The Toby Greene saga

Use this forum for non-Collingwood related footy topics that don't relate specifically to any of the other forums. For non-footy sporting topics please use Nick's Sports Bar and for non-sporting topics please use the Victoria Park Tavern.

Has liked: 99 times
Been liked: 184 times

Post by Mr Miyagi »

Second week in a row. It's the Ablett Junior clause, you only get so many chances before you run out of excuses. The media love fest for Toby Greene and GWS is like too much sugar right now, it's making me sick.

Channel 7 just now after the VFL put up a graphic stating our game is 7pm live haha. Definitely 4:35pm according to AFL.
SteveH67

Post by SteveH67 »

ANNODAM wrote:I have trolled the GWS FB page.

They are screaming blue murder ahahahaha...
I bet you look like one too!
Social club member 7342 since 2000.

Post by inxs88 »

"Right in front of me, right in front of me"
I love the Pies, hate Carlscum

Post by inxs88 »

Nice to see other clubs and fans worrying about the suspensions of their own stars.
I love the Pies, hate Carlscum
shawthing
Been liked: 97 times

Post by shawthing »

That rabid dog Greene finally got a week (although it should have been weeks) one week too late. Probably a blessing in disguise for Toby because the reception we would have given him next Saturday would curdle his blood.

Cry your crocodile tears Toby-boy. You got what you deserved! :twisted:
shawthing

Post by shawthing »

ANNODAM wrote:According to Kane Cornes going after Greene is a witch hunt.
I thought Kane Cornes was going to be a fireman. Geez that lasted a long time. :roll: Obviously didn't have what it takes to be a real hero. Better he shoots off his dumb mouth on radio. Honestly the entire Cornes family would have a collective IQ of 100.
piedys
Has liked: 371 times
Been liked: 101 times

Post by piedys »

shawthing wrote:That rabid dog Greene finally got a week (although it should have been weeks) one week too late. Probably a blessing in disguise for Toby because the reception we would have given him next Saturday would curdle his blood.

Cry your crocodile tears Toby-boy. You got what you deserved! :twisted:
And even if it gets overturned on appeal and he does end up playing, you'd think another weeks worth of media saturation will mentally fry his preparation for the game, and they are effectively a player short on the field?
M I L L A N E 4 2 forever
shawthing

Post by shawthing »

Pies4shaw wrote:He should never be allowed to play again. It's not just "stupid", it's evil. This sort of scum act does more to harm the image of the game than 250 betting scandals could ever do. He should have been given half a season with a 5-year ban suspended for last week's effort.

Really, in what universe is such appalling conduct acceptable? Why should anyone be at risk of damage to their sight because this piece of filth is in their pack?
I long for the day when there is no area of society exempt from the law. That is, assault is assault whether it happens on the street or on a footy field. Charge the bastard!

Post by Lazza »

shawthing wrote:
Pies4shaw wrote:He should never be allowed to play again. It's not just "stupid", it's evil. This sort of scum act does more to harm the image of the game than 250 betting scandals could ever do. He should have been given half a season with a 5-year ban suspended for last week's effort.

Really, in what universe is such appalling conduct acceptable? Why should anyone be at risk of damage to their sight because this piece of filth is in their pack?
I long for the day when there is no area of society exempt from the law. That is, assault is assault whether it happens on the street or on a footy field. Charge the bastard!
I too believe in equality in society.

The eternal problem is that some people are more equal than others
Don't confuse your current path with your final destination. Just because it's dark and stormy now doesn't meant that you aren't headed for glorious sunshine!
Has liked: 15 times
Been liked: 175 times

Post by Pies2016 »

I reckon the maggot is gone.
It’s such a bad look to have this disgraceful act leading the back pages for two weeks in a row. The AFL can’t afford to let him off.
The NRL just came down on a player big time, Hawkins just got a week for the usual run of the mill cheap shot, so Greene’s two consecutive dog acts will need to be acted upon.
If I was the AFL, I would be asking myself which outcome would cause the least blowback. Give him a week and we all move on or let him off and the AFL cop more negative headlines for a week.

Surely 6 months into the season, even the AFL can finally make one correct decision.
Gary Player “ the harder I practice, the luckier I get “
Has liked: 17 times
Been liked: 83 times

I get what Cornes is saying, but who else actually does any of this stuff? It’s not like players get eye-gouged on a regular basis, or kicked in the head for that matter. If he is being targeted, then I suspect being a serial offender has a lot to do with that, and it does provide us with ample evidence that none of this is accidental contact.
Last edited by David on Sun Sep 15, 2019 6:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Kill for Collingwood

Post by Kill for Collingwood »

The obvious question unasked so far is:
"Hey Lachie, what happened?"
Woodsman
Skids
Has liked: 29 times
Been liked: 44 times

Post by Skids »

The little flog is probably relieved, Adams would have cooked his biscuit.
Don't count the days, make the days count.
Has liked: 99 times
Been liked: 184 times

Post by Mr Miyagi »

Greene was a repeat offender putting the boot up in marking contests, which created a new rule which is now being misused for even the lightest heel in the air. Now he's a repeat offender shoving his hand in people's faces when they're on the bottom of the pack and completely defenceless. Speaks volumes about his character, doesn't it?
MagpiesTheGreat

Post by MagpiesTheGreat »

Cornes has got the IQ of a frog...My apology to frogs.