Assaulting Emergency Service Personnel Laws (Vic)

Nick's current affairs & general discussion about anything that's not sport.
Voice your opinion on stories of interest to all at Nick's.

Has liked: 342 times
Been liked: 105 times

Post by Mugwump »

Last edited by Mugwump on Tue May 22, 2018 9:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Two more flags before I die!
swoop42
Been liked: 8 times

Post by swoop42 »

An election year and an employment field that is heavily unionised.

Coincidence, I think not.

Andrews is not being impartial on the issue and it's the exact reason why there needs to be clear separation between the state and the courts.

Mandatory sentencing is a punishment dictated by politicians when the only punishment that should be handed down are by those educated in law and vastly experienced in the justice system.

The reality is their isn't a whole bunch of people in society who believe it's okay to assault emergency workers or anyone else or go out on the town looking for trouble.

The simple truth is emergency workers are often exposed to people at their worst moments and not in control of there faculties because of alcohol, drugs or serious mental health issues.
He's mad. He's bad. He's MaynHARD!

Post by Mugwump »

^ Swoop, I think you misunderstand the principle of separation of powers between the judiciary and the legislature. Courts, judges and lawyers are not a law unto themselves. If the people want a mandatory sentence for (say) murder, the politicians are the people to put that into law, or put in place a framework to set it. The judges, who are not elected, have no role in telling the people what sentences they are allowed to have for a given crime, unless Parliament tries to act unconstitutionally.

The principle of separation allows the parliament to set minimum "tariffs" for certain crimes. What politicians cannot do, and rightly so, is interfere in specific cases once a law has been framed and enacted.
Two more flags before I die!
Has liked: 132 times
Been liked: 168 times

yeah, but otherwise I agree with him

Post by ronrat »

Separate devils advocate type question:

Why should assaulting an emergency services worker be worse than assaulting anyone else and attract a higher punishment? At least ESP's have some training in dealing with violent and aggressive people as that's a part of the job. If these women had assaulted a cafe waiter (who has no training) who refused to serve them because they were off their chops, why is that not as serious as assaulting an Ambo?
You mean like a footballer threatening to stab a waitress with chopsticks and instead of being charged
Wins every award plus a flag in footy.
A leading Journalist blames Swanny who was not even there and discounts his criminal father for shaping him.
Annoying opposition supporters since 1967.
watt price tully

Post by watt price tully »

On Friday in ED I was kicked in the sternum (ziphoid process) by an anti-social male who was quite psychotic as well. He knew right from wrong but he was also mad as the mad misogymist monk (well maybe be not that mad). Nonetheless it happended. Pain was 3/10 not so bad but the shock value was much higher.

Earlier Police and ambulance had to bring another person in to get their fortnightly injection of anti psychotic meds. The nurses who came from the clinic gave him his injection, throughout he was yelling abuse and screaming invective reporting he is being raped; this is also at a really high decibel level. We had security with police to make giving his injection OK. Fortunately, we had a psychaitrist nearby who could quickly review him to go back onto a mental health order and he got escorted from the ED by security.

On Monday a young woman assualted a nurse through kicking. A horendous history of abuse of baing a voctim if chikd pon, being shacked up with a male 50 year solder. Now off her head due to ICE. One of the ED nurses makes matters worse b acase she has as much empathy as a dead mullett and deals with deiffucelt people in a punitive manner - anothet issue. I was trying to assi thr nurses. Was medcated but she needed restaining to the bedside.

22/5/18: I was coughed on by an asylum seeker with the flu. That was the worst of the lot. I told him once to cover his mouth & he chose not to. This was with the police. No sense of "other" whatsoever. POst assessment I let him go as he was not acute but odd.

Saw another with the police in a public place today 22/5/18 who just swore at me as he often does: I've seen him a fair bit over the distance (well known frequent presenter) he uses 000 services as a taxi service & I never admit him to hospital which he wants. I advise the ambo's & police to ignore his behaviour to the extent they can, He makes threats such as : If you don't do what I want I will suicide....He was not suicidal but say sits on the edge of a ralway platform dagngling his legs over the train tracks. ( It helps when you know the frequent presenters, know their management plans & do the proper checks before you assess any person.

Manadory sentencing here is the fault of the Libs & Andrews is having to match the hysteria amplified by the media for the gullible. Pollies can't afford to be seen to be soft on crime.
Last edited by watt price tully on Wed May 23, 2018 6:47 am, edited 1 time in total.
“I even went as far as becoming a Southern Baptist until I realised they didn’t keep ‘em under long enough” Kinky Friedman

watt price tully wrote:On Friday in ED I was kicked in the steunim (ziphoid process) by an anti-social male who was quite psychotic as well. h knew right from wrong but he was also mad an the mad misogymist monk (well maybe be not that mad). Nonetheless it happended. pain was 3/10 not so bad but the shock value was much higher.

