Post Match v Cats...all comments here thanks!

Brenny

Post by Brenny »

Greening gold wrote:
Brenny wrote:
Dave The Man wrote:Postives:

- Grundy Did a Great Job by Himself. Great 2nd Efforts and Lovely Kick to Cloke. But Badly Needs Help. Wish we kept Ceglar
- Adams Hardness was Fantastic Too See, Does not take a backwards step. Clean with ball too.
- Defense did well when you look who was out
- White did a bit but not a 2nd Ruckman
- Effort was there
- Elliot BOG

Negatives:

- To Fumbly
- Skills not good enough
- Turned it over too much
- Cheating Scumps
- Swan does not look 100%
- Cloke did F**K All but he should of got some frees for Holding
- Adams getting suspended
To be honest, I didn't think Brodie Grundy was that crash hot tonight. Ok he got 24 HO's and that's always a positive sign and I'll hand him that, but I thought around the ground he was fairly average and was very sloppy below the knees.

The thumble in the last few mins in the centre circle killed us as we had a bit of a run. Ball ended up with a Geelong goal.

Other than that, a young bloke who's doing everything himself will be much better for the run and it's 1 extra game under his belt.
Grundy gets plenty of hitouts - I'd like to see him do a Clark Keating from time to time and belt the crap out of it towards our goal and have someone there waiting for it. Otherwise it gets too predictable - Selwood read his hitouts better in the centre consistently all night.
Funny you mention that, the mate I was with tonight said the same thing about belting the ball forward!

Clearly I was Dave, but then again I don't have Grundy on this pedestal that says he can't do no wrong.
Dave The Man

Post by Dave The Man »

I am not saying Grundy was BOG but he was Good Tonight and People are being very harsh on him.
Dave The Man

Post by Dave The Man »

Good Point about getting the Ball Forward but I don't see many other ruck man that do that
Brenny

Post by Brenny »

^^^

That's fair enough :) We're allowed to disagree :). How boring would the forums be if we always agreed.
Dave The Man

Post by Dave The Man »

Would have no Discussions :wink:
MattyD

Post by MattyD »

Black & White Blood wrote:Not all doom and gloom the positives, didn't get the rub of the decisions, fragile back line did well, Elliott, H & Fasolo were fantastic, had more than enough chances to win. Still got some very, very handy players to return. I didn't throw a can at the TV, teeth flew out heaps of times but didn't break, wife and kids still talking to me.
Concerns: Our forward structure & Cloke - our forward can't get the pill, theirs kicks plenty. Swan, Pendles & Sidebottom concern me at the present time, need our experienced players to stand up and perform on the night. Was staggered at the amount of times the Geelong players had so much space without a Collingwood player close.
Finally - whilst not happy at losing, not unhappy at what I saw, lots of positives.
PS. If someone/anyone inform me of the current rules of the AFL, as it seems that somewhere between my understanding & the umpires interpretation there is some discrepancy.
Totally agree regarding lots of positives. For such a side with so many young players to get that close to Geelong was brilliant.

But regarding "umpiring interpretation". Yeah, about that.

There are a few unwritten rules:

1. All rules can be interpreted any way an umpire likes, especially in games involving Collingwood.

2. No free kicks paid to Collingwood in Collingwood's forward line, no matter how much the full forward is being infringed.

3. When Collingwood players are about to kick the ball after a mark or free kick, the whistle must be blown instantly and the player told to play on. Players of the opposing team are given as much time as they like.

4. If Collingwood supporters give any flack over the fence for any umpiring decisions, Collingwood players will be punished by receiving no free kicks for at least 30 minutes.

Post by The Boy Who Cried Wolf »

collie dog wrote:
woftam wrote:We cannot complain about effort from the majority of the team tonight.
I totally agree with that. But in truth isn't "effort" the last refuge of teams without enough skill or a decent game plan?
NO, we had at least four topliners out tonight, marley Williams and reid alone would make a hell of a difference to this team. :?
Won't be seeing Marley again...
All Aboard!! Choo Choo!!!

Post by The Boy Who Cried Wolf »

Dave The Man wrote:Good Point about getting the Ball Forward but I don't see many other ruck man that do that
Actually now you mention this -

Just overall, and in general play... so many times our boys should just be belting it fwd, or kicking it off the ground when the balls propping around on the ground, and our players are under enormous pressure trying to pick it up. Saw this numerous times last night when we should be just knocking it fwd but instead, don't, try to pick it up, and either get swamped, or cough it up.
All Aboard!! Choo Choo!!!
Greening gold

Post by Greening gold »

The Boy Who Cried Wolf wrote:
Dave The Man wrote:Good Point about getting the Ball Forward but I don't see many other ruck man that do that
Actually now you mention this -

Just overall, and in general play... so many times our boys should just be belting it fwd, or kicking it off the ground when the balls propping around on the ground, and our players are under enormous pressure trying to pick it up. Saw this numerous times last night when we should be just knocking it fwd but instead, don't, try to pick it up, and either get swamped, or cough it up.
Hawthorn did it all the time against Fremantle on Friday night, and their teammates knew it was coming - it's all about numbers to the contest.
If you used to barrack for the 'Pies, you never barracked for the 'Pies.
Beast

Post by Beast »

