Post-match: Pies down to Carlton

Woods

Post by Woods »

Magpies035 wrote:Long time reader of Nick's
Can stay away any longer
What has occurred in time of Buckley coaching career to date
We should be totally all in one with the game plan
Put injuries aside for now. The playing list should you would think about year 3 be totally in tune with the game plan.
Are the players not understanding what to do? Why not at year 5 I say?
After not playing finals for a few years the players should already be motivated and hungry for success.
A positive pre-season seems to disguise more than it offered?
Supporters have been roll to be patient ok we are.
What are we supposed to be in 2016?
2014 late fade out
2015 late fade out
2016 poor start?
Where does the Collingwood Football Club stand right now?
What a foolish post.

So the game plan is the same today as it was three years ago?

Don't you follow footy and understand the rule changes that have made all clubs adjust the 2016 game plans.

I see you joined today. I suggest before you breeze on here with your tripe you spend the next six months reading every thread to get up to speed.

This is no place for pretenders.
Been liked: 118 times

Post by qldmagpie67 »

Cam wrote:I know you were kinda being rhetorical but ok i'll do some speculating [but hey, i don't really know]

how do we add this mystical experience required if we don't consider using experienced players? We have experienced players but I'm guessing he means playing more kids than we should so THEY get used to playing in the bigtime and taking responsibility rather than Cloke and Brown. Btw How we know that Cloke has recovered properly since that arm hyperextension that happened against the Dees...?

Ok then why are they being selected ?? Dunno, maybe they can't be replaced, but really if Cloke can be replaced then anyone can

you can come out and name them and maybe shame them indeed, can only think its either a diversion or they want to handle it internally for some reason

(a) have we been over training the players so come game day there stuffed already possibly, young players tire more easily too but I think its more to do with the players don't know each other's games instinctively

(b) they don't believe what's being coached ? - everything is pretty much forgotten if you aren't winning the ball or butchering it under real or perceived pressure.

He said about Aish he had 4 handballs before half time last game he played and 2 today so why after such a poor showing 2 weeks ago was he gifted a game again today ? Aish has class, maybe they feel he needs games invested in him to unlock more of it

the effort, desire, skills & 1%ers of the players seems well below every team we play against ? Today's footy paints you as slow and reactive if you are the team chasing. So much to do with initiative and momentum swings during a quarter and maximising opportunities when you get them.

Can anyone honestly say Carlton are a better team than us ? No, similar age profile I would suggest, we have more talent but they knocked us off the ball and every time they tackle us it was holding the ball without prior, but they were allowed to drop it like the hawks except for 2 in the last.

As others have said, we are what we are, we just have to get older, stronger and tighter.

Cam I understand exactly what your saying mate and I appreciate your appraisals. I like many others are just frustrated mate as I'm sure you are as well
I don't see a benefit sacking the coach mid season it proved nothing and solved nothing really other than satisfying some angry souls.
I just wish I could see the same things you do but my tv doesn't allow it
I'll keep the faith in the club and be ready to cheer them again next week and hope we start improving
Jez07

Post by Jez07 »

Buckley owes supporters nothing. But at the start of the year, he sent out a membership signage that we have given him commitment and his response is the players and coaching group will return it by giving 100 percent commitment.

If you are going to make baseless commitments don't get upset when supporters get affronted.

Post by melliot »

I get we have injuries and have a very young side out there.

I don't get why we can't defend and why we persist with this roll up defence that leaves our players consistently in no man's land and easy goals for the opposition.
We are so easy to play against.

I think our coaching panel stinks and are unable to get any structure to work well. But to attempt to get past this, I'd suggest the following.

We need to foget about attack and concentrate heavily on defending and exiting the D50 for a block of 4 weeks. Until that foundation is built, we are wasting the season completely.

I actually found it funny just before the end of the half time break that the female MC on the big screen said Bux went straight up to the back 6 to talk to them at the half time break. I was surprised he found them at all. I couldnt find them for the whole game from the southern stand.

