#17 Callum Brown
- Pie-For-Life
- LaurieHolden
- Has liked: 202 times
- Been liked: 185 times
Noticed he finishes games better than he starts. His fitness I've noted has been a factor in his game day impact. Hits the line well and has featured late in some tight games.
His weekend output while well below par perhaps starting to reflect the buffeting he gets in the contest and as a young player may well start to wear him down.
That happens when you keep bumping up against players in the contest whom are 10kg heavier than you. Suspect he'll be looking forward to the mid-season break.
His weekend output while well below par perhaps starting to reflect the buffeting he gets in the contest and as a young player may well start to wear him down.
That happens when you keep bumping up against players in the contest whom are 10kg heavier than you. Suspect he'll be looking forward to the mid-season break.
"The Club's not Jock, Ted and Gerry" (& Eddie)
2023 AFL Premiers
No second year blues for Callum Brown
AFL is running a video series in the off-season called The Data Game. It analyses player performances with a look ahead to 2020.
Callum Brown was featured today. Was surprised at the glowing rating he got, particularly as 2019 was his second AFL season. Not that I thought he had a poor year - far from it. Just that he seems to have flown under the radar while attention was focused on some of the flashier forwards.
With another pre-season into him he should only get tougher in the contests next year.
https://www.afl.com.au/video/2019-11-13 ... ghts-again
Callum Brown was featured today. Was surprised at the glowing rating he got, particularly as 2019 was his second AFL season. Not that I thought he had a poor year - far from it. Just that he seems to have flown under the radar while attention was focused on some of the flashier forwards.
With another pre-season into him he should only get tougher in the contests next year.
https://www.afl.com.au/video/2019-11-13 ... ghts-again
- skaman
- Has liked: 95 times
- Been liked: 22 times
Correct weight P4SPies4shaw wrote:It’s not a prediction - it’s an observation about the body size thing. That said, if you compare Mitchell’s 2003 (when he was the same age as Callum), there’s a whisker between them. Mitchell didn’t become the star we all think of now for another 2 or 3 seasons after that.
In this day and age of people wanting instant success and results , patience is often required for some of these young ones to shine through and find their feet/ place. Callum to me showed in my mind , now shows that he has the confidence and feeling that he now BELONGS. His stocks now and experience are on the rise and he will only get better. A pleasure to see and follow.
Enjoy yourself. Its later than you think!
The other thing we must remember with C Brown is that his first preseason ( and subsequent first year in the AFL ) was wrecked by glandular fever.
Relative to his pick in the 2016 draft, he is tracking well ahead of the curve.
I reckon his real growth at AFL level will come somewhere between his 50 to 100 games block of senior footy. The kids a ripper !
Relative to his pick in the 2016 draft, he is tracking well ahead of the curve.
I reckon his real growth at AFL level will come somewhere between his 50 to 100 games block of senior footy. The kids a ripper !
Last edited by Pies2016 on Thu Nov 14, 2019 7:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
- Has liked: 7 times
- Been liked: 33 times
- Has liked: 7 times
- Been liked: 33 times
- stui magpie
- Has liked: 126 times
- Been liked: 161 times