Post match. Pies whack Weagles. All comments.
- stui magpie
- Has liked: 132 times
- Been liked: 166 times
I said to someone tonight that Moore had a run up for a set shot at goal like a West Indian fast bowler.
Not necessary.
13 steps is all you need, max,
7 steps from the mark to give space, then 6 more for the run up.
Not necessary.
13 steps is all you need, max,
7 steps from the mark to give space, then 6 more for the run up.
stui magpie wrote:I said to someone tonight that Moore had a run up for a set shot at goal like a West Indian fast bowler.
Not necessary.
Used a similar line to Dr Pie & 1970's dad Peter at the footy today!
I used Dennis Lillee (in his early days at least)
Talk about placing pressure on yourself.
Last edited by watt price tully on Sat Jul 30, 2016 9:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
โI even went as far as becoming a Southern Baptist until I realised they didnโt keep โem under long enoughโ Kinky Friedman
- WarrenerraW
That was a great win under the circumstances when you consider our season is over and the players don't have much to play for now. Still we stood up and took it to the weegles every step of the way and never gave up - even when we were tested.
Sure our disposal was horrible at times but our pressure was there and so was a willingness to run and tackle. We matched it and beat a top 8 side and last year's grand finalist. I'm sure not many people would've predicted we'd do that.
Moore is going to be something special. He owned the forward line up to half time. He reminded me so much of what cloke used to be in his prime.
We set a tackling record tonight as well. 111 all up.
Once we clean up our skills and decision making then we will be a much better side. Tonight showed me that there is hope for this team whether it's Buckley leading us or not. Get a few players back to beef up the forward line and around the ground and we could be anything.
We're a confidence side still with a lot to play for.
Looking forward to seeing the replay.
Sure our disposal was horrible at times but our pressure was there and so was a willingness to run and tackle. We matched it and beat a top 8 side and last year's grand finalist. I'm sure not many people would've predicted we'd do that.
Moore is going to be something special. He owned the forward line up to half time. He reminded me so much of what cloke used to be in his prime.
We set a tackling record tonight as well. 111 all up.
Once we clean up our skills and decision making then we will be a much better side. Tonight showed me that there is hope for this team whether it's Buckley leading us or not. Get a few players back to beef up the forward line and around the ground and we could be anything.
We're a confidence side still with a lot to play for.
Looking forward to seeing the replay.
- Been liked: 118 times
Great effort and I'm pleased I was wrong think I'll bag us again this week and watch us destroy the toothless ones.
Plenty of positives again
Thought Smith Aish had there best games for the club
Grundy is improving every week
Moore before he got injured looked like having a career breakout day hope his not badly injured
Wills tackled like a machine think he had 11 and we had a record high that shows commitment
Still our disposal is below par well below par really
Some of the turn overs from experienced players is mind boggling really
Sidey should be shown a video package of his last 6 weeks and those freaking dinky kicks that always seem to cost us goals and told every time he does it again we are taking $10,000 a error from his next contract. On recent efforts he will paying us around $400 million a season to play
Varcoe I don't know what's happened to you recently but heck your a waste of a jersey lately you need to stand up and be counted. Show the form you had early in the season and freaking do something constructive for the team
Less said about Brown the better
Cloke lucky we need some trade value from you otherwise you would struggle getting a game in the seconds with efforts like today
Tonight's a night to enjoy a sweet victory and sip some lovely reds and watch the replay and enjoy seeing the kids start showing our future
Moore before he got injured looked like having a career breakout day hope his not badly injured
Wills tackled like a machine think he had 11 and we had a record high that shows commitment
Sidey should be shown a video package of his last 6 weeks and those freaking dinky kicks that always seem to cost us goals and told every time he does it again we are taking $10,000 a error from his next contract. On recent efforts he will paying us around $400 million a season to play
Varcoe I don't know what's happened to you recently but heck your a waste of a jersey lately you need to stand up and be counted. Show the form you had early in the season and freaking do something constructive for the team
Cloke lucky we need some trade value from you otherwise you would struggle getting a game in the seconds with efforts like today
Tonight's a night to enjoy a sweet victory and sip some lovely reds and watch the replay and enjoy seeing the kids start showing our future
- Mugwump
Pleased that you're OK, mate - I thought you might have eaten your own lungs watching Sidey win the game (again).qldmagpie67 wrote:Great effort and I'm pleased I was wrong think I'll bag us again this week and watch us destroy the toothless ones.
- Jezza
- Has liked: 271 times
- Been liked: 351 times
I'm glad that I was vindicated with my pre-match optimism. I had seen the Eagles in the past few weeks and even though the ladder position says otherwise, they've been very poor so this was a very winnable match and I'm glad we took advantage of that.
Darcy Moore is an absolute gem of a player. He has great hands, a great leap and while his kicking wasn't great today he's considered a good set shot overall if you analyse his short, but bright career so far. He was on track to be best on ground until his hip injury that forced him out of the game. Hopefully that injury isn't too serious but any news or updates from those who know more about it would be hugely appreciated.
