Post Match. Pies pipped - All comments please

robfyffe

Post by robfyffe »

We are a powerhouse club that hasn't been in finals for a few years
Why are we helping Melbourne?
When has Hawthorn or Geelong helped Melbourne with a stand alone game where the gate always goes to Melbourne, and Melbourne's players treat it as a final.
Same goes with Anzac Day - I've 100% enjoyed the experience of Anzac Day game, but I believe it's detrimental to the club's win loss because Essendon (and us when we were down) consider it their/our final.

How many "marquee games" have Hawthorn or Geelong played in the last ten years?

Seriously - lets pull our heads in and just win ordinary games!
Hi Laura and James
Has liked: 66 times

Post by PyreneesPie »

Monco Matt wrote: I shudder when he is about to kick it.
Yeah, I hold my breath too!
The strange thing is that on odd occasions, he seems to have "on" days with his kicking and can even kick goals.
Perhaps, the coaches need to identify very early on whether he is having a good day or a bad day and if the latter, tell him to handball or soccer the ball only!!!

Post by Collingwood Crackerjack »

Darcy Moore didn't have a great one, wowee some of those dropped marks!

Post by Mugwump »

We gave it a good crack but ultimately a mixture of umpiring, individual mistakes, tiredness and some quality missing from the 22 cost us the win.
In one pithy sentence, that is the game we just saw. Well summed up Swoop.
Two more flags before I die!
slangman
Has liked: 39 times
Been liked: 23 times

Post by slangman »

We generally played well. Better ball movement than the earlier rounds.
Still giving up too many easy goals whilst having to work hard for ours.

We have been at our best when sticking close to our opponents particularly on the switch. Crocker got caught ball watching a few times today allowing their outlet player to mark and play on too easily off half back.

Would also like to know why people clap the players off the ground at half time?....I don't get it considering there is still a half to play.

Broomhead Is becoming a dangerous line breaker and I'm glad we are attacking the corridor more often.

Shattered about this loss considering we were 5 goals up at one stage.
The killer instinct should be driven by the leadership group.
Tay Adams should not be a part of the leadership group.

A big improvement from the Carlton game but still a way to go.
- Side By Side -
sportingtragic

Post by sportingtragic »

Yeah, we got it the first 8 times, robfyffe

Bit bewildered by some of the love here for Scharenberg today. Has ability but has no ground speed to cover a man and his decision making & kicking was sub standard. Another 8-10 games this year then needs a huge pre season
Monco Matt

Post by Monco Matt »

^ Yep slangman. I reckon that was Broomhead's best game for the club. He looked confident and assured and really took the game on trying to break through the lines. Been waiting a while for him to show something, even though I'd like to see some 'Didak" type goals out of him, I will take a great midfield effort like that. Big thumbs up to Broomy.
RED "BABY" CAVANAUGH: Didn't hear what the bet was.

Post by PyreneesPie »

Mugwump wrote: Is he to smothering what J Howe is to marking ?
Excellent observation Mugwump. I like it! Maynard is still only 20 years old. He's going to be a real asset for us going forward, with these inspirational smothers and raking left foot.
dalyc
Been liked: 12 times

Post by dalyc »

Collingwood Crackerjack wrote:Did anyone else notice De Goey falling off the chase a few times?
No but I did notice he looks a bit fat. Maybe that's just his shape.
Four legged animals good, two legged animals better
Damien
Has liked: 3 times
Been liked: 11 times

Post by Damien »

slangman wrote:We generally played well. Better ball movement than the earlier rounds.
Still giving up too many easy goals whilst having to work hard for ours.

We have been at our best when sticking close to our opponents particularly on the switch. Crocker got caught ball watching a few times today allowing their outlet player to mark and play on too easily off half back.

Would also like to know why people clap the players off the ground at half time?....I don't get it considering there is still a half to play.

Broomhead Is becoming a dangerous line breaker and I'm glad we are attacking the corridor more often.

Shattered about this loss considering we were 5 goals up at one stage.
The killer instinct should be driven by the leadership group.
Tay Adams should not be a part of the leadership group.

A big improvement from the Carlton game but still a way to go.
Why exacty should Taylor Adams not be in the leadership group?
'Collingwood are the Bradmans of Football'
The Herald - 1930
Greeny2968

Post by Greeny2968 »

Bob Sugar wrote:Want someone to blame? Then blame no other than Darcey (butter fingers) Moore, patheric display.
He is so soft and hold his marks.
perthmagpie

Post by perthmagpie »

We don't win enough quarters, therefore we keep other teams in it. Our third quarters are awful. We need to bury teams when we have them on the ropes. We can play great footy for twenty minutes and then drop off for whole quarters. Yes we need the killer instinct to go from four goals up to eight goals up.
Magpies love pies(Lol)
slangman
Has liked: 39 times
Been liked: 23 times

Post by slangman »

Maynard will be ok as long as he stays the hell out of the backline
- Side By Side -
Greening gold

Post by Greening gold »

Agree with those those who think Adams's opinion of himself has not yet been earned. Frankly I don't think Treloar's kicking is all that crash hot either - his legs go too fast for his brain.
The big mystery today was who was on Petracca. We really missed Goldsack, who would have nullified him. Moore also really missed Elliott in the forward line - Moore's not yet ready for full responsibility there.
And, as usual, we missed Varcoe's run, chase and ball skills. Varcoe should be given a p/t coaching role, dedicated to mentoring De Goey.
I was on the road between Bateman's Bay and Canberra listening on ABC (thanks again ABC for the coverage) and Gerard Whately was speechless at some of the umpiring, and then comments such as "Wowee" (seriously) and "Dees certainly getting the rub of the green from the umpires". Pity it would cost Bucks $20k (like Clarkson) if he put the truth on the table in the post-match interviews.
In summary, I thought the boys did pretty well today considering the injuries we are carrying and our tough game against Dockers last week while Melbourne had a week's smoko. Some skill errors and plenty of room for improvement but unlucky not to win. All the blah-blah about Richmond getting beaten in close ones but Bucks has had his fair share this year, including today and the GWS highway robbery.
If you used to barrack for the 'Pies, you never barracked for the 'Pies.

Post by PyreneesPie »

slangman wrote:Maynard will be ok as long as he stays the hell out of the backline
I don't think he's that bad in the backline, but I believe he would make an excellent wingman.