Post Match. Pies down to Tigers - All comments please.

Where is deep in the season when every side has some injuries and niggles our core group of players will be able to fill a variety of roles as required ?

Post by Mugwump »

Two more flags before I die!

Post by Raw Hammer »

Est. 2002

Post by Mugwump »

Two more flags before I die!
Been liked: 118 times

Post by qldmagpie67 »

My bad your correct Muggy that goal would have left us 14 down
I wrote 14 on my notes then deducted 6 when writing post lol
At least my maths is good right !!
Mossi

Post by Mossi »

I am worried about a let down this week against notionally weaker opposition, after we worked over unrecovered bodies so hard last Sunday.
It's crossed my mind as well! Hope the match committee get it right with selecting the side I would keep Appleby and one of Blair or Mayne in. I would make the least amount of changes given we lost Aish and Reid.
Last edited by Mossi on Wed May 02, 2018 3:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

What would make you make the least amount of changes given we lost Aish and Reid?
Been liked: 43 times

Post by BazBoy »

I'm not arguing--just explaining why i am right
watt price tully

Post by watt price tully »

watt price tully wrote:...
the kid who Dunn felled in the goal square is a ripper. ...
We shall see. If he'd been drafted by Carlton, he'd have played 6 games and kicked 0 goals.
We'll see whether this kid has any improvement left in him.
That's easily solved by Richmond; they can put Rioli back in when he's fit.
“I even went as far as becoming a Southern Baptist until I realised they didn’t keep ‘em under long enough” Kinky Friedman
Been liked: 43 times

Post by BazBoy »

I'm not arguing--just explaining why i am right
Geek
Been liked: 2 times

Post by Geek »

piedys wrote: Wouldn't it be justice if we say finished 4th and scored them in a QF at the MCG? You'd tell Greenwood "no holds barred, anything goes", and just play a Duckwood game on him. He snipes Levi, and gets 3 weeks. If only...
Luke Darcy: "Yeah look the hit is technically there. I mean, it looks like he's broken Greenwood's jaw and all but geez Richo, you don't like to see players miss a grand final for that sort of thing..."

Bank it.
Has liked: 6 times
Been liked: 32 times

Post by K »

watt price tully wrote:...
the kid who Dunn felled in the goal square is a ripper. ...
We shall see. ...
Rioli is the most promising player they have outside their Big Four. Most of the rest are junk. But we are living in junk times.
watt price tully

Post by watt price tully »

K wrote: We shall see. ...
Rioli is the most promising player they have outside their Big Four. Most of the rest are junk. But we are living in junk times.
I reckon that's also underestimating the oppostion. Have to agree to disagree. Richmond have many fine players who are playing well apart from the big 4. The ones I've listed were just off the top of my head. Someone last year I think on the first time we played the tigers dismissed Nankervis too; he's a ripper who works hard.
“I even went as far as becoming a Southern Baptist until I realised they didn’t keep ‘em under long enough” Kinky Friedman
Has liked: 6 times
Been liked: 32 times

Post by K »

^^^
On the original topic, "the kid who Dunn felled" (a silly thing for Dunn to do), let me say that the big question surrounding Higgins prior to the draft was whether he'd basically reached his peak. He was known as a footy junkie, which could be regarded as a good thing, but the other way of viewing it is that it means he's just got to his endpoint early (even without consideration of possible burnout, etc.). This would no doubt have been a smaller concern for recruiters if he were bigger or faster or had obviously silky skills.

On the new topic, Richmond... Well, I need to take a deep breath first. (But Nicksters seem to be split on this issue, so it seems you are not alone in your views.)

Ah, yes, Richmond. Well, first, they ought to be judged by the standard of premiers, since that's what they are. Doing that is clearly not flattering to them. (They got lucky with their timing.) Second, if you value kicking skills really highly, you cannot really be too impressed by them. There is more to football than kicking, but surely it's reasonable to expect a certain minimum standard...
A comment in another thread is relevant here:
http://magpies.net/nick/bb/viewtopic.ph ... 24#1832824