My battery is nearly flat, I was speed reading, saw barrel and thought you were advocating for new gun laws!stui magpie wrote:Why move house when you can change the barrels in the locks.think positive wrote:Big difference between tough love and moving house while they are in jail!!stui magpie wrote:Not sure if I told you all of it or not, maybe over a beer one day, but yeah I didn't give up.
I did resort to toughish love a few times, but that only worked because I'd managed to set a good foundation in early years.
I'm happy with how things are now. I get on well with both my kids, they come over most Sunday's for dinner and call me if they need help whether physical, instructions, advice or other.
I let them live their lives, I'm not a big part of it, but I am a part and that works for all of us. They know I'm there if they need me, I don't need to be in their face all the time.
Things that make you go.......WTF?
- think positive
- Has liked: 342 times
- Been liked: 105 times
- think positive
Hmm I always assumed Jekyll was the bad guy, it just sounds like it!Tannin wrote:Obviously, you were doing it wrong. You ought to have a chat to my folks about it. Ask them how they brought me up. I assure you, at that age I was not Jekyll and Hyde. Not me. I was Hyde all the way.think positive wrote:Tell me about, my daughter was Jekyl and Hide from 14 and a half until 17-18!
- David
- Has liked: 17 times
- Been liked: 83 times
Pretty sure there's no official gender discrimination like that nowadays, but I have no doubt that single mothers tend to get more sympathy in general than single fathers, and that can affect the support they get from friends, family and the general community, and sometimes make its way into stuff like family law.think positive wrote:Even the ones with custody? That's ridiculousstui magpie wrote:The biggest mess IMHO is in the gender bias.Mugwump wrote:^ It's a shocking idea, but just as human beings need to be brought up free from abuse and violence to function well later in life, they also need very clear authority to realise their potential. That does not mean authoritarianism, but it does mean a very clear and minimally-negotiable set of boundaries established from an early age to provide security, certainty, and a pattern of responsibility. This little charmer presumably missed out on that step, as so many do, in this age of perennial adolescence.
The world is paradoxical, and one of its many paradoxes is that true freedom depends to a large extent on acceptance of constraints and an authority greater than the self. Unfortunately parents - both of them often stretched thin by working - get very little help from the wider society in establishing that. So we reap what we sow in crime, in health care, in social work, and in education.
Single mums who don't work get paid from centrelink, maintenance, and community support.
Single Dads who work full time get zero support and still get hit for maintenance. Fkn hard work.
That's just how our culture sees it: women are to be protected, men can look after themselves. Not saying that women have it better in general (men probably do on the whole), but in this area being male certainly has its disadvantages.
"Every time we witness an injustice and do not act, we train our character to be passive in its presence." – Julian Assange
- think positive
Depends on your point of view I guess, I'd say the opposite! I'd think a single father with custody would get more sympathy, because he's not 'equipped' (Stui that's not what I think!!) to deal with the situation.
I'm talking single fathers with majority custody.
- David
- Has liked: 17 times
- Been liked: 83 times
I guess if you mean sympathy arising from a presumption of ineptitude, then they certainly get that! But that's still prejudicial, of course, and the kind of sympathy that sees a father's children wrongfully taken away from him isn't a great deal of use.
"Every time we witness an injustice and do not act, we train our character to be passive in its presence." – Julian Assange
- think positive
where do these people come from?
how does this happen? i dont like your opinion on the war, the footy, that womens breasts, so hereya, we are just going to turn this into a flame thrower, and spend 2 hours burning you? WTF!
http://www.abc.net.au/news/2017-04-16/t ... er/8446416
how does this happen? i dont like your opinion on the war, the footy, that womens breasts, so hereya, we are just going to turn this into a flame thrower, and spend 2 hours burning you? WTF!
http://www.abc.net.au/news/2017-04-16/t ... er/8446416
- stui magpie
- Has liked: 132 times
- Been liked: 168 times
Proposed law in Texas to fine men $100 every time they masturbate.
http://edition.cnn.com/2017/03/13/healt ... aker-trnd/
Don't move to Texas DTM.
I sort of get the symbolism of what she's trying to do, but..........fail
Don't move to Texas DTM.
- Mountains Magpie
Blimey Big brother really IS watchingstui magpie wrote:Proposed law in Texas to fine men $100 every time they masturbate.
Don't move to Texas DTM.
MM
Spiral progress, unstoppable,
exhausted sources replaced by perversion
- Dark Beanie
- Has liked: 2 times
- Been liked: 26 times
No quite a WTF but.....
Random people who insist on talking to me.
On public transport, in the shops.
I must have a friendly face plus I try not to be rude and play along with a bit of conversation.
Today at Carnegie waiting for the lift, bloke starts talking to me about how good Aldi is. Despite the fact I had my headphones in listening to the radio!
I must have a friendly face plus I try not to be rude and play along with a bit of conversation.
Today at Carnegie waiting for the lift, bloke starts talking to me about how good Aldi is. Despite the fact I had my headphones in listening to the radio!
If you are foolish enough to be contented, don't show it, but just grumble with the rest. - Jerome K Jerome
- think positive
- ronrat
To be fair except for the Rosstown there is a not a lot else around there to talk about. They voted against the strip joint.Dark Beanie wrote:No quite a WTF but.....
Annoying opposition supporters since 1967.
- Morrigu
Too many 'depressing messages' in VCE books drives push for trigger warnings
Trigger warnings should be introduced for English texts to notify students of distressing themes, traumatised VCE students say.
http://www.theage.com.au/victoria/too-m ... 3287992116
Trigger warnings should be introduced for English texts to notify students of distressing themes, traumatised VCE students say.
“The greatness of a nation and its moral progress can be judged by the way its animals are treated.”
Mate, Koornang road is a foodies delight. Great Asian foods these days. In Neerim road just south of Koornang road there's a great tiny cafe - great coffee with a terrific small menu.ronrat wrote:To be fair except for the Rosstown there is a not a lot else around there to talk about. They voted against the strip joint.Dark Beanie wrote:No quite a WTF but.....
Mixed asian groceries & my old butcher is still there - our first house was there (in the 17% interest days)
Bicycle shops galore on Dandenong Road.
Thank god "kittens" wasn't allowed there. Who needs grubby males hangin' around. The one in Elsternwick was fire bombed by a bikie gang - lucky no one was injured. Fortunately the fire didn't spread to nearby houses.
“I even went as far as becoming a Southern Baptist until I realised they didn’t keep ‘em under long enough” Kinky Friedman
- Jezza
- Has liked: 271 times
- Been liked: 356 times
This just reinforces the idea that much of this young generation is full of snowflakes!Morrigu wrote:Too many 'depressing messages' in VCE books drives push for trigger warnings
| 1902 | 1903 | 1910 | 1917 | 1919 | 1927 | 1928 | 1929 | 1930 | 1935 | 1936 | 1953 | 1958 | 1990 | 2010 | 2023 |