Let's start layering a game play and get something right and be hard to play against.
mandy

Post by mandy »

Woods wrote:
Raw Hammer wrote:
mandy wrote: "surely"? How so? (serious question.) What exactly do you think you're personally owed by Nathan Buckley and the playing group? And why?

Go.
Seriously? We're not "owed" anything? I think we (the supporters, the paid up members, the frequent game goers) are owed s genuine effort and a genuine contest, not the amateur hour the club has dished up so far this season. If there was some semblance of direction you could forget the shortcomings of a young and inexperienced outfit, but the rubbish being dished up is borderline embarrassing.
Where do you get the arrogant idea that the club owes you anything? Where? You fork out a few dollars for a membership, a ticket and a scarf? So what.

Collingwood owes you nothing. You like me are just a spectator or customer. If you have built your personal identity around the club, that's your choice, not Collingwood's. If you don't like the brand of corn flakes you're buying, then swap brands. Up to you. But don't for a second think you are owed anything by Collingwood.

What Collingwood offers to those who want to be a supporter is something the club can't sell, and we can't buy. If you need me to tell you what that is you are miles from being a genuine Collingwood supporter. And I doubt you have moral integrity to ever be one.
Thank you. You have probably worded that much better than I could.
#TEAMBUCKS
#TEAMEDDIE
#TEAMCOLLINGWOOD
#SIDEBYSIDE
Has liked: 229 times
Been liked: 94 times

^ I love the club,50 yrs a fan, and I can accept defeat, providing we have a red hot go, is that too much to ask or expect ?

BJ

Post by BJ »

I shudder to think what Brendan Bolton could do with our list
I don't know the key to success, but the key to failure is trying to please everybody.

Post by thompsoc »

Common Jackcass
Give us some pearls of wisdom.
Love the way you come on late after a big loss.
we don't eat our own at collingwood we just allow them to foul our nest.
Woods

Post by Woods »

Piesnchess wrote:^ I love the club,50 yrs a fan, and I can accept defeat, providing we have a red hot go, is that too much to ask or expect ?
Yes it is too much to ask, because you have no right to lay down expectations. I mean, who the hell do you think you are?

It's your own fault that you are disappointed by defeat because the expectation of winning is it seems why you "love the club" and are "50 years a fan". Sorry, but that's like getting into a 50 year marriage for the sex. You're going to be disappointed.

Just because you decided to make an emotional investment in Collingwood, doesn't mean Collingwood has to spread its legs for your gratification.
Cam
Has liked: 19 times
Been liked: 28 times

Post by Cam »

melliot wrote:I don't get why we can't defend and why we persist with this roll up defence that leaves our players consistently in no man's land and easy goals for the opposition.
We are so easy to play against.
Interestingly enough, I thought this was turned on its head today. Myself and the Carlton ferals around me thought that it was the Pies getting easy goals out the back and we did it well. Carlton rarely scored that way, they succeeded through brute strength at times, but did open us up a little more in the third and fourth. Casboult in particular was hard to stop in the air and in packs. Let's face it, if Casboult kicks 3 goals against you from set shots, its probably a really bad sign of things to come.
Get back on top.
Number 35

Post by Number 35 »

Does anybody know HHH the game? You know? Hooker Heppel Hurley?? Just look up there stats. Especially 2015. Heppel is an absolute gun who has racked up 40 touches a few times. Dubbed as the next captain of essendon. Hurley former all Australian chb. Last few seasons racked up over 100 marks each season. And the most interesting one IMO is hooker who is a very capable defender who was swung into the forward line the last 10 rounds of 2015. In these 10 games he racked up 20 goals! Hooker has also taken 170 marks the last 2 seasons. For just over 2 million in wages we can easily get this done!!! With the exits of swan and cloke. HHH is the solution on it can get us back into thevfibals next year. If we clear out some other players such as brown toovey goldsack we may be able to keep cloke. I would like to see this collingwood side have a crack against the very best in the afl with varcoe Adams cloke Elliot hooker Hurley and heppel in the side!!
Gavin Brown.. Collingwood lifting..Right on the boundary line, back to Milane likewise... DAICOS nearly runs out of room........ GOAL
Dave The Man

