Which opposition leader would have made the best PM?
- David
- Has liked: 17 times
- Been liked: 83 times
Which opposition leader would have made the best PM?
While most prime ministers have spent some time as opposition leader, some opposition leaders never get the opportunity to run the country. Which of these party leaders from the last thirty years do you think would have done the best job if given the opportunity? And who would have been an unmitigated disaster?
"Every time we witness an injustice and do not act, we train our character to be passive in its presence." – Julian Assange
- regan is true fullback
- ronrat
I was in Canberra when Ansett went tits up. Parliament finished early and Qantas was madly trying to get more planes. I was in the Qantas club waiting to come home and they announced the bar would open early and there would be no flight changes as they had to find spots for the Pollies going to SA and WA via Melbourne. I got on the plane about 5 o clock having spent 4 hours at the airport and Meg Lees was taking up seats 1a and 1B with her laptop occupying a seat. I took one look at her and said "Hundreds of people are stranded and would love to be home with the family for the weekend and you have the unmitigated effrontery to occupy a seat that someone could have used" With that Alex Downer who was about 10 rows back stood up and said "well said, privilege comes with responsibility' And when I walked past he shook my hand and the plane passengers less one cheered. One of my work colleagues was flown to Sydney and got home to Melbourne at 11.00 pm and then had to get a taxi to Fern Tree Gully.
Annoying opposition supporters since 1967.
- stui magpie
- Has liked: 132 times
- Been liked: 166 times
You have some good stories Ron
From the selection above, I voted for Hewson. I reckon he had the stuff to be good but his timing was bad.
2nd vote would have gone to Beasley. Smart bloke, heart in right place, just don't know if he had the stones for it.
From the selection above, I voted for Hewson. I reckon he had the stuff to be good but his timing was bad.
2nd vote would have gone to Beasley. Smart bloke, heart in right place, just don't know if he had the stones for it.
Sort of the opposite of Latham, huge swinging balls but a bit of a dick who acted before he thought. If Labor could've combined Latham and Beazley into one person they'd have one hell of a PMstui magpie wrote:You have some good stories Ron
- stui magpie
- Has liked: 132 times
- Been liked: 166 times
- Skids
- Has liked: 29 times
- Been liked: 44 times
I remember that weekend mate, I too, was holidaying. Had my own Plumbing gig, had the Gold Ansett Credit card and bought everything for the business, getting lots of points.ronrat wrote:I was in Canberra when Ansett went tits up. Parliament finished early and Qantas was madly trying to get more planes. I was in the Qantas club waiting to come home and they announced the bar would open early and there would be no flight changes as they had to find spots for the Pollies going to SA and WA via Melbourne. I got on the plane about 5 o clock having spent 4 hours at the airport and Meg Lees was taking up seats 1a and 1B with her laptop occupying a seat. I took one look at her and said "Hundreds of people are stranded and would love to be home with the family for the weekend and you have the unmitigated effrontery to occupy a seat that someone could have used" With that Alex Downer who was about 10 rows back stood up and said "well said, privilege comes with responsibility' And when I walked past he shook my hand and the plane passengers less one cheered. One of my work colleagues was flown to Sydney and got home to Melbourne at 11.00 pm and then had to get a taxi to Fern Tree Gully.
Lucky for me 'Kel & Sharnee, I'd done the Business Class thing. We got our flight with some pollies on board from the Goldy. Didn't Leyton Hewitt win Wimbledon or the US open or something that weekend... I watched it, early morning, watching the sunrise. Sharnee was 2... she's now the Mum of 2 of my Grandkids. Time flies.
We gotta win the flag!
- Pi