Did someone tell him he isn't aboriginal?taff wa wrote:Lumumba has done similar thing today, commentators are saying in support of Goodes.
Goodes: Why am I Booed?
- think positive
- Has liked: 342 times
- Been liked: 105 times
- Deja Vu
- stui magpie
- Has liked: 132 times
- Been liked: 166 times
- Dave The Man
- Has liked: 2 times
- Been liked: 21 times
Great footballer. I remember he rucked against us in 2003 and he was just so fast and good on the ground that the 'Pies couldn't get the ball off him, not even Nathan Buckley. Fast forward 12 years and every one of the stars we cheered on in that game is long gone from the playing field - but he is still a brilliant footballer. Would have loved him to have played for Collingwood.
Good article by Jake Niall:FrankieGoesToCollingwood wrote:Some incredibly defensive posts about racism yet Adam never mentioned it once while questioning why he was booed? The article does conveniently flow on to the subject of racism in the past and bingo, the bone headed rednecks instantly draw the link. Inciteful media 1, gullible public 0.
In answer to Adam's question, well, yeah, that little celebratory dance you did last night might have something to do with it.
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/a ... hd5c3.html
“I even went as far as becoming a Southern Baptist until I realised they didn’t keep ‘em under long enough” Kinky Friedman
- John Wren
- John Wren
the footy industry is very insular. it sees and hears alot which the average joe is not privy to. they view things through a different prism which contributes to a disconnect between attitudes and opinions.Wokko wrote:Throbbo in the Hun has his panties all in a bunch over this. I really don't understand how hard 'Goodes is a flog' is for these idiots to get. If you or the big boss want to masturbate to highlights of Goode's sliding into feet, staging or having a sook then knock yourselves out. I never heard boos for Neon. Even flog of the year Harry O didn't get booed despite talking about whatever came into his head in the thinking chair.
if the war dance goodes did was a challenge of some type i would have liked to have seen it done at the start of the game. there was no context to what it was or why it was done at the time of its execution. to the unititiated it could have looked like someone inciting the crowd. if it was explained beforehand people might have been more accepting of it.
i heard goodes reference the maori haka, how it is a war challenge and his movements were no different. this is correct but i have never seen the haka done during a game like goodes' effort. usually it's either before or after a game.
on the maoris, they have been better integrated into society than our indigenous folk. it's been pretty much mandated and legislated. we're a fair way behind on that front. te reo, their language, is one of the three official nz languages. i wouldn't even know if we had an official idigenous language.
Purveyor of sanctimonious twaddle.
- Piethagoras' Theorem
- Has liked: 1 time
- Been liked: 17 times
Yep and I tend to agree, somewhat. Trying to recollect what my thoughts on Goodes were before the "13 yo girl incident" and I'm pretty sure he came across as a bit of a prancy, show off which would explain some of the booing. Being outspoken does polarise people's view of a person, same as it does for Harry, same as it did for Aker. There might be some racist element as already evidenced but public figures with strong opinions tend to get lumped in the "look at moi" category which doesn't sit well with your average joe blow. I don't think race is the underlying factor.watt price tully wrote:Good article by Jake Niall:FrankieGoesToCollingwood wrote:Some incredibly defensive posts about racism yet Adam never mentioned it once while questioning why he was booed? The article does conveniently flow on to the subject of racism in the past and bingo, the bone headed rednecks instantly draw the link. Inciteful media 1, gullible public 0.
In answer to Adam's question, well, yeah, that little celebratory dance you did last night might have something to do with it.
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/a ... hd5c3.html
Formally frankiboy and FrankieGoesToCollingwood.
- King Monkey
- Location: On a journey to seek the scriptures of enlightenment....
Agree with Frankie. Well put.
Although I don't agree with the thinking behind the way Niall's article singles out only black people as "challengers", and "bargainers."
You could make a similar case in any walk of life, whether it be racial and relevant to a country, a sporting club relevant to a half a suburb, people trying to move up the ladder at work. It's not a race thing, it's a life thing.
In regards to comparisons to the Haka - all hell would break loose if an All Black ran to the opposition section of the crowd and performed the last 10 seconds of it after scoring.
Food for thought - could we see a version of an Aboriginal war dance performed before each game in Indigenous round next year??
I think it'd add to the atmosphere and build up whilst being relevant to the celebrations.
Although I don't agree with the thinking behind the way Niall's article singles out only black people as "challengers", and "bargainers."
You could make a similar case in any walk of life, whether it be racial and relevant to a country, a sporting club relevant to a half a suburb, people trying to move up the ladder at work. It's not a race thing, it's a life thing.
In regards to comparisons to the Haka - all hell would break loose if an All Black ran to the opposition section of the crowd and performed the last 10 seconds of it after scoring.
Food for thought - could we see a version of an Aboriginal war dance performed before each game in Indigenous round next year??
I think it'd add to the atmosphere and build up whilst being relevant to the celebrations.
"I am a great sage, equal of heaven.
Grow stick, grow.
Fly cloud, fly.
Oh you are a dee-mon, I love to fiiight."
Grow stick, grow.
Fly cloud, fly.
Oh you are a dee-mon, I love to fiiight."