Pendles was back to his best. Adams has become such a vital cog in the midfield and Grundy, while still prone to making silly errors he's a ruckman we must retain for the long-term. Aish and Smith continue to show promise, and it's great to see that Aish has finally found his feet at the club after a slow start to the year.
The effort couldn't be questioned. We had 118 tackles in this match which is a new club record. Our latest debutant in Rupert Wills contributed to 11 tackles which was outstanding. He lacks a little pace which is a noticeable deficiency but he makes it up in other areas of his game. A terrific debut, and everyone would have to be satisfied with that. I'd be inclined to play him for the rest of the year if he shows more of the same effort and hardness.
I have concerns with De Goey, so I think he needs to go back to the reserves and find some form. I think long-term he will be a terrific player for us with experience and patience, but he hasn't stepped up this year the way I hoped.
Our skill level is still a massive concern for mine, but this has been a recurring problem and something the club will have to continue to work on, especially in the off-season to rectify it or at least improve on it.
An entertaining game and very pleased with the win. Hopefully, we can take advantage of Richmond's plight and smash them into oblivion next week!
Darcy Moore is an absolute gem of a player. He has great hands, a great leap and while his kicking wasn't great today he's considered a good set shot overall if you analyse his short, but bright career so far. He was on track to be best on ground until his hip injury that forced him out of the game. Hopefully that injury isn't too serious but any news or updates from those who know more about it would be hugely appreciated.
Pendles was back to his best. Adams has become such a vital cog in the midfield and Grundy, while still prone to making silly errors he's a ruckman we must retain for the long-term. Aish and Smith continue to show promise, and it's great to see that Aish has finally found his feet at the club after a slow start to the year.
The effort couldn't be questioned. We had 118 tackles in this match which is a new club record. Our latest debutant in Rupert Wills contributed to 11 tackles which was outstanding. He lacks a little pace which is a noticeable deficiency but he makes it up in other areas of his game. A terrific debut, and everyone would have to be satisfied with that. I'd be inclined to play him for the rest of the year if he shows more of the same effort and hardness.
I have concerns with De Goey, so I think he needs to go back to the reserves and find some form. I think long-term he will be a terrific player for us with experience and patience, but he hasn't stepped up this year the way I hoped.
Our skill level is still a massive concern for mine, but this has been a recurring problem and something the club will have to continue to work on, especially in the off-season to rectify it or at least improve on it.
An entertaining game and very pleased with the win. Hopefully, we can take advantage of Richmond's plight and smash them into oblivion next week!
Last edited by Jezza on Sat Jul 30, 2016 9:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.
| 1902 | 1903 | 1910 | 1917 | 1919 | 1927 | 1928 | 1929 | 1930 | 1935 | 1936 | 1953 | 1958 | 1990 | 2010 | 2023 |
- Jezza
- Has liked: 271 times
- Been liked: 351 times
We've beaten three top 8 sides this year.Mugwump wrote:That must be what, three top 8 teams beaten in the last six weeks or so ? Good signs. Very good signs.stui magpie wrote:Top 8 team beaten, in the context of our season that was a great win.
1. Round 9 v Geelong
2. Round 15 v GWS (away from home)
3. Round 18 v West Coast
In reality, we should have beaten the Bulldogs until we suffered extensive injuries and had no bench in the last quarter against them in round 10.
We've let ourselves down against the teams around us. This includes losing to North last week after they came off a six-match losing streak, Port by 10 goals, Melbourne on both occasions, St.Kilda and losing to Carlton the first time.
| 1902 | 1903 | 1910 | 1917 | 1919 | 1927 | 1928 | 1929 | 1930 | 1935 | 1936 | 1953 | 1958 | 1990 | 2010 | 2023 |
- thompsoc
Had to go out so I taped the match on foxtel and just watched it now.
Interesting game for a number of reasons.
First and foremost Aish will probably become an A grader even though he is relatively slow.
This lack of A graders has become a major concern of mine. And I reckon Aish is a little ahead of Treloar.
So well done Aish.
Our disposals was crap again tonite.
And i will say again .....if only Marsh could kick!!!!!
Great win but a pity it is too late. The story of Collingwood.
Interesting game for a number of reasons.
First and foremost Aish will probably become an A grader even though he is relatively slow.
This lack of A graders has become a major concern of mine. And I reckon Aish is a little ahead of Treloar.
So well done Aish.
Our disposals was crap again tonite.
And i will say again .....if only Marsh could kick!!!!!
Great win but a pity it is too late. The story of Collingwood.
we don't eat our own at collingwood we just allow them to foul our nest.
- Dave The Man
- Has liked: 2 times
- Been liked: 21 times
- thompsoc
first time this year that I have looked at the AFL ladder.
A little shocked that we have zero chance of making the 8.
Even if we win the next 4 games and make it to 12 wins.
A wasted year and if anyone thinks different ...go catch a rabbit!!!!!
A little shocked that we have zero chance of making the 8.
Even if we win the next 4 games and make it to 12 wins.
A wasted year and if anyone thinks different ...go catch a rabbit!!!!!
we don't eat our own at collingwood we just allow them to foul our nest.