Things that make you go.......WTF?

Nick's current affairs & general discussion about anything that's not sport.
Voice your opinion on stories of interest to all at Nick's.

Sorry watt price tully I don't do math.
Morrigu

Post by Morrigu »

Morrigu wrote:No wonder the public health system is always short of funds - discovered today that medical specialists get $22,000 a year for Continuing Medical Education :shock:

That is just a ridiculous amount - especially given how many beds are disappearing and the ever increasing wait time for elective surgery! :twisted:
At the risk of tipping you over the edge, you also know that it's tax free?

(runs)
Well well what a surprise NOT :roll:

I'm sorry but that is an obscene amount of money EVERY YEAR! I understand the need for CPD - hell we all have to do it ( as we should) to maintain our registration and ensure contemporary practice that should result in the best possible care for patients .......

BUT

When I hear pollies telling us we all have to tighten our belts, that companies should "renegotiate" employment conditions to make themselves profitable al la SPC etc and then discover that a massive chunk of the public health budget is being paid to specialists who are already well paid to trip o/s for a " conference" well they can just go and get well and truly ?!?!??!!?$) :evil:

Guess "tightening the belt" only applies to some eh - especially those in left leaning unions :roll:
“The greatness of a nation and its moral progress can be judged by the way its animals are treated.”
Has liked: 132 times
Been liked: 168 times

Notice I'm not disagreeing with you, but it's a classic example of a group with power negotiating an employment benefit that's way over the odds for most people. It's an EBA entitlement. Do you blame the buggers who asked for it or the ones who agreed to it?
Morrigu

Post by Morrigu »

^ both!

And yet we can't find the money to pay ambos properly - a specialist ain't gonna do you much good if you don't get the appropriate quality care required before you get to the bloody hospital!

Its bollocks and an outrageous misuse of taxpayer funds :evil:
“The greatness of a nation and its moral progress can be judged by the way its animals are treated.”

So, I won't tell you how much they actually earn then. :wink:

Post by ronrat »

All this makes the alleged misuse of HSU funds on prostitutes and fine dining even more unpalatable.
Annoying opposition supporters since 1967.

Well this was an absolute WTF moment, finding out that:
In Victoria it is illegal to manufacture, sell, supply, purchase or otherwise obtain, possess or use an electronic cigarette or cartridge containing nicotine.
WTF?????

http://docs.health.vic.gov.au/docs/doc/ ... n-Victoria

Talk about not policing a law. Any cigarette shop sells them and my local IGA supermarket has the disposable ones for sale in the bottle shop, in clear view on the counter. :shock: :?
sixpoints

Post by sixpoints »

A 12 year old boy is in a coma after falling from his skateboard onto a roadway in Marrickville in Sydney and striking his head on the road. The helmetless boy was one of three holding onto the back of a moving car.
The car was being driven by the boys father.
Has liked: 342 times
Been liked: 105 times

sixpoints wrote:A 12 year old boy is in a coma after falling from his skateboard onto a roadway in Marrickville in Sydney and striking his head on the road. The helmetless boy was one of three holding onto the back of a moving car.
The car was being driven by the boys father.
well, I know that father is now under a huge amount of stress and remorse

but I still hope he gets the book thrown at him

kids will do dumb things (sometimes your lucky enough to be there to stop them, sometimes you just cant)

but if its possible, as in this case, its up to the parent to say this is a bad idea

whatever happens to the father (divorce would be my number 1 if I was the mum) that kid will live with the damage from this forever

-that's if he lives

you really do need a licence to be a parent. this dickhead fails
Has liked: 342 times
Been liked: 105 times

stui magpie wrote:Well this was an absolute WTF moment, finding out that:
In Victoria it is illegal to manufacture, sell, supply, purchase or otherwise obtain, possess or use an electronic cigarette or cartridge containing nicotine.
WTF?????

http://docs.health.vic.gov.au/docs/doc/ ... n-Victoria

Talk about not policing a law. Any cigarette shop sells them and my local IGA supermarket has the disposable ones for sale in the bottle shop, in clear view on the counter. :shock: :?
how bizarre is that! what there isn't enough tax on them so they don't want to save a few lives?

No I don't think there are any.
Morrigu

Post by Morrigu »

Working at a major crime scene :shock: :shock:

Morrigu wrote:Working at a major crime scene :shock: :shock:
You've been moved to your hospital carpark? :shock: :wink: :P
Morrigu

Post by Morrigu »

Morrigu wrote:Working at a major crime scene :shock: :shock:
You've been moved to your hospital carpark? :shock: :wink: :P
^ wasn't the car park was the main entrance foyer :shock:

OK, give. What happened?