Post Match. Giants down Pies - All comments please

Post by Raw Hammer »

Damien wrote:I really hope that, having had a Bex and a good night's sleep, a lot of posters will now have calmed down and will see this game for what it was. An arm wrestle against probably the side which will win the flag this year, in which we acquitted ourselves very well except for an ordinary second quarter where we dropped our work rate.

We are still a young side which will make mistakes and have lapses. We've shown that over the entire season. We could easily be 4-4 instead of 2-6. I am very proud of that effort last night. I am excited for what this team is capable of and the amount of improvement that can still come this season. I am excited about what I saw last night from Moore, Maynard, DeGoey, Grundy and Elliott. I am loving the footy a rejuvenated Tyson Goldsack is playing. I reckon this team is that close to clicking and getting everything right more often than not.

This has been a very taxing block of four games for our side. I respect the courage of our coach and the way he has managed the players for a long season, at the potential expense of his job.

We missed four important points in the context of our finals hopes last night. We could quite easily have got them though. It's a game of inches. There is a lot more footy to come this year. We will probably miss finals but I reckon we are gunna see this team play some very good footy in the next 14 or so weeks. I'm gunna enjoy that.
Sorry, but I can't accept this. Young or not, it's no excuse to miss handballs and kicks u der ZERO pressure by 5m+ constantly. You're at AFL level. It's inexcusable. And quite simply embarrassing to amateur footballers around Australia.
Est. 2002
Damien
Has liked: 3 times
Been liked: 11 times

Post by Damien »

Don't accept it then. Be angry until this side matures and irons out all the kinks in its game. I'm gunna enjoy the ups and downs as this side grows over the next 14 weeks.
'Collingwood are the Bradmans of Football'
The Herald - 1930
Damien
Has liked: 3 times
Been liked: 11 times

Post by Damien »

The Boy Who Cried Wolf wrote:We should have hammered them with all those injuries, no excuses... just not good enough, and ultimately all roads lead to Rome.
Well when in Rome...
'Collingwood are the Bradmans of Football'
The Herald - 1930
ROB

Post by ROB »

I was at the game, my first I have attended here in Sydney at this stadium for many years. The first thing I notice is how much faster the game actually is than it appears on tv. The second is there was a number of environmental aspects effecting the game that you don't appreciate on TV. A number of areas where small wind tunnels blow across the ground, funneled in by player race areas and breaks in the stands - dependent on the wind direction at any one time, these can have quite an effect on an inexperienced player kicking for goal but something a home ground player may be all over. The third was there was clear evidence that some sections of the ground clearly had turf replaced in recent times - maybe just after the easter show here?? Some sections were much greener/wetter than others leading to inconsistent bounce and boot grip. Personally I have been privately very critical of the team over the past years, but last night they performed pretty well. A few critical umpiring decisions were missed or made but I can tell you, there were also a number that GWS should have got if the umpiring was consistent that would have made things look different again on the scoreboard. And a few we were lucky to get. In the end, I think the following must be taken into consideration: 1. Inexperience of both the players and their interaction with each other due to best team available and changes probably cost us, not anything else. 2. Shayde and Reid both need to bulk up - too easily wrestled/pushed out of a contest. 3. Maynard needs to play up the ground - wasted in back pocket/flank. Bring in Sharenberg to replace him back there. 4. Drop Fasolo - even during the warm up he was more intent on practicing fancy snaps than consolidating his ability to kick a set shot at an unfamiliar ground. 5. Stick with the current team and set up with only minor tweaks - they have to get used to playing together. 6. Bring Treloar back in at Blairs expense - not because Blair was that bad - but there isn't room for him with the rest playing. 7. When Varcoe is fit, drop least performing player of his size/type - this could even be WHE as he is, at time, ordinary. 8. Stop conjecture of Buckleys coaching tenure - if he can turn this team around and they start winning lots of games due to time spent and experience gained with each other - then it could be justified to give him another year extension. 9. Take a long hard look at how we are developing/using our up and comers in the 2's - I went to a VFL match at Essendon a few weeks ago and it seemed everyone was being thrown all around the ground position wise - if you have recruited a player to be a future key forward, back or whatever, you must play them there week in week out and only move them somewhere else if you want them to get an appreciation of how an opposition player plays their position - for example, play a CHB at CHF on a gun opposition CHB to learn from that player. and 10. Appreciate the speed of the game, the very young players we have in the side, give some credit to oppositions who have quite often, taken a 10 or 20 year journey to get to being a top 4 club again, I know it's not palatable to be languishing, but the 2017 competition has already shown it is not predicatable.
Toby for President
uncanny
Been liked: 12 times

