Vale #1,#19,#20,#21,#24,#2 Captain Lou Richards (1923-2017)

Player President threads here thanks.

What'sinaname
Been liked: 9 times

Post by What'sinaname »

RIP Lou

You're not an AFL Legend because you are an AFL God.
Fighting against the objectification of woman.

Post by Mugwump »

^ yeah, Dave, I reckon you're right. It cannot have been easy for a man with such a love of life to be so reduced.

Farewell, Lou. You represent a tougher, much more honest age.
Two more flags before I die!
3rd degree

Post by 3rd degree »

RIP to one of Collingwood's favourites sons and one of life's great Larrikins.
" Ohhh Banksy and out comes the Note Book".

Post by simon tonna »

Thanks Lou for some of my earliest memories in life. Watching collingwood
V Carlton on a Saturday arvo and hearing the steady and familiar voice which
was a comfort for me. RIP
no second chances
Has liked: 128 times
Been liked: 191 times

He was the heart and soul of the football club, unmatched by very few.

It's truly an end of an era!

Post by MatthewBoydFanClub »

It's a very sad day for us all, but I'm relieved in one sense that his physical suffering in the nursing home he was at is over and he gets to be united with Edna in heaven. I'll remember him for his sharp witty humour on WOS for over 30 years and his contribution to his Thursday night show Team Selections, with Jack Dyer and Bobby Davis. The king is dead. Long live the king. I wish he had been nominated to the AFL legends of the game, because he truly was a legend.
Last edited by MatthewBoydFanClub on Mon May 08, 2017 6:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Monco Matt

Post by Monco Matt »

RIP Lou. What a legend you are and were. I'll remember you not only as a Collingwood Premiership Captain but a superstar media man, especially on the Sunday Footy Show with Lou's handball, I was a bit young to see you on WOS. Maybe yesterday's result was too much for the great man to bear. If the AFL don't induct you into the AFL Legends club then they know nothing about what an AFL Legend really is.
RED "BABY" CAVANAUGH: Didn't hear what the bet was.

Been liked: 16 times

Post by Johnno75 »

Farewell Louie, probably the most recognised name to come out of this great club. True champion.
Human behavioural studies suggest people who use a lot of swear words tend to be more honest & trustworthy.
BEAMER09
Been liked: 8 times

Post by BEAMER09 »

RIP Lou.

Grew up with League Teams and now they are all together again for League Teams II.

Still get a laugh out of 'you don't say...'
COLLINGW09D

Post by ronrat »

They broke the moild when they made Lou. From an era when footy was even for the players. Socials, Pies, beers, and no social media following your every move so a nobody can feel clever. WOS was a boys clubs with setting fire to script sheets, blokes dropping the dacks behind cameras, where you could criticise umpires and players for mistakes and they didn't need a phsycologist. Uncle Doug, Bob, Jack, Teddy and now LOU all gone. After a ffew days with Edna a leave pass to have a few small beers with the boys is on the cards. RIP champ. Floreat Pica
Annoying opposition supporters since 1967.
watt price tully

Post by watt price tully »

Vale Lou. Very sad. Condolences to his family. "What a (he) man".
Last edited by watt price tully on Mon May 08, 2017 6:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
“I even went as far as becoming a Southern Baptist until I realised they didn’t keep ‘em under long enough” Kinky Friedman
Has liked: 71 times

Vale Lou.

For a kid growing up in the NSW bush who's only access to the VFL was via media, Lou was a staple and cemented my love for Collingwood.

Legend.
Captain_MyCaptain

Post by Captain_MyCaptain »

WhyPhilWhy? wrote:I can't remember a time when he and Collingwood were not synonymous.

A very sad day for the Club and all Collingwood supporters - vale Lou.

X 2. Long live Lou. Legends never die.
The window is open my friend!
Mountains Magpie

Post by Mountains Magpie »

stui magpie wrote:Vale Lou.

For a kid growing up in the NSW bush who's only access to the VFL was via media, Lou was a staple and cemented my love for Collingwood.

Legend.
Ditto, except I grew up in the inner western suburbs of Sydney.

Rest easy Lou - by golly you've earned it.

MM
Spiral progress, unstoppable,
exhausted sources replaced by perversion
ANNODAM
Has liked: 20 times
Been liked: 28 times

Post by ANNODAM »

RIP to a true legend!
WE WERE ROBBED, RIGHT IN FRONT OF ME, RIGHT IN FRONT OF MEEE!