Goodes: Why am I Booed?

Use this forum for non-Collingwood related footy topics that don't relate specifically to any of the other forums. For non-footy sporting topics please use Nick's Sports Bar and for non-sporting topics please use the Victoria Park Tavern.

Been liked: 7 times

Goodes: Why am I Booed?

Post by Woods Of Ypres »

"SYDNEY Swans great Adam Goodes says he is "incredibly disappointed" he gets booed in Melbourne and has no idea why it happens"

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2015-05-26/g ... -melbourne

Can you believe this flog? His head is so far up his own backside he can't work out why he gets booed

Mr Goodes, this has nothing to do with racism. Footy fans are sick of your whinging to umpires and staging for frees. You also have long history of dropping your knees into the kidneys of opponents at stoppages. A class act you are.

I expect all fellow magpie fans to boo this tosser without mercy when we play them next. What a jerk!
Darkstranger

Post by Darkstranger »

He gets booed because he is a acting, cheat dirty playing flog....I think I've covered it?
There is Collingwood and then the rest.
Hiss

Hmmm

Post by Hiss »

So you think this fine Australian of the Year is a flog? What right does a peasant like you have to judge someone as respected as Adam Goodes. Racism is alive and well on here.
I love this club and I hold anyone in contempt who does not think it is worth fighting for.
John Wren

Re: Hmmm

Post by John Wren »

Hiss wrote:So you think this fine Australian of the Year is a flog? What right does a peasant like you have to judge someone as respected as Adam Goodes. Racism is alive and well on here.
you are a flog. that's not based on your race. it's just, you are one.
Purveyor of sanctimonious twaddle.
Cuthbert Collingwood

Post by Cuthbert Collingwood »

I've never known why Goodes is booed. Please enlighten me with actual reasons as opposed to sweeping generalisations.
McRae for Governor-General!
Dave The Man

Post by Dave The Man »

I posted about this on the AFL Board.
Dave The Man

Post by Dave The Man »

Hiss wrote:So you think this fine Australian of the Year is a flog? What right does a peasant like you have to judge someone as respected as Adam Goodes. Racism is alive and well on here.
You Just Figured that out :shock:

Post by thompsoc »

Why does any player get booed?
It could be a multitude of reasons.
It may be because he is not playing
for their team.
I don't believe it is racism based.
I hope it isn't racist.
I suspect it maybe because he
seen as a bit of a sook.
we don't eat our own at collingwood we just allow them to foul our nest.
John Wren

Post by John Wren »

You Just Figured that out :shock:
lol dave.

players get booed for any number of reasons.

judd gets booed probably for his chicken wing antics.
watson got booed cos of the drug saga.
daisy gets booed for playing for the flogs.
Purveyor of sanctimonious twaddle.
Golden Gordon

Post by Golden Gordon »

Hawthorn fans are the worst at booing Goodes. Patrick Smith said this morning it was because he is indigenous. Rubbish. There are lots of indigenous players who get cheers every week. He gets booed because he stages, but people also will not forgive him for picking on a little girl to make his over-the-top point about racism in footy.
You can keep your Locketts. There was only ONE Gordon Coventry!
Member 7167

Post by Member 7167 »

I personally do not think that that the principle reason being booed is raciest.

Goodes is very judgemental and is very critical of the behaviour of others. Some of this criticism is well founded. At the same time his behaviour on field does not reflect the lofty standards he demands of others. The girl he ostracised was very poor form. His behaviour on field is questionable especially when he defied the umpires to suspend him by contravening the rules and continually playing for and demanding free kicks in his favour.

He has been a fantastic player but being favoured by the umpires does not go well with many. I do not think him deserving of 2 Brownlow medals.
Now Retired - Every Day Is A Saturday
leonmagic

Post by leonmagic »

Same reason Nick Riewoldt, Judd, Goddard, L.Thomas, Franklin, B.Hall, Lewis, Didak, Liberatore, Richo and Hird are/were boo'd.

Wait, most of them are white...
Dave The Man

Post by Dave The Man »

Golden Gordon wrote:Hawthorn fans are the worst at booing Goodes. Patrick Smith said this morning it was because he is indigenous. Rubbish. There are lots of indigenous players who get cheers every week. He gets booed because he stages, but people also will not forgive him for picking on a little girl to make his over-the-top point about racism in footy.
and Walking around like he owns the Place and we all should love him :roll:

Post by yin-YANG »

Goodes is booed I believe because he is aboriginal - successful - outspoken - pointed out a racist remark and was given australian of the year honours. He unearthed some unsavoury remarks from Eddie and seems to bring out the worst in some.

I don't think he is that dirty a player or as much of a diver or sook as many others who are not booed. He is a good player - a very good player and he is a leader.

Could be a little bit of tall poppy syndrome mixed with some overt or subconscious racism imo.
Love us or Hate us... we are Collingwood - you can't ignore the Mighty Magpies!!!
mattys123

Post by mattys123 »

yin-YANG wrote:Goodes is booed I believe because he is aboriginal - successful - outspoken - pointed out a racist remark and was given australian of the year honours. He unearthed some unsavoury remarks from Eddie and seems to bring out the worst in some.

I don't think he is that dirty a player or as much of a diver or sook as many others who are not booed. He is a good player - a very good player and he is a leader.

Could be a little bit of tall poppy syndrome mixed with some overt or subconscious racism imo.
That just about sums it up, and I don't think for one second it's Goodes' fault.

He is booed more for the fact that he was made Australian of the year based on pointing out a comment a 13 year old girl made.

Rather silly when you think about it, if that's the qualification for maybe our greatest annual honour. That wasn't his fault though, someone else nominated him, and a panel of someone elses chose him.

I don't boo him, but I don't like him, and that's got nothing to do with racism or anything else, he is arrogant, that's my belief, and he is a very sore loser. Don't like that at all.