Thanks but no thanks

This is a Collingwood Bulletin Board - use this forum for general, Pies-related topics. For other footy topics, use Nick's Other AFL forum, and for non-footy sporting topics please use Nick's Sports Bar. For non-sporting topics please use the Victoria Park Tavern.

magpie jeff

Thanks but no thanks

Post by magpie jeff »

The singing of the song at the toss of the coin didn't work but to those who helped a big thanks ok.

COBOOD
SHAUN
MAGS
SCOTTY

To those who refused to help us on the day when we asked you to a big extra thanks ok.

To those who couldnt give a shit and even had the cheek to ask 'what are we doing it for' thank you for being so understanding.

To mike a big thank you mate...your fliers looked terrific
and we appreciate the work you put in buddy.

We did it for collingwood...

And if the situation ever arises...We would do it all again.

We all owe this club so much for being what it is...'COLLINGWOOD'
and in a very very small way some of us were excited today that we tried to give something back.

We are hurting like hell that it didnt work.

CRA- COLLINGWOOD REPUBLICAN ARMY..'to dance with the enemy with bayonet is the greatest dance of all'we will never forget our great number #42...GO YOU BLOODY PIES yeaaah LETS KICK ASS.lets kill the bloody bastards !!

Post by AlfAndrews »

It was always going to be a logistical nightmare to get something like that happening.

We sang the song in the Cheer Squad as the coin was being tossed and I thought I heard a few people upstairs singing it. But over-all it went pretty much as I thought it would.

The fact is, the vast majority of footy fans, whoever they barrack for, are too imprisoned by their own insecurities to do anything as outlandish as sing at the football. It's just the way Australians are. What else would you expect from a country that voted John Howard into power?

What a sad society we live in.

What a boring bunch of people we Australians are.

What a pathetic culture Australian Rules Football has.

Don't worry, Joffa. You gave it your best shot. But I reckon people like us are pissing into the wind.

London Dave

Post by London Dave »

Well, all u can do is give it a go!

Didnt hear it on the radio, ads I think.

Did hear the cheersquad was nicking the Lions practice footballs after they had shots at goal!
I@n S

Post by I@n S »

Where I was sitting I tryed to get it going in my section of the ponsford(however you spell it) stand. The fact of the matter is that no one was wanting to sing. Maybe its cause Australians are boring like Alf said, or people just wanted to see the game. Who knows. I wanted so much for people to sing and was expecting it. But now I look back and think: I'm stupid for expecting it!
Bye finals again for another year if we keep playing like that horse !@$% again
Millane42

Post by Millane42 »

MargOZ

Post by MargOZ »

I thought a lot of people around me gave it a try but I felt like the clapping drowned all the singing out and made the song way too fast. I think it would have sounded better if there had been no clapping and everyone had just sang the song as loud as they could, and even fairly slowly to make it sound more emotional! I think if there had been a bigger crowd and a more rivalry atmosphere it would have made a difference too.

But it was a fantastic idea and well done to everyone who contributed. Next time we'll blow the roof off the MCG - (if there was one!!!).

Seth

Post by Seth »

Joffa I was on the 2nd level directly above and the song was quite loud to start but as Marg says the clapping went way too fast seemed to spoil it very quickly. Well we tried.

Collingwood is Coming!!
Kristin5

Post by Kristin5 »

Yeah, my section (GS Stand, 2nd/3rd tier P11) was singing but it was all out of time - I think we were much too fast. I was so excited too, cos when I was handing out the fliers, everyone seemed really interested in what we were trying to do! Oh well, maybe we'd have a better chance at Colonial where everyone seems a bit closer (less spread out).
Fab4 24-10-26-16

Post by Fab4 24-10-26-16 »

Well done to all the organisers. It actually didn't sound too bad from where I was, but it didn't sound too good either.

I handed some out to bays N8-12, I even wrote on the top in green highlighter "please read and pass on". They all stayed with the first person I handed it to for a good 10 min! Eventually they got passed on to a few more people. Any way no one sang until bay N7? started and eventually we got a few more.

It doesn't surprise me though. As I said before no one cheers in those sections at all during the game unless we are on a role. Eventually managed to get "the bloke" in N10 to start a few chants, but the instant we fall behind everyone shut up again. They are more interested in punch ups with their fellow Pies fans than cheering . We have already had two in our section this year and we have only had 3 home games there so far.

PS: to the guy in the cheer squad at the West Coast game wearing the gold beret (last year N11 Row G at the MCG) - I thought you were dead to have missed so many games, but I see you moved on to greener pastures. Well done!!

Awsum4sum 24-10-26-16
Mike
Has liked: 89 times
Been liked: 26 times

Post by Mike »

It was always a long shot, but if it had come off it would have been the start of a new Magpie tradition and was always worth the effort.

