#16 Chris Mayne
- winpies
- Has liked: 3 times
- Been liked: 14 times
Welcome to Collingwood / Farewell #16 Chris Mayne
locked in to us according to Mark Stevens on Ch 7 after the game tonight.
carn the mighty pies!
- magpieazza
Of course how could I forget, we do need a scapegoat of sorts.Pies4shaw wrote:We need Jong. He fills a gap - We haven't really had a long-term shoulder injury on the list since Rusling retired.magpieazza wrote:Sorry mate but Mayne is looking likely as reported, not sure about Dal but of those three the youngest one is my least wanted... Jong cant kick! the other two can!RudeBoy wrote:All this talk of Mayne, Dal Santo and Kim Jong Il is making me feel ill. If we load up with has-beens we are totally phucked.
Carpe diem quam minimum credula postero.
- Dave The Man
- Has liked: 2 times
- Been liked: 21 times
- Dave The Man
Nathan Brown?Pies4shaw wrote:We need Jong. He fills a gap - We haven't really had a long-term shoulder injury on the list since Rusling retired.magpieazza wrote:Sorry mate but Mayne is looking likely as reported, not sure about Dal but of those three the youngest one is my least wanted... Jong cant kick! the other two can!RudeBoy wrote:All this talk of Mayne, Dal Santo and Kim Jong Il is making me feel ill. If we load up with has-beens we are totally phucked.
Well done boys!
Of those, only Jolly was an old player, and we all know that ruckmen often don't develop until their mid/late 20s. Even he, however, only had 2 years left in him when he came to us - just enough to help us win a flag.WhyPhilWhy? wrote:Awful prizes like Jack Crisp, or Leigh Brown, Darren Jolly, Luke Ball, or reaching back a bit, James Clement and Brodie Holland?
Just to suggest, older players can work.
- MightyMagpie
- makri
- Been liked: 2 times
The age is also saying there is a possible two year deal to Daniel Wells.MightyMagpie wrote:Kim Hagdorn @ WA Today reporting that Mayne (27) has been offered 3 years by Norf and Pies have trumped that with a 4 year offer.
Also, Wells offered 1 year by Norf and Pies offer believed to be 2 years.
Magpie Jumper Gallery:
https://www.instagram.com/magpiejumpers/
- Darkstranger
- leonmagic
Said it before and I'll say it again, criticizing and whinging about signing a free agent is so confusing to me. We lose nothing (except cash which clearly we have a lot of for next year and beyond) meaning anything is a bonus. If they flop, so be it. If they perform, what a great outcome.
Haven't seen much of Mayne but he was a very good player when Freo were almost the best. Wells is an interesting one, clearly his body is not what it was (and probably never will be again) but he has class and poise. We're hardly stocked up with his type...
- CarringbushCigar
- Has liked: 6 times
- Been liked: 7 times
Wells is a genuine star - Mayne has been terrible in front of goal for 2 years and has a lot to do to get back anywhere near his limited best.
I'd take Lennon over him for upside potential.
If it was a one year deal then sure not much to lose, but 4 year deal?
Im not saying I know more than an AFL recruiting team, however I watch a helluva lot of footy and have watched Mayne and Maric closely.
Im staggered. Blair must be leaving.
I'd take Lennon over him for upside potential.
If it was a one year deal then sure not much to lose, but 4 year deal?
Im not saying I know more than an AFL recruiting team, however I watch a helluva lot of footy and have watched Mayne and Maric closely.
Im staggered. Blair must be leaving.
- makri
- Been liked: 2 times
Have been a fan of Wells, but at 31??? I suppose if we get him as a free agent we don't have much to loose. Very experienced, have seen him do some amazing things on a footy field.
Magpie Jumper Gallery:
- Dave The Man
2nd here. Lot of Winging and Sooking on here about just all we looking at getting.leonmagic wrote:Said it before and I'll say it again, criticizing and whinging about signing a free agent is so confusing to me. We lose nothing (except cash which clearly we have a lot of for next year and beyond) meaning anything is a bonus. If they flop, so be it. If they perform, what a great outcome.
At least let them play for Collingwood 1st at least