Post match. Gallant Pies pipped in thriller. All comments.

3rd degree

Post by 3rd degree »

Shattered as I despise those smug Glenferrie twats, Really impressed by our attitude, Trealor and Pendlebury were great along with Crisp and Phillps gave us some run after Aish went down. We fought a good fight but lacked the polish those filth have Cloke did a lot right and definitely helped Crocker and our other forwards, great to see a crowd there , parts of this season have felt so dead from a crowd prespective, lets support the VFL lads and ladies and give em some love .
" Ohhh Banksy and out comes the Note Book".

Post by Raw Hammer »

Raw Hammer wrote:
jackcass wrote: Agree, Brown very good, wasn't the Dawks KPFs who hit the scoreboard. Made the 1 mistake as I remember it and that was the kick across HB.

Ditto Williams. People must be watching different games. Without Williams attack on the footy in the last, we don't get close.
You obviously missed his blind swat from a pack to a stationery Lewis to kick a goal on the 3/4 time siren. It's just DUMB football. For every 3 goals he stops one on o e, he causes 3 goals from dumb play,
Right, so defenders shouldn't try to spoil the footy toward the boundary.
Spoil??? It was a loose ball that bobbled in the air. Hell no a defender should not blindly swat the ball high inside D50 without knowing what's there. Grab possession, keep it locked in, anything but blindly swat the ball to a vacant lot or land inside D50. Wow.
Est. 2002
Geek
Been liked: 2 times

Post by Geek »

I'm not normally one to get stuck into Brown but he has been well below par for the last month or so. I'm hoping it's just a form thing as we are a much better team when he is up and about.

He was told earlier in the year that he had to change his game up for the modern era. That's gotta have had an impact too.

Post by WarrenerraW »

Absolutely shattered after that. We matched the piss and poo all day and took them to the wire. They needed to bring their A game after all. I didn't think that we'd get anywhere near them today but we very well nearly won it. I'm proud of that effort and saw enough to see that the future may well be bright after all. A bit of luck on the injury front would be good; a handful of smart trades (in and out) and bring that heart and desire and we can match it with anyone.

The skills let us down as they have for most of this year and if we can sharpen up there then we'll be a formidable side. Then there's the umpiring. How those pigs are allowed to get away with blatant cheating is beyond me. They're nothing but scum and made damn sure they put their stamp on the game when we had the momentum. Hodge (the drink driving tool) is nothing but a dirty prick and I hope someone irons him out next week. We got shafted with a lot of decisions today - especially the holding the ball ones. DUI Hodge knees a bloke in the back of the head and it's play on and then deliberately holds an opponent whose on the mark. These bastards hold up play by tugging on jumpers and holding onto arms. I've seen 50s given for that but nothing is done about what they do and get away with.

If anything they're ripe for the taking next week for the pussies to steamroll them. I hope to hell that it happens but I'm sure the little green maggots will do their best to get them over the line.
Dave The Man

Post by Dave The Man »

I am Vomiting listening to Arrogant Dawk fans on Radio
Has liked: 229 times
Been liked: 94 times

WarrenerraW wrote:Absolutely shattered after that. We matched the piss and poo all day and took them to the wire. They needed to bring their A game after all. I didn't think that we'd get anywhere near them today but we very well nearly won it. I'm proud of that effort and saw enough to see that the future may well be bright after all. A bit of luck on the injury front would be good; a handful of smart trades (in and out) and bring that heart and desire and we can match it with anyone.

The skills let us down as they have for most of this year and if we can sharpen up there then we'll be a formidable side. Then there's the umpiring. How those pigs are allowed to get away with blatant cheating is beyond me. They're nothing but scum and made damn sure they put their stamp on the game when we had the momentum. Hodge (the drink driving tool) is nothing but a dirty prick and I hope someone irons him out next week. We got shafted with a lot of decisions today - especially the holding the ball ones. DUI Hodge knees a bloke in the back of the head and it's play on and then deliberately holds an opponent whose on the mark. These bastards hold up play by tugging on jumpers and holding onto arms. I've seen 50s given for that but nothing is done about what they do and get away with.

If anything they're ripe for the taking next week for the pussies to steamroll them. I hope to hell that it happens but I'm sure the little green maggots will do their best to get them over the line.

Don't worry mate, that dirty sniper Hodge will get his one day, karma is a bitch, that turd is a cheat and a very dirty player, but he will get his. I honestly cant see the brownstains winning the flag with no roughead, no hale, and no lake, and no ceglar, they were all vital last season. I reckon the in form cats will tear them too pieces, they have hit form at the right time, peak form, and the dawks have nobody to hold Dangerfield. If the piss and poo struggled to beat a half strength young Pies team, they wont do much in the finals, their luck must run out soon too. Not even the green swines will save their sorry arses, in the big Ones. :)

Has liked: 229 times
Been liked: 94 times

Dave The Man wrote:I am Vomiting listening to Arrogant Dawk fans on Radio
Karma is a real bitch mate, the in form Cats will put them right back in their smelly poos stained boxes of turds, make no mistake. :P

What'sinaname
Has liked: 8 times
Been liked: 34 times

Post by What'sinaname »

Dave The Man wrote:I am Vomiting listening to Arrogant Dawk fans on Radio
Easy to be arrogant when you've played in the last 4 GFs and won the last 3.