I thought that you would have learned by now Joffa that the effort is always made by a few. The few will continue to make that effort and will probably continue to be disappointed, but you won't be able to stop because its a part of you. Every now and then you're going to have a success that makes all the failures worthwhile.

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><HR>Malthouse admitted he drew inspiration from the famous Kevin Sheedy jacket waving incident after the Bombers beat West Coast by two points in their 1993 Round 16 clash.

He said he was amazed that eight years later, back in Perth, people still took their jackets and waved them around their heads.

'It made something for football. I don't think there was anything personal in it, it was just fantastic really, as far as I was concerned, for football,' Malthouse said.

'Without asking for scarves to be waved I would think there could be some sort of demonstration from the Collingwood supporters.'<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Kevin Sheedy waved his jacket in front of a Bomber crowd still hot from victory, no warming up necessary. It was one of those heat of the moment things that happens - and sticks.

We did what we could and a few of you did more than should be reasonably expected. If you look at the quote, Mick threw that out without any suggestion of what he thought could be done. The Club didn't follow it up, but we took it and in two days, with our limited resources, tried to make something of it and I reckon made a pretty fair job of it.

It wasn't a failure, but really just one step on the path to success.

Congratulations and well done to those that put in an extraordinary effort to make something extraordinary happen for their club.
foxy

Post by foxy »

well, i sang as best i could before the game. i just reckon yesterday was weird. apart from the second quarter, the cheer squad just couldn't get going because of the way we were playing. how sad it was to see molloy telling us all to stand up during the 2nd quarter, when we should've been standing up anyway, cheering like mad. it didn't help that i wasn't sitting close to the fence; i had to sit back in row J apparently, and the 'eat em alive' guy was sitting behind me. we just couldn't get a big, fat sound happening all day. it's kinda why i prefer it at colonial; we all seem much closer together and cohesive.
next week i really wanna make some noise.
Spook

Post by Spook »

Well guys, I was up in the Southern Stand and I heard you start to sing the song (and it sounded pretty good) and joined in, however, as I looked around, most people had a WTF look on their faces.

I was probably expecting, and seeing as Ed made a point of it on the Footy show, that an announcement or the like would have been slapped up on the 'Big Screens' to let people know what was going on maybe something (like Ed proclaiming 'Ladies and Gentlemen, please be upstanding for the COLLINGWOOD national anthem!') that could have revved the crowd up.

Rome wasn't built in a day fella's, don't be despondant that it didn't succeed first time out. I think it's a hell of an idea and worth persisting with. I honestly could see this working with time.

And I'll guarentee I'll be revving up the people around me to join in!

Post by Broadie »

Well, I left disheartened in more ways than one.

The cheer squad could be heard over in the Northern, but I simply drew some bemused stares for standing up to belt out the song at the coin toss. When I got to the ground there was no-one handing anything out(In reference to Cobood's post in another forum, I couldn't leave my sick daughter in time to come help, so made no promises on that front).

As Mike said, tradition has to start somewhere, why not attempt to continue this one?

Elvira

Post by Elvira »

Well, I too handed out around 200 copies of the fliers with the help of MAGPIE BOY and we both tried to fire up our section on the ground level. Some joined in others didnt, overall it was pretty disappointing. At least at the end of the day I can say "I TRIED"....

Elvira............

Post by AlfAndrews »

I think MargOZ and Seth have hit the nail on the head in explaining why the Club Song never takes off when sung by the crowd without accompaniment.

It's because of the way people clap to keep the time.

It would be OK if they kept the tempo constant.

But they ALWAYS speed up and it finishes up as an incoherent mess.

I say SOD the clapping. Just sing it. And keep it slow. That way the words can ring out. And we can get some really glorious sounds happening.

Yes. It is worth perservering with. Maybe the Cheer Squad could just make a point of singing the Club Song at the toss of the coin every week. And bit-by-bit others might follow. Give it a couple of years to take hold and we might just be on to something.

Oh, yes. One more thing.

Fab4 etc.

I was the guy in N11, Row G, Seat 3 last year. In fact I still hold the ticket for that seat, but I haven't been using it this year.

And yes. That was me in the gold winner's beret at the West Coast game. Unfortunately the gold winner's beret has had to stay in my pocket these last two weeks but I'm confident of being able to wear it again next week.

I wouldn't say I've move on to GREENER pastures. Let's jusy say I've moved on to more BLACK & WHITE pastures. The Cheer Squad's been a real buzz for me this year. But I think my days of full-on chanting are numbered because of voice problems that I've been having.

Anyone got a spare set of larynx?