Food at the footy

This is a Collingwood Bulletin Board - use this forum for general, Pies-related topics. For other footy topics, use Nick's Other AFL forum, and for non-footy sporting topics please use Nick's Sports Bar. For non-sporting topics please use the Victoria Park Tavern.

junkboy75

Food at the footy

Post by junkboy75 »

Rowdy26

Post by Rowdy26 »

wow - sounds like you've eaten everywhere. You getting paid by The Good Food Guide or something? anyway i think i'll stick to my vegemite sandwhiches... cant afford any food at the footy - way overpriced for my limited budget, although if i ever get tempted for something warm I'll be sure to stay clear of those chicken burgers.
Kristin5

Post by Kristin5 »

I've had one of those chicken burgers (trying to eat healthy!) - I took one bite and started gagging (minds out of the gutter please!!!). It was bloody awful.

I'll have to stick to the pies, I think.

Post by AlfAndrews »

Hey, Junkboy

(sorry, but I couldn't resist)

WHO ATE ALL THE DONUTS
YOU FAT BASTARD
YOU ATE ALL THE DONUTS.

junkboy75

Post by junkboy75 »

Kristin5

Post by Kristin5 »

Sorry Junkboy, I don't like sushi (I'm a very fussy eater).

And as for souvlaki - one of the best would have to be from Zorba's, Cnr Bridge Road and Waltham Street in Richmond.

chips with... vinegar salt sauce salt vinegar mmmmmm and loads of it till it leaks through the cup and in that order mmmmmmmmmm
foxy

Post by foxy »

sorry, but for the best souvlakis of all time go to Lambs on Chapel. no one else even comes close.
junkboy75

Post by junkboy75 »

I've been to Lambs on Bourke...is it owned by the same people? ahhhhh, nothing like a souvlaki after a night on the piss...Image

back to the topic, as highlighted by my original post, the food at the footy is usually a rip off and isn't much chop. but it wasn't always like this. I remember beautiful, hot shoe string chips at Vic Park which tasted much better than the sterilised versions you get at the 'G or Colonic. also, there's always a sausage sizzle near the ground and you can't complain about a large sausage sanger piled high with onions, cheese, tomato sauce and mustard for about $2.

the old VFA also had pretty good value food. many pleasant sundays were spent at the beach road oval (I was a sandy fan before they became the melb reserves) downing a few tinnies on Can Hill, and munching into some Pattie's Pies, which certainly didn't cost $3.20. nice pasties and hot dogs as well. those were the days (hehe..I sound so old but I'm only 26).

"everyone's a winner hot pies"

[This message has been edited by junkboy75 (edited 18 June 2001).]
magpie jeff

Post by magpie jeff »

I like food...i like food...i like food...i like food...

SO does dan..(PIESPREMIERS)

HEY DAN GET OUTA THAT BLOODY CUPBOARD AND GET ON NICKS WILL YA

see he is scoffin that big gut of his !!!!

THE TRANNIES FROM CRANNY....LOL...LOL
BIG ANNOUNCEMENT TO BE MADE BY DAN SOON.

WE MARCH WITH PRIDE,WE MARCH WITH LOVE,WHEN IT COMES TO OUR COLLINGWOOD WE FOREVER MARCH ! we will never forget our great number #42...GO YOU BLOODY PIES yeaaah LETS KICK ASS.lets kill the bloody bastards !!
junkboy75

Post by junkboy75 »

you can get it walking, you can get it talking, you can get it cheering at the footy....matter of fact I've got it now. a hard earned hunger needs a big hot souvie. And the best hot souvie is Vic...Vic souvie.

"everyone's a winner hot pies"
magpie jeff

Post by magpie jeff »

There is a joint in the city on russel st that makes souvlakis only has any one else been there ?

Let me tell ya it is sensational you can smell the meat cookin well before you get there and god this is makin me hungry you can sit in there and eat and you can ask for double meat and let me tell ya the meat is lush and crisp and fair dinkum when you eat it you purr...LOL thats how lush it is and the tomato and onions im really struggling tryin to finish this entry...think i might sneak up to the shops.

WE MARCH WITH PRIDE,WE MARCH WITH LOVE,WHEN IT COMES TO OUR COLLINGWOOD WE FOREVER MARCH ! we will never forget our great number #42...GO YOU BLOODY PIES yeaaah LETS KICK ASS.lets kill the bloody bastards !!
Elvira

Post by Elvira »

People, people, you havent eaten a REAL SOUVLAKI till youve tried one at HIPPO'S SOUVLAKI in Springvale. TRUST ME, Elvira the Greek know's these things...

ELVIRA.....................
Millane42

Post by Millane42 »

Footy food is a dead set rip-off:

COLD CHIPS $3.80
BURNT PIES $3.20
FLAT COKE $3.80
SLIMY NOODLES $10
TASTELESS HOT DOGS $4

Bring your own food to the footy, nothing beats a good homemade sandwich and boycott the food outlet nazis who charge exorbitant prices!!!!
magpie jeff

Post by magpie jeff »

LOL...LOL...OUTLET NAZI'S just like the seinfeld episode 'the soup kitchen'.hahahahahahahahahaaa