Post match. Pies rumble Roos - All comments please.

neil
Has liked: 6 times
Been liked: 30 times

Post by neil »

First half awful second half great but we were lucky North missed a number of goals

Best thing is the second half means the players self belief and confidence will go sky high which is very important for a young side
Carlscum 120 years being cheating scum
dalyc
Been liked: 12 times

Post by dalyc »

I love me pies!!!
Four legged animals good, two legged animals better
Dangles

Post by Dangles »

Great, great win. Apparently that third quarter was our best quarter of football since 2002. The stars shone when it counted. But I really loved some of the one percenters like:Varcoe's three tackles in a row along the boundary line, Marley's bone crunching hip and shoulder and Witts' deft tap down to advantage to a team mate streaming forward in the last quarter that resulted in a goal.
John Wren

Post by John Wren »

neil wrote:First half awful second half great but we were lucky North missed a number of goals

Best thing is the second half means the players self belief and confidence will go sky high which is very important for a young side
we simply had no luck in the first half whether it was a line ball decision, the ball bouncing the other way or just a fumble here or there. we just couldn't get our hands on the ball but when we did it changed the complexion of the game. it also helped that north couldn't kick straight and kept us in the game.

for all the faults of the first half, that third quarter was simply stunning. i was nearly in tears. it gives the guys a reference point for what they are capable of.
Purveyor of sanctimonious twaddle.

Post by Raw Hammer »

About time poor kicking was from the opposition and not us. Feels good. So that's what opposition fans feel like when we miss and don't capitalise. The fact that Cloke barely had a set shot probably helped our accuracy.
Est. 2002
Dangles

Post by Dangles »

neil wrote:First half awful second half great but we were lucky North missed a number of goals

we simply had no luck in the first half whether it was a line ball decision, the ball bouncing the other way or just a fumble here or there. we just couldn't get our hands on the ball but when we did it changed the complexion of the game. it also helped that north couldn't kick straight and kept us in the game.

for all the faults of the first half, that third quarter was simply stunning. i was nearly in tears. it gives the guys a reference point for what they are capable of.
Yep. Wins like that remind me of why I follow the footy and why I love the Pies!
stoliboy
Been liked: 57 times

Post by stoliboy »

Last 41 seconds Collingwood vs North Melbourne round 9 2015
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ydBG5aYF79w

Includes Jamie's goal after the siren :-D
Sydney Collingwood Supporters Club
http://sydneymagpies.magpies.net/
Has liked: 229 times
Been liked: 94 times

Some foolish ultra pessimistic poster, cant recall whom, said on the game day thread at half time, somethng like "" our list needs a complete cleanout, and it may take 12 years to get good again, ", beyond doubt, after that magnificent second half, the most ridiculous half assed post of the year, bar none !!
Hope they are now wiping heaps of egg off their faces, as that was a win for the ages, one of the greatest i have ever seen from a Pies team, and a very positive step forward for this very young team. !!

swoop42
Been liked: 8 times

Post by swoop42 »

I liked Fasolo's game.

Played with some energy and worked hard even in the first half I thought.

Might be some hope for him if he can keep that attitude up.
He's mad. He's bad. He's MaynHARD!
Monco Matt

Post by Monco Matt »

Piesnchess wrote:Some foolish ultra pessimistic poster, cant recall whom, said on the game day thread at half time, somethng like "" our list needs a complete cleanout, and it may take 12 years to get good again, ", beyond doubt, after that magnificent second half, the most ridiculous half assed post of the year, bar none !!
Hope they are now wiping heaps of egg off their faces, as that was a win for the ages, one of the greatest i have ever seen from a Pies team, and a very positive step forward for this very young team. !!
I think that was me! lol...I may have gone a bit hard there, but emotions were high and our performance at the time was again putrid. *Face Palm*
RED "BABY" CAVANAUGH: Didn't hear what the bet was.

Post by thompsoc »

think positive wrote:Oh man, 1/2 way home might have to watch that second half again

How AWESOME was that?

The atmosphere was sooooo good

And I would just like to add

To all the doubters

Suck a lemon

Because BLAIR ROCKED IT TONIGHT!

OH YEAH!
First half lousy.
Got out by himself and chopped off a few direct kicks to our forwards
in the second half. He has to get a kick somehow.
Never got front and centre all day and he had no direct influence on the game.
But yeah, keep dreaming that he makes a difference.
See Crisps game tonight to see what is needed.
we don't eat our own at collingwood we just allow them to foul our nest.
mattys123

Post by mattys123 »

Great win in the end, but man that first half was so frustrating.

The day we put 4 quarters together we will look like a bloody good side, and probably beat a good side.

6-3 though, would have taken that at seasons start if you told me Sidey, Reid and Greenwood would have next to no input.

GO PIES. :D
Been liked: 148 times

I can't remember a come from behind win as good as that. Brilliant. That's the sort of win that creates a winning and fighting culture. It will make us a much better team from now on.

Take a bow Bucks, you have this young team playing selfless team oriented hard football, and that's all anyone can ask for.

Btw, we are a much, much better team when our forward line is not built around Cloke.
John Wren

Post by John Wren »

Monco Matt wrote:
Piesnchess wrote:Some foolish ultra pessimistic poster, cant recall whom, said on the game day thread at half time, somethng like "" our list needs a complete cleanout, and it may take 12 years to get good again, ", beyond doubt, after that magnificent second half, the most ridiculous half assed post of the year, bar none !!
I think that was me! lol...I may have gone a bit hard there, but emotions were high and our performance at the time was again putrid. *Face Palm*
a worthy winner of nick's gibberish of the week?
most things said in the game day thread should be taken with a grain of salt.
Purveyor of sanctimonious twaddle.

Post by WarrenerraW »

I think some comments need to be taken in context and many negative ones were a direct response to the way were playing in the first half. Some of us can and do go over the top.

I had no problem voicing my dissent but was happy to give credit where it was due as well. A few players could use a kick up the backside but this team did show great spirit and endeavour when it counted - in the premiership quarter, and must be commended for that.