
We may not beat the Hawks next week - but we will by the end of the season.
I love Collingwood!
Post match. Pies swamp Swans - All comments.
You little ripper!
Great win, pies. Dominated general play after the first 10 minutes or so.
I thought WADA/ASADA should crack down on the swans' use of performance enhancing umpiring, which was particularly blatant early in the game. The AFL must be livid that the head start still didn't contrive the intended result.
- The Pleasure
Separate of course to the $900,000 head start the AFL gives themPrecarious wrote:You little ripper!
- Pa Marmo
I heard you in Hoppers brother.pacmanOz wrote: To continue the theme, Grundy was pinged at least twice for "shepherding" when clearly the Sydney ruckmen tried to tunnel him - on both occasions the dog was running in fear and everyone within 20 kms of Point Cook could hear my frustration.
Genesis 1:1
- Born to Pie
- Has liked: 11 times
- Been liked: 1 time
Time for me to eat some humble pie!
How wrong was I after the Gold Coast loss? I said we were too far back and should look to 2014, well 2013 isn't over baby, not by a long shot!
Great win, and I'm joining DTM on the Grundy band wagon, Go Pies!
How wrong was I after the Gold Coast loss? I said we were too far back and should look to 2014, well 2013 isn't over baby, not by a long shot!
Great win, and I'm joining DTM on the Grundy band wagon, Go Pies!
In the end, it's not going to matter how many breaths you took, but how many moments took your breath away
Magnificent win last night. Full of character. Makes me very proud. I wans't feeling quite the same in the first 10 minutes I might add but kept the faith.
Best game I've seen Thomas play, well done son.
Congrats to Grundy playing on Haystacks Calhoun.
How good is it to have a realtively fit, full & firing squad?
Go pies.
Best game I've seen Thomas play, well done son.
Congrats to Grundy playing on Haystacks Calhoun.
How good is it to have a realtively fit, full & firing squad?
Go pies.
“I even went as far as becoming a Southern Baptist until I realised they didn’t keep ‘em under long enough” Kinky Friedman
- Dark Lord
Just when I thought my pride for the Black & White couldn't be topped last week, they come out last night and do this! Well done, Pies. Keep it coming!
"There's an old saying in Tennessee, I know it's in Texas, probably in Tennessee, that says, fool me once, shame on... shame on you. Fool me... you can't get fooled again." - Oscar Wilde
- Magpie Jack
Sure looks that way Jezza. I read before the game that this was the first time we had an unchanged team since round 2 in 2011. I reckon that's been killing us and apart from Daisy I think Bucks has pretty much settled on his best 22 now.Jezza wrote: We're starting to build momentum at the right time.
What we need is Stability, Consistency, and a bigger Trophy Cabinet.
Hot Pies !!!!
Bob Rose....the measuring stick of humanity
- think better
- Has liked: 2 times
- Been liked: 40 times
- carcarly_pieland
The morning after and the victory is still as sweet as when the siren sounded last night
Couldn't be happier or more proud of the boys last night, they played the brand of tough, fast moving footy that we have been begging them to play. Everybody played their part across four quarters, and you really can't ask for more!
It seems like a century ago after the GC game, how quickly things have changed! All of a sudden we appear to be the real threat come Sept, it just shows we do have the game plan and personnel to mix it with the best if the players put their hearts into it!
I'm also totally jumping on the Grundy bandwagon; this kid can seriously play! I echoed the sentiment of another poster here though; I hope we don't put too much workload on him like we did to Fraser; Grundy is still young and would need ruck assistance until he matures fully.
Two weeks ago I gave us little hope against the Dawks; but now Friday night couldnt come sooner! Go Pies!
Couldn't be happier or more proud of the boys last night, they played the brand of tough, fast moving footy that we have been begging them to play. Everybody played their part across four quarters, and you really can't ask for more!
It seems like a century ago after the GC game, how quickly things have changed! All of a sudden we appear to be the real threat come Sept, it just shows we do have the game plan and personnel to mix it with the best if the players put their hearts into it!
I'm also totally jumping on the Grundy bandwagon; this kid can seriously play! I echoed the sentiment of another poster here though; I hope we don't put too much workload on him like we did to Fraser; Grundy is still young and would need ruck assistance until he matures fully.
Two weeks ago I gave us little hope against the Dawks; but now Friday night couldnt come sooner! Go Pies!
Side By Side. Back To Back. COLLINGWOOD - 2010 PREMIERS and Beyond
- jack_spain
Yes I thought Keefe was good. And he will get better. Forwards don't often have to take on a 200+ cm defensive player.woftam wrote:Fact is Keeffe kept Tippett far quieter than Brown did. Only had the one goal kicked on him after Brown was subbed off in the 3rd quarter.
Tippett was suspended for 11 weeks on the grounds he and Adelaide tampered with the draft. I don't believe it for a minute. Have a good look at the Ring-in's body. My hunch is he was given 11 weeks off by the AFL so that ASADA couldn't detect the peptides in his body.
That's true however out midfield also got on top as well - when Keefe went on to Tippett.woftam wrote:Fact is Keeffe kept Tippett far quieter than Brown did. Only had the one goal kicked on him after Brown was subbed off in the 3rd quarter.
Keefe played well.
Our midfield was getting done intially & when we gave away stupid frees from the centre etc this allowed IMO the Swans to move forward & pass to Tippet such that no defender could hope to stop him.
(if only we could pass to Trav like that).
“I even went as far as becoming a Southern Baptist until I realised they didn’t keep ‘em under long enough” Kinky Friedman
- Been liked: 2 times
That's the big one. How many one on ones did Keeffe have to face compared to Brown?watt price tully wrote:That's true however out midfield also got on top as well - when Keefe went on to Tippett.woftam wrote:Fact is Keeffe kept Tippett far quieter than Brown did. Only had the one goal kicked on him after Brown was subbed off in the 3rd quarter.
Keefe played well.
Our midfield was getting done intially & when we gave away stupid frees from the centre etc this allowed IMO the Swans to move forward & pass to Tippet such that no defender could hope to stop him.
Mind you, I think a big part of the reason the midfield got on top was because Brown wasn't on the ground anymore. Bringing on Dwyer for Brown basically gave us an extra midfielder. It was a move that could have easily backfired (he did a similar sub in the Hawthorn game which turned out to be a disaster), but instead worked to perfection.
"We ain't gotta dream no more"
Keeffe did not win a one on one with Tippett. After Brown was subbed off our midfield dominated and we got better at getting a third man in. That was the difference.Duff Soviet Union wrote:That's the big one. How many one on ones did Keeffe have to face compared to Brown?watt price tully wrote:That's true however out midfield also got on top as well - when Keefe went on to Tippett.woftam wrote:Fact is Keeffe kept Tippett far quieter than Brown did. Only had the one goal kicked on him after Brown was subbed off in the 3rd quarter.
Keefe played well.
Mind you, I think a big part of the reason the midfield got on top was because Brown wasn't on the ground anymore. Bringing on Dwyer for Brown basically gave us an extra midfielder. It was a move that could have easily backfired (he did a similar sub in the Hawthorn game which turned out to be a disaster), but instead worked to perfection.
Anyone would have struggled to stop Tippett with the delivery he got in the first half and the tiggy touch frees paid by the umps. Brown wasn't disgraced, it's not easy playing on a bigger, stronger opponent, who's getting good delivery and a good run with the umpires.
Well done boys!