Post by Dave The Man »

simon tonna wrote:the drums are beating louder
Be lot Louder when we Play Cats and Dogs in 2+3 weeks with Back to Back 100+ Pts Floggings
Has liked: 342 times
Been liked: 105 times

Woods wrote:
Raw Hammer wrote:
mandy wrote: "surely"? How so? (serious question.) What exactly do you think you're personally owed by Nathan Buckley and the playing group? And why?

Go.
Seriously? We're not "owed" anything? I think we (the supporters, the paid up members, the frequent game goers) are owed s genuine effort and a genuine contest, not the amateur hour the club has dished up so far this season. If there was some semblance of direction you could forget the shortcomings of a young and inexperienced outfit, but the rubbish being dished up is borderline embarrassing.
Where do you get the arrogant idea that the club owes you anything? Where? You fork out a few dollars for a membership, a ticket and a scarf? So what.

Collingwood owes you nothing. You like me are just a spectator or customer. If you have built your personal identity around the club, that's your choice, not Collingwood's. If you don't like the brand of corn flakes you're buying, then swap brands. Up to you. But don't for a second think you are owed anything by Collingwood.

What Collingwood offers to those who want to be a supporter is something the club can't sell, and we can't buy. If you need me to tell you what that is you are miles from being a genuine Collingwood supporter. And I doubt you have moral integrity to ever be one.
Oh man that shits me! Not a real supporter, damn grow up!

If this keeps up the numbers will keep dropping, membership will drop, and quite frankly the last few years team corporate seems only to care about the numbers. I don't care about the damn glass house and it's $55 hamburgers, or the fancy training shit, it all means nothing if we don't perform on the field.

I get why everyone wanted the Bucks fairytale, hell I fell for it hook line and sinker. But it ain't happening. I don't see any massive leadership from the experienced players that should be doing it. I see the regular scape goats copping a hiding, but still busting their arses. I see captain pea heart looking like he just don't care. I don't see him "good jobbing' directing traffic, patting a back, I see him ball watch far to much, I see him quit the chase far too much. Yes he has sublime skills, but right now he doesn't seem to have much cause to try. If he is injured, get him off.

We have a good team on paper. And they are running around like headless chooks. I really wish they would get to the quarter time huddle and say **** you bucks we are going to play footy, and then they go out there and MAN UP! It's not brain surgery and yet we make it look so hard!

So what I critisize the club I'm not a true supporter? **** you. I pay my money, and I front up almost every week. I have sat through shit for the last 20 games that is laughable. Game plan? What damn game plan? Yeah we had a few good link ups, didn't last long, and for (mates with) sake we were playing a team with a deplorable list! We should have run out winners by ten goals.

Did you see bucks presser? Cloke isn't best 22 at the moment? Bullshit! If he had been out there taking the defender off Darcy, so he wasn't getting smashed like a palm tree in a cyclone, we would have won by a mile. Play the kids, play the yank, for gods sake it was a no brainer that this game could be a confidence boost for Cloke. And while I'm at it, what the **** with Grundy? I she injured too? Scary that white looked a star beside him. And he had a good crack.

Some people on here need to learn to accept another person has a different opinion without making it personal. Don't you dare question my loyalty. If I didn't care I wouldn't be so angry. Maybe we need an attendance button on here, how many "your not a real supporter" people out there attend games? How many are members? Your damn right it's none of my business. And my opinion is my opinion, I'm entitled to it, and it's not your business to slag me off for it.

Post by The Boy Who Cried Wolf »

thompsoc wrote:Common Jackcass
Give us some pearls of wisdom.
Love the way you come on late after a big loss.
Its the Tiger in him... I think he's hiding in the jungle to be honest... must be the beating drums scaring him off...

Who made you the beating drums scaring him off ?