What made you happy today?
- think positive
- Has liked: 342 times
- Been liked: 105 times
- stui magpie
- Has liked: 132 times
- Been liked: 168 times
You've probably heard about the current scam where people get called from someone pretending to be from the ATO. They tell you that you owe money, you need to pay now, and follow up with threats of arrest, public disclosure, losing your job etc. If you haven't heard of it, read here https://www.news.com.au/technology/onli ... 8e7f94199f
Also here https://www.ato.gov.au/General/Online-s ... am-alerts/
They tried on my daughter today. What made me happy is, she's smart even though they were very good. Her brain was screaming at her that it was bullshit, but they had some personal info and threw enough threats at her to cast doubt into her mind, what if it was real?
So she put them on hold at work while she called me on her mobile. They had her rattled, but I explained the ATO didn't work that way and told her to google "ATO Scam". She did while she was talking to me, which settled her down when she read exactly what they'd tried on her. After we finished, she went back and told them exactly what I told her to say "I know this is a scam and I'm going to the Police" upon which they hung up on her.
Just nice to know even though your kids grow up, they still trust Dad when they're unsure or need advice.
Also here https://www.ato.gov.au/General/Online-s ... am-alerts/
They tried on my daughter today. What made me happy is, she's smart even though they were very good. Her brain was screaming at her that it was bullshit, but they had some personal info and threw enough threats at her to cast doubt into her mind, what if it was real?
So she put them on hold at work while she called me on her mobile. They had her rattled, but I explained the ATO didn't work that way and told her to google "ATO Scam". She did while she was talking to me, which settled her down when she read exactly what they'd tried on her. After we finished, she went back and told them exactly what I told her to say "I know this is a scam and I'm going to the Police" upon which they hung up on her.
Just nice to know even though your kids grow up, they still trust Dad when they're unsure or need advice.
- Skids
- Has liked: 33 times
- Been liked: 46 times
Pizza in the wetty!
We've got a big shut on (500 extra bodies here) for the next 10 days, and they're putting on a feed in the wet mess every night.
Guess it takes the pressure off the dry mess a bit. Was pizza tonight, MYO beef or pork rolls with roast veg last night & a BBQ the night before.
Geez the pool is nice after a 48 degree day! Heaps of crew in there tonight. Hot chicks in bathers, wish I was 30 years younger
We've got a big shut on (500 extra bodies here) for the next 10 days, and they're putting on a feed in the wet mess every night.
Guess it takes the pressure off the dry mess a bit. Was pizza tonight, MYO beef or pork rolls with roast veg last night & a BBQ the night before.
Geez the pool is nice after a 48 degree day! Heaps of crew in there tonight. Hot chicks in bathers, wish I was 30 years younger
Don't count the days, make the days count.
- stui magpie
Gina in a bikini in the pool could be interesting.
Anyway, just got back from a Stress Echocardiogram.
Hooked me up with these dots and wires all over my chest, then got me to lay down and did an ultrasound of my heart, then up on the treadmill, test the BP and away we go.
After each 2 minutes it speeds up and increases incline while the machine measures the heart.
After 5 1/2 minutes the cardiologist said he had the minimum he needed, so I could quit when I needed to. Hung on a bit longer but after the speed and incline change at the 6 minute mark, the legs were cooked by 7 minutes.
Stumble off and lay down again while they do another ultrasound of the heart beating like a heavy metal drummer on ice.
Good news is, not only do I have a heart (they have pictures to prove it) but it seems to be working fine. No sign of any arterial blockages.
I suppose with that news and being able to feel my feet again (only slight numbness left) I have no excuse for not increasing the exercise regime.
Hooked me up with these dots and wires all over my chest, then got me to lay down and did an ultrasound of my heart, then up on the treadmill, test the BP and away we go.
After each 2 minutes it speeds up and increases incline while the machine measures the heart.
After 5 1/2 minutes the cardiologist said he had the minimum he needed, so I could quit when I needed to. Hung on a bit longer but after the speed and incline change at the 6 minute mark, the legs were cooked by 7 minutes.
Stumble off and lay down again while they do another ultrasound of the heart beating like a heavy metal drummer on ice.
Good news is, not only do I have a heart (they have pictures to prove it) but it seems to be working fine. No sign of any arterial blockages.
I suppose with that news and being able to feel my feet again (only slight numbness left) I have no excuse for not increasing the exercise regime.
- Skids
- Has liked: 33 times
- Been liked: 46 times
That's good news Stui... and Gina in a bikini would be interestingstui magpie wrote:^
My doc changed my BP tablets about 6 weeks ago now, I've been monitoring it myself (at his request) throughout the day and keeping a record.
Have to go see him when I get back, it's still creeping up. Pretty sure this extra 10kg I been carting around isn't helping.
It's a work in progress Gym every second morning (bike, rowing machine, treadmill) and swimming every arvo this year. Slowly getting my fitness back. Just had steamed broccoli and Red capsicum for smoko.
Beers every night are a must here, will try and keep it to a couple tonight, but that's what I say every night. Think it was 7 last night.
Don't count the days, make the days count.
- stui magpie
Yeah, once you get older fitness drops away real quick and is hard to get back. I've done jack shit for the past couple of months cos I had all sorts of stuff going on after the doc changed my BP tablets and I went back to work.
As far as I can figure out in hindsight, it started with the new tablets causing swelling in the feet, then I must have tweaked my lower back (probably carrying a fridge up stairs) which caused numbness going down the legs and into the feet.
Change BP medicine again and start getting chest and upper abdomen pain and light headedness.
Finally I'm feeling good again, but when it was all happening at once it wasn't a good feeling.
New BP medicine from the cardiologist works a treat, no side effects.
Physio fixed the back issue, feet back to 95% feeling
Doc prescribed some nuclear strength antacid which fixed the chest pains.
All I gotta do now is the exercises the physio gave me to build up some core strength and work on the cardio fitness.
As far as I can figure out in hindsight, it started with the new tablets causing swelling in the feet, then I must have tweaked my lower back (probably carrying a fridge up stairs) which caused numbness going down the legs and into the feet.
Change BP medicine again and start getting chest and upper abdomen pain and light headedness.
Finally I'm feeling good again, but when it was all happening at once it wasn't a good feeling.
New BP medicine from the cardiologist works a treat, no side effects.
Physio fixed the back issue, feet back to 95% feeling
Doc prescribed some nuclear strength antacid which fixed the chest pains.
All I gotta do now is the exercises the physio gave me to build up some core strength and work on the cardio fitness.
- think positive
- stui magpie
- think positive