Post by uncanny »

Damien wrote:I really hope that, having had a Bex and a good night's sleep, a lot of posters will now have calmed down and will see this game for what it was. An arm wrestle against probably the side which will win the flag this year, in which we acquitted ourselves very well except for an ordinary second quarter where we dropped our work rate.

We are still a young side which will make mistakes and have lapses. We've shown that over the entire season. We could easily be 4-4 instead of 2-6. I am very proud of that effort last night. I am excited for what this team is capable of and the amount of improvement that can still come this season. I am excited about what I saw last night from Moore, Maynard, DeGoey, Grundy and Elliott. I am loving the footy a rejuvenated Tyson Goldsack is playing. I reckon this team is that close to clicking and getting everything right more often than not.

This has been a very taxing block of four games for our side. I respect the courage of our coach and the way he has managed the players for a long season, at the potential expense of his job.

We missed four important points in the context of our finals hopes last night. We could quite easily have got them though. It's a game of inches. There is a lot more footy to come this year. We will probably miss finals but I reckon we are gunna see this team play some very good footy in the next 14 or so weeks. I'm gunna enjoy that.
Good call Damien. At least they haven't dropped their heads and given up. I can live with those clanger skill errors, hard as they are to stomach, but could not abide a lack of effort. Calls to trade Darcy are ridiculous. He showed a fair bit last night and should have regular runs in the ruck. Id really like to see more creativity in moves like thst during games and wt the selection table. Go all out for a big bodied dude who can take a grab and make the likes of Moore walk taller and things can change quickly. As much as it pains me to say it agsin, a new coaching panel as well.
woodsmen rule
Dave The Man

Post by Dave The Man »

mattdally wrote:would love to see Pick #2 + Moore on the trade table at season's end.
Good chance we could land either Schacke / Reid / Martin / Fyfe with that package.

Moore is useless. He could kick 10 goals a game for the next 100 games and I wont forgive him for costing us the game tonight.
That is the Stupidest Post I seen on here for Years.

We might as well Trade Grundy as well then
Dave The Man

Post by Dave The Man »

Big T wrote:Umpires crucified us and cost us the game. That is clear
Say that after Every Game We Play

Another where are we at post!

Post by inxs88 »

I bloody hate honorable losses like last night that could be so avoidable with some common sense. Yes you:

* Blair dumb free kick slide
* Lynden bomb kick to contest
* DeGoey out of bounds on fall dumb kick
* Blair dumb point from 20 meters out
* Phillips dumb holding the ball with 35 seconds to go

But what is quite obvious is we have the case of the 1981 Greg Chappells! "I am playing well but just keep getting out"! So where are we at?

1. We have forgotten how to win
2. Bucks SHOULD stay as we ARE on the verge maybe not in 2017 but 2018
3. Maybe it's our 2006 Geelong year "anus horribillus"
4. Be smart with who is part of future and who is not:

eg. put a line through:

* Fasolo: 7 years in, he is defensively a disgrace and offensively an every 4 weeks man. Needs to be traded. A flakey flunky. And if you doubt this, ask yourself one question: "should he be more consistent now than 2013?"

* Blair: my thoughts are well known, but what did we learn more about him last night? 2 early goals then "predictable misery"

* Reid: as much as fans want him forward, his "legs" don't allow it. he is too slow for leading patterns and second efforts

* Phillips: An endurance beast but a "vanilla mid-fielder" who needs to go back to reserves and learn some new tricks. Playing like a pick 58 draft pick

* Moore: he was awesome in the Ruck when needed. Hope he doesn't break Bruce Reid style!