Part of the issue also has to do with my iinexperienced ED staff but that's another issue.

Earlier Police and ambulance had to bring another person in to get their fortnightly injection of anti psychotic meds. The nurses who came from the clinic gave him his injection, all thw hile he was yelling abuse and screaming invective reporting he i sbaing rpaed this is also at a really high decibel level. We have a gret seciruty with police to make giving his injection OK. Fortunately, we had a psychaitrist nearby who could quickly review him to go back onto a mental health order and he got escorted from the Ed by security.

On Monday a young woman assualted a nurse through kicking. A horendous history of abuse of baing a voctim if chikd pon, being shacked up with a male 50 year solder. Now off her head due to ICE. One of the ED nurses makes matters worse b acase she has as much empathy as a dead mullett and deals with deiffucelt people in a punitive manner - anothet issue. I was trying to assi thr nurses. Was medcated but she needed restaining to the bedside.

Today I was coughed on by an asylum seeker with the flu. That was the worst of the lot. I told him once to cover his mouth & he chose not to. THis was with the police. No sense of "other" whatsoever. Let him go as he was not acute but odd.

Saw another with the police in a public place today who just swore at me as he often does I've seen him a fair bit over the dostance (well known frequent presenter) he uses 000 services as a taxi service & I never admit him to hospital which he wants and advise the ambo's & police to ignore to the extent they can, his behaaviour and threats to meet his perceived needs met: If you don't do what I want I will suicide....He was not suicidal. ( It helps when you know the frequesnt presenters, know their management plans & do the proper checks before you see them

Manadory sentencing here is the fault of the Libs & Andrews is having to match the hysteria amplified by the media for the gullible. Pollies can't afford to be seen to be soft on crime.
The Time Machine is cool.

Culprit
Has liked: 57 times
Been liked: 68 times

Post by Culprit »

Everyone agrees that no emergency personnel should be assaulted whilst working. No one should be a victim of crime as well. In saying that a person who is affected by drugs/alcohol and who is suffering mental issues and is having an episode with emergency personnel isn't all of a sudden stop what they are doing and say, "shit, I better stop as I will go to jail".

On the suggested new law, the guy a few weeks ago who refused to let the police in (mental Health Check) could be charge with assaulting police as he pushed, punched and kicked them as they dragged him out. Please tell me what benefit as a society have if we put him in jail?

This law will achieve nothing in the short and long term other than grab votes off the simpletons.
swoop42
Been liked: 8 times

Post by swoop42 »

So on the one hand we could have a situation where an individual is charged with rape because the accuser wasn't able to give informed consent because they were to inebriated and yet this same inebriated person could now be sentenced to prison for assaulting an emergency service worker.

It makes no sense that in one scenario the persons physical and mental incapacity can make them a victim and in another it can them a perpetrator.
He's mad. He's bad. He's MaynHARD!
Has liked: 132 times
Been liked: 168 times

swoop42 wrote:So on the one hand we could have a situation where an individual is charged with rape because the accuser wasn't able to give informed consent because they were to inebriated and yet this same inebriated person could now be sentenced to prison for assaulting an emergency service worker.

It makes no sense that in one scenario the persons physical and mental incapacity can make them a victim and in another it can them a perpetrator.
The informed consent one is really the outlier. In every other circumstance I can think of, being drunk doesn't absolve you of responsibility for your actions.

Culprit wrote:Everyone agrees that no emergency personnel should be assaulted whilst working. No one should be a victim of crime as well. In saying that a person who is affected by drugs/alcohol and who is suffering mental issues and is having an episode with emergency personnel isn't all of a sudden stop what they are doing and say, "shit, I better stop as I will go to jail".

On the suggested new law, the guy a few weeks ago who refused to let the police in (mental Health Check) could be charge with assaulting police as he pushed, punched and kicked them as they dragged him out. Please tell me what benefit as a society have if we put him in jail?

This law will achieve nothing in the short and long term other than grab votes off the simpletons.
maybe if there were stringent laws in place they would think before they get themselves in that situation. maybe if they had learnt self discipline and respect for others when they were younger, they might make better decisions even under the influence. ie if you cant handle it, dont do it.
Has liked: 17 times
Been liked: 83 times

Last edited by David on Wed May 23, 2018 4:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.