Effort and desperation will only get you so far, Geelong were in control for 3 quarters and only poor kicking at goal by them gave us a sniff in the last.
We need to piss off that 5 handpasses for every meter gained game plan NAOW.
Grundy needs support, White can't provide it.
No idea what Swan's issues are but they better not have anything to do with him cracking the sads about Dids being delisted.....
Much better game from Sidey but there's something chronically wrong with his kicking, maybe the rumours of him having OP last year were true.
Cloke has been Lonergan's bitch since 1/2 time of 2011 GF, might need to see a shrink about that.
Blair and Adams should be replaced in the side by the likes of Kennnedy Thomas and Martyn. Adams needs to improve his skills quite significantly for me to change my view of him as a fairly average inside mid.
Fas had some woeful moments in defense but that was only his first time there, would like us to give him few more goes in that spot.
Not sure why we didn't try switching Keeffe onto Hawkins once it became blatantly obvious Hawkins had Frost's number.
Maxy was very good, Pendles tried his heart out, Bally showed glimpses but father time might be about to catch up with him. Strong man love for Billy's effort. Langdon battled on and wasn't disgraced. Caff did a fair job on SJ.
Harry was Harry. Young was decent but can and has to be better. Goldsack is living on borrowed time and is waiting for Oxley to phase him out of the side.

We're using way too much energy on desperation because we're lacking the skills and polish, few more games like this and we might burn out.
All in all this wasn't a bad effort but the scoreboard flattered us and we're playing a very taxing game.
Museman

Re: Yes

Post by Museman »

Hiss wrote:Yeah happy with that effort tonight. Geelong are and will always be a much better and stronger side than us so I don't mind losing to a team like that. Argh well that's the way it goes. It was a good loss by our lads because they tried hard and will improve. I am not worried about winning a flag anymore, it is about enjoying your footy. The team need to enjoy playing more instead of trying to be a top side which they are not. Happy with Bucks coaching. He did try and wasn't beaten by that much. Pies fans need to get behind the team and stop bagging them when the lose. Every player did well tonight because the tried hard. Comparing us with clubs like Hawthorn and Carlton who have won many flags since 1961 is unfair. We are not like them. We are the greatest team in the league. I am happy with the Geelong result because I don't expect to win. Go Pies.
Yes it's always nice to nearly win 8)

If we nearly win next week against the other nearly winners we'll be well on our way to nearly winning everything this year :shock:

Positives- everything
Negatives- nothing(we nearly won)

Fook me swinging. :oops:
John Wren

Post by John Wren »

Brenny wrote:
Dave The Man wrote:Postives:

- Grundy Did a Great Job by Himself. Great 2nd Efforts and Lovely Kick to Cloke. But Badly Needs Help. Wish we kept Ceglar
- Adams Hardness was Fantastic Too See, Does not take a backwards step. Clean with ball too.
- Defense did well when you look who was out
- White did a bit but not a 2nd Ruckman
- Effort was there
- Elliot BOG

Negatives:

- To Fumbly
- Skills not good enough
- Turned it over too much
- Cheating Scumps
- Swan does not look 100%
- Cloke did F**K All but he should of got some frees for Holding
- Adams getting suspended
To be honest, I didn't think Brodie Grundy was that crash hot tonight. Ok he got 24 HO's and that's always a positive sign and I'll hand him that, but I thought around the ground he was fairly average and was very sloppy below the knees.

The thumble in the last few mins in the centre circle killed us as we had a bit of a run. Ball ended up with a Geelong goal.

Other than that, a young bloke who's doing everything himself will be much better for the run and it's 1 extra game under his belt.
You must of been Watching a Different Game to me Then. Grundy needs help he just gets to tired at the End
brenny is spot on with his assessment of grundy's game. last night i lamented to my mate that he is no good below his knees.

we all know you like the lad but get your head out from his ar$e.
Purveyor of sanctimonious twaddle.

Post by Doc63 »

Well, always disappointing to lose, but you cant knock the effort. I thought our undermanned & inexperienced backline stood up very well considering.

The umpiring was some of the worst I've seen for a long time - just pathetic.

Elliott is going to be a gun, but he cant be the only one down there providing a target. If he'd been held, we would have been in trouble.

Delivery to Cloke was again poor, but he was well held anyway.

If Swan isn't injured, it might be time for some tough love, he's almost a liability at the moment. That kick after Elliott's goal..........

We are going to kill Grundy's career. The kid is 19 FFS. I'd love to know what the plan is for him this year, probably just play him into the ground.

White was much better this week, he will be handy for us I think.

Maxy is just about back to his best. Pendles was clearly hampered, but was still one of our best. Harry was great I thought. Sidey spoils his good work with some very poor disposal. Caff did a great job on SJ.

I thought Young was supposed to be an elite user of the ball by foot - he clearly isn't, or maybe we've dragged him down to our level.

Agree with some, that Bally is starting to look a bit slow, and his kicking has lost penetration. Still a tackling machine though.

Overall, it wast that bad. Reid, Brown & Sinclair would have made a huge difference.

I'm very positive about next week. I think if we take that effort & attitude into the game, we will comfortably account for Ninthmond.

Things are looking much better than they did a couple of week ago.
I hold a cup of wisdom, but there is nothing within.
Nuss

Post by Nuss »

Is anyone on here actually a supporter? Also, next time the coaches job comes up, most of you should apply because you are clearly wasted doing whatever it is you are doing now.
mgh3536

Post by mgh3536 »

Can we please have a forward coach?
Can we please have a skills coach?

This rinky dinky panic handball gets us in trouble

Get cloke leading up the ground so many times we just bang it forward to who?

Grundy is good but take some marks around the ground

We are an average side without the skills to excercise any game plan, then bud not sure what that game plan is as we are shit going forward