* Howe: lets move him forward for a month and try and "win" games not save them

* Scharenberg: has a month of work and has to paly every week now

* Maynard: a football enigma. Kicked two great goals and then a handpass worse than "Ray Byrne's to Andrew Ireland" in 1980. Reckon he needs to play wing.

* Greenwood: tag somebody every week.

* Mitch McCarthy: accelerate this guy's development into the Seniors. He has it!

Our Round 9 onwards side going forward (injury side)

B: Scharenberg Dunn Schade
HB: Aish Reid Varcoe
C: Wells Treloar Maynard
HF: DeGoey Howe Sidebottom
F: Elliott Moore White
F: Grundy Pendlebury Adams
ICH: Goldsack Greenwood Hoskin Elliott and Crisp

EMERG; Schade Broomhead Rupert W.
I love the Pies, hate Carlscum

Post by WarrenerraW »

We fought hard but came up short once again. The umpiring was deplorable and inconsistent, while our skill errors were fundamental and critical. Why we insist on bombing it long in hope in the fwd 50 is beyond me. We do it all the time and it never ends well. Our pressure was good and we fought to the end but class always wins out. We're clearly a couple of KPPs short and this must be addressed at the end of the year.
VicParkTragic
Been liked: 7 times

Post by VicParkTragic »

I like your thinking
Living in Geelong, barracking for the 'pies!
Cam
Has liked: 19 times
Been liked: 28 times

Post by Cam »

I had higher hopes but Fas has slotted in as our Robin Nahas, without the quick play on, front and square or defensive pressure. Takes a better hanger over our key forwards and interacts with the crowd after a goal far better though.
Get back on top.
courtza

Post by courtza »

Can't knock that performance against the equal top team on their home track.

At the end of the day though we just fall short and it dosen't matter if its the top team or the bottom, we just can't seem to get it done.

Blair is better than Broomhead.

Darcy needs to be that second ruck.

Reid needs to play forward until we develop or recruit another KF. Our backline did pretty well against a formidible forward line without him and he takes alot of pressure of Darcy.

Treloar for Blair
Varcoe for Phillips

Shazza needs to come in for someone so we can see what he can do.

I don't mind our recruits like Daicos, Brown, Kirby etc. spending the year in the 2's.
Dave The Man

Post by Dave The Man »

Effort was Good but only really seen that vs Cats and Giants
Member 7167

Post by Member 7167 »

The side has many young and inexperienced players. As a group they are still gelling as a side. If they played the standard of football that they played this week against the Gioants and a couple of weeks ago against the Cats we would be sitting 6/2.

We did not get the 4 points but the team acquitted themselves well. It is fair enough to be disappoint, frustrated and vocal to some extent when they play like they did last week against Carlskum but from my perspective I applaud their efforts last night.
Now Retired - Every Day Is A Saturday

Post by inxs88 »

Cam wrote:I had higher hopes but Fas has slotted in as our Robin Nahas, without the quick play on, front and square or defensive pressure. Takes a better hanger over our key forwards and interacts with the crowd after a goal far better though.
True!! That "hand to ear" directed at MCC members when he kicked his first goal in three weeks against the Cats was vomit inducing to me and every Pies supporter I sat next to that day.

Alex is really playing football for one reason and that is Alex. Can anyone name:

* one good, complete year he has achieved above a 7/10 performance
* a year where he has had a top 10 in B&F
* more than 1 match winning clutch performance (Rd 2 against Tigers 2016 aside)

Alex:

* pursue you're cheesy "head surfing" TV ads
* avoid being a front and centre crumber like we're crying out for
* kick your cameo 3 goals every 4 weeks
* keep your "Prince Faz brand" alive with media spots
* And in October Nathan, flog him off to a WA club"
* Alex, Josh Hill has had a better career than you!! Yes Josh Hill!
I love the Pies, hate Carlscum