Post Match. Pies down to Tigers - All comments please.
- Raw Hammer
- Has liked: 1 time
- Been liked: 4 times
- Been liked: 118 times
- Mossi
- Has liked: 2 times
- Been liked: 3 times
It's crossed my mind as well! Hope the match committee get it right with selecting the side I would keep Appleby and one of Blair or Mayne in. I would make the least amount of changes given we lost Aish and Reid.Mugwump wrote:
I am worried about a let down this week against notionally weaker opposition, after we worked over unrecovered bodies so hard last Sunday.
Last edited by Mossi on Wed May 02, 2018 3:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
That's easily solved by Richmond; they can put Rioli back in when he's fit.K wrote:We shall see. If he'd been drafted by Carlton, he'd have played 6 games and kicked 0 goals.watt price tully wrote:...
the kid who Dunn felled in the goal square is a ripper. ...
We'll see whether this kid has any improvement left in him.
“I even went as far as becoming a Southern Baptist until I realised they didn’t keep ‘em under long enough” Kinky Friedman
Luke Darcy: "Yeah look the hit is technically there. I mean, it looks like he's broken Greenwood's jaw and all but geez Richo, you don't like to see players miss a grand final for that sort of thing..."piedys wrote: Wouldn't it be justice if we say finished 4th and scored them in a QF at the MCG? You'd tell Greenwood "no holds barred, anything goes", and just play a Duckwood game on him. He snipes Levi, and gets 3 weeks. If only...
Bank it.
Rioli is the most promising player they have outside their Big Four. Most of the rest are junk. But we are living in junk times.watt price tully wrote:That's easily solved by Richmond; they can put Rioli back in when he's fit.K wrote:We shall see. ...watt price tully wrote:...
the kid who Dunn felled in the goal square is a ripper. ...
I reckon that's also underestimating the oppostion. Have to agree to disagree. Richmond have many fine players who are playing well apart from the big 4. The ones I've listed were just off the top of my head. Someone last year I think on the first time we played the tigers dismissed Nankervis too; he's a ripper who works hard.K wrote:Rioli is the most promising player they have outside their Big Four. Most of the rest are junk. But we are living in junk times.watt price tully wrote:That's easily solved by Richmond; they can put Rioli back in when he's fit.K wrote: We shall see. ...
“I even went as far as becoming a Southern Baptist until I realised they didn’t keep ‘em under long enough” Kinky Friedman
^^^
On the original topic, "the kid who Dunn felled" (a silly thing for Dunn to do), let me say that the big question surrounding Higgins prior to the draft was whether he'd basically reached his peak. He was known as a footy junkie, which could be regarded as a good thing, but the other way of viewing it is that it means he's just got to his endpoint early (even without consideration of possible burnout, etc.). This would no doubt have been a smaller concern for recruiters if he were bigger or faster or had obviously silky skills.
On the new topic, Richmond... Well, I need to take a deep breath first. (But Nicksters seem to be split on this issue, so it seems you are not alone in your views.)
Ah, yes, Richmond. Well, first, they ought to be judged by the standard of premiers, since that's what they are. Doing that is clearly not flattering to them. (They got lucky with their timing.) Second, if you value kicking skills really highly, you cannot really be too impressed by them. There is more to football than kicking, but surely it's reasonable to expect a certain minimum standard...
A comment in another thread is relevant here:
http://magpies.net/nick/bb/viewtopic.ph ... 24#1832824
On the original topic, "the kid who Dunn felled" (a silly thing for Dunn to do), let me say that the big question surrounding Higgins prior to the draft was whether he'd basically reached his peak. He was known as a footy junkie, which could be regarded as a good thing, but the other way of viewing it is that it means he's just got to his endpoint early (even without consideration of possible burnout, etc.). This would no doubt have been a smaller concern for recruiters if he were bigger or faster or had obviously silky skills.
On the new topic, Richmond... Well, I need to take a deep breath first. (But Nicksters seem to be split on this issue, so it seems you are not alone in your views.)
Ah, yes, Richmond. Well, first, they ought to be judged by the standard of premiers, since that's what they are. Doing that is clearly not flattering to them. (They got lucky with their timing.) Second, if you value kicking skills really highly, you cannot really be too impressed by them. There is more to football than kicking, but surely it's reasonable to expect a certain minimum standard...
A comment in another thread is relevant here:
http://magpies.net/nick/bb/viewtopic.ph ... 24#1832824