No but you do have crowd noise = atmosphere.Doc63 wrote:You don't have commentary when your at the game, so why listen to it when you watch on TV?Museman wrote:Dunstall being the worst, this fat flog....faaaark me, his carry on over the White incident had all the elements of one eyed bias even that little wanker Hudson had a wry grin, King sounded like he couldn't believe what he was hearing....Magpietothemax wrote:Just watching the replay, and I am appalled by the biased nature of the call, from Dunstall and Brown. Should not be allowed that commentators so blatantly show their prejudice against one of the teams playing. The constant reminders of how many GC players were out was monotonous and obviously designed to detract any significance from the likely Pies' victory. I don't recall any such commentary when we played with a decimated team late last year.
Their claims that the Pies were receiving the "rub of the green" after Jesse White was struck high and received a free were another example of this. Pathetic.
As thomsoc stated all commentary team members failed to mention Cloke being collected high or pushed in the back in the same incident they were babbling on about...what are we blind?
The majority of ex-footballers shouldn't be allowed to commentate because they treat the viewer with distain.
The mute button is your friend.
Post match. Pies stomp on Suns - All comments please.
- jackcass
Well said, get our face palm moments down, stay in the game longer, and we'll be ready to start competing with the top teams.RudeBoy wrote:It's difficult to gauge our performance because we were playing a decimated suns team, bereft of quality players. Under the circumstances, we were expected to win easily, and that we did. you can't ask for much more than that.
The 10 best things to emerge from the game for me were:
1. Witts and Grundy worked well together.
2. White played his best game for us, being closer to goal.
3. Varcoe played his best game for us.
4. Elliott found form.
5. Fasolo showed he should be part of our best forward set up.
6. Pendles use as a forward, gives us much more potency and unpredictability.
7. Williams played his best game.
8. Goldsack was at his best. Keep him as a defender.
9. Given Cloke's inability to kick bags of goals, his use up the ground was productive and demonstrates we're a better side when we are not Cloke focused.
10. Sidey is an out and out star. To play so well after missing 6 games shows he is all class.
Buckley is a master coach who is carefully building a game-plan and team for the future. The players are clearly embracing his vision, and regardless of wins/losses this year, we are clearly building a very strong and powerful team.
- Piethagoras' Theorem
- Has liked: 1 time
- Been liked: 17 times
I thought the Suns 'came to play' and their tackling pressure was pretty intense at times so a very solid win in the end. I'm liking the edge of the seat, quick ball movement, it's obvious the boys haven't mastered it yet but it looks beautiful when it comes off.
Formally frankiboy and FrankieGoesToCollingwood.
- Culprit
- Has liked: 57 times
- Been liked: 68 times
We played an average team who are bottom four and we won accordingly. We face an undermanned North Melbourne next week and need to win. My view is back to back wins to make up for losing to the Cats. We are simply beating the teams that we should beat. Goldsack was great and Fasalo's work rate and team play rate a mention. Jane White played well, I hope she backs it up next week.
Buckley out coached Rocket in he avoided going to Cloke which had Eade rattled for most of the game and obviously he set his game plan around us going to Cloke. Eade no plan B as he didn't have the players.
- Golden Gordon
Oh sorry for giving our opinion. Who are you to set yourself upon the high horse and judge everybody else?John Wren wrote:yes, you are whingers. it's not like it's a surprise to anyone the standard of commentary is poor.Golden Gordon wrote:Glad you agree. Some of us were accused of being whingers during the game for pointing this out. Australian footy callers are shocking. Don't even get me started on Hamish Mclachlan who only has the gig at Seven because he is the brother of the big honcho.Magpietothemax wrote:Just watching the replay, and I am appalled by the biased nature of the call, from Dunstall and Brown. Should not be allowed that commentators so blatantly show their prejudice against one of the teams playing. The constant reminders of how many GC players were out was monotonous and obviously designed to detract any significance from the likely Pies' victory. I don't recall any such commentary when we played with a decimated team late last year.
Their claims that the Pies were receiving the "rub of the green" after Jesse White was struck high and received a free were another example of this. Pathetic.
You can keep your Locketts. There was only ONE Gordon Coventry!
- Golden Gordon
- John Wren
just giving my opinion. you're a sook.Golden Gordon wrote:Oh sorry for giving our opinion. Who are you to set yourself upon the high horse and judge everybody else?John Wren wrote:yes, you are whingers. it's not like it's a surprise to anyone the standard of commentary is poor.Golden Gordon wrote: Glad you agree. Some of us were accused of being whingers during the game for pointing this out. Australian footy callers are shocking. Don't even get me started on Hamish Mclachlan who only has the gig at Seven because he is the brother of the big honcho.
Purveyor of sanctimonious twaddle.
- Has liked: 6 times
- Been liked: 30 times
The opposition was poor will take the win
Players got more experience and are better at the game plan
Lots of fumbling and we are nowhere near top 4 level yet.
White Varcoe and Fasolo had good games
Happy to take the points but the Suns are not AFL quality at the moment
Players got more experience and are better at the game plan
Lots of fumbling and we are nowhere near top 4 level yet.
White Varcoe and Fasolo had good games
Happy to take the points but the Suns are not AFL quality at the moment
Carlscum 120 years being cheating scum
- Magpietothemax
- Has liked: 26 times
- Been liked: 31 times
I agree with Golden Gordon Coventry.... Sorry John Wren...I don't think it is "sooking" to expect and demand a fair call of a football game... and to express one's disgust when this reasonable expectation is not fulfilled. I think that the attitude that one can only expect substandard commentary, and therefore condemn any criticism of it, is in itself one reason why the substandard commentary persists.
- Neil Appleby
Couldn't agree more.Magpietothemax wrote:Just watching the replay, and I am appalled by the biased nature of the call, from Dunstall and Brown. Should not be allowed that commentators so blatantly show their prejudice against one of the teams playing. The constant reminders of how many GC players were out was monotonous and obviously designed to detract any significance from the likely Pies' victory. I don't recall any such commentary when we played with a decimated team late last year.
It was pitiful to have to sit through it particularly from Jason Dunstall who criticised every free paid our way and found every excuse in the book for the Suns. When Brown commented that Oxley's kicking had improved from what it had been I almost threw my remote through the screen. The Fox commentators are below standard and unfortunately Anthony Hudson fails to intervene to either stop the prattle, or to provide an alternate point of view.
I'll never criticise BT and Darce again.
After the epic draw comes the decisive knockout!
Collingwood rules the world again and Mick Malthouse fulfils his destiny with the twenty ten premiership and can you hear the people sing!
- Neil Appleby
Sorry. DP.
Last edited by Neil Appleby on Mon May 25, 2015 9:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
- Neil Appleby
Zzzz, OK we get it, you think White is a big girl. Can we please now raise the tone above this infantile prattle? It really is very boring. The guy gave us his best game. Give him some bloody credit.Culprit wrote:We played an average team who are bottom four and we won accordingly. We face an undermanned North Melbourne next week and need to win. My view is back to back wins to make up for losing to the Cats. We are simply beating the teams that we should beat. Goldsack was great and Fasalo's work rate and team play rate a mention. Jane White played well, I hope she backs it up next week.
- Neil Appleby