Hence why I am still so pissed that we missed our one and only chance to hurt them this year,
5 from the wing on debut

Post by 5 from the wing on debut »

Museman wrote:Eliminate brown we win by 4 goals.....

Don't be proud of that, I certainly hope the players are not......IDIOTIC mistakes cost them a football game.
Sure :roll: Brown was very good, shut his man almost completely out of the game.

It's definitely a game to be proud of. With 10+ of our best 22 missing we almost got the job done against Hawthorn in their most important game of the year.
Agree, Brown very good, wasn't the Dawks KPFs who hit the scoreboard. Made the 1 mistake as I remember it and that was the kick across HB.

Ditto Williams. People must be watching different games. Without Williams attack on the footy in the last, we don't get close.
We watched the same game but some of us find it very hard to accept such basic errors. No-one will question Marley's run or endeavour but there is a very good reason why he was such a low pick. His decision making is abysmal, especially when the pressure is on. He has been given sufficient opportunity and has not improved that aspect of his game at all. The likelihood is that he never will. The Pies will never be successful whilst the butcher of the backline is a member of the team.
dalyc
Been liked: 12 times

Post by dalyc »

Cloke's flying under the radar with all these posts about our backs.

Trav kicks those two gimmes ... One would have done. Game Over, GTPs!
Last edited by dalyc on Sun Aug 28, 2016 7:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Four legged animals good, two legged animals better
scoobydoo
Has liked: 14 times
Been liked: 7 times

Post by scoobydoo »

think positive wrote:And I agree with Donny, seriously guys, how could you knock our players after that? They left nothing in the tank
Coz half arent even pies supporters

Post by inxs88 »

5 from the wing on debut wrote:
AN_Inkling wrote: Sure :roll: Brown was very good, shut his man almost completely out of the game.

It's definitely a game to be proud of. With 10+ of our best 22 missing we almost got the job done against Hawthorn in their most important game of the year.
Agree, Brown very good, wasn't the Dawks KPFs who hit the scoreboard. Made the 1 mistake as I remember it and that was the kick across HB.

We watched the same game but some of us find it very hard to accept such basic errors. No-one will question Marley's run or endeavour but there is a very good reason why he was such a low pick. His decision making is abysmal, especially when the pressure is on. He has been given sufficient opportunity and has not improved that aspect of his game at all. The likelihood is that he never will. The Pies will never be successful whilst the butcher of the backline is a member of the team.
Absolutely. As fans we have to voice the obvious and stop being "glass half full" when there is a permanent leak at the base!!
I love the Pies, hate Carlscum
dalyc
Been liked: 12 times

Post by dalyc »

inxs88 wrote:
5 from the wing on debut wrote:
jackcass wrote: Agree, Brown very good, wasn't the Dawks KPFs who hit the scoreboard. Made the 1 mistake as I remember it and that was the kick across HB.

Absolutely. As fans we have to voice the obvious and stop being "glass half full" when there is a permanent leak at the base!!
Fear not; when Ramsay, Scharenberg and Langdon are fit Marley won't get a game.
Four legged animals good, two legged animals better
Member 7167

Post by Member 7167 »

I am disappointed at the loss but very proud of the boys. If the boys did not have faith in Buckley they would not have produced a 4 quarter effort of that quality. Cloak put in and if you can read anything into his efforts today, he will still be wearing the Black & White next year. A few crucial turnovers along with biased umpiring cost us the game.

The AFL should use the motto "Free Kick Hawthorn' in their corporate logo. It is not just the cheap frees they give the Hawks, the balancing up of frees they give their opposition in their back-line but the blatant frees against the Hawks they simply cannot see.

Can someone please explain to me when is it it acceptable to have a player hold onto the man on the mark and have their player play-on with no one able to challenge them. The shepherding off the ball in this game was a disgrace and the umpires endorsed it by turning a blind eye.

Great effort Pies and when considering that 10 - 11 of our best players were injured and did not participate, bring on 2017.
Last edited by Member 7167 on Sun Aug 28, 2016 8:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Now Retired - Every Day Is A Saturday

Post by Raw Hammer »

Raw Hammer wrote:

You obviously missed his blind swat from a pack to a stationery Lewis to kick a goal on the 3/4 time siren. It's just DUMB football. For every 3 goals he stops one on o e, he causes 3 goals from dumb play,
Right, so defenders shouldn't try to spoil the footy toward the boundary.
When you're in the corridor inside D50 in a 50/50? No. A spoil is a punch from an aerial contest. That was a dumb blind swat to a dangerous position right down a left footer's throat on the good side for a left footer to kick unopposed at goal from 25m? So no, a defender in 2016 SHOULD NOT 'spoil' towards the boundary.
Est. 2002