How are you dealing with the Covid 19 lockdown?

Nick's current affairs & general discussion about anything that's not sport.
Voice your opinion on stories of interest to all at Nick's.

Has liked: 132 times
Been liked: 166 times

Beautiful sunny morning, went for a 3km walk down along the river, bit of bush, circled back through the footy oval and down the very quiet main st. Picked up a coffee for me and the newspaper for the old girl from the servo.

Do some mowing and stuff shortly then think about food.

Day stayed mainly sunny. I whippersnipped the yard and mowed the nature strips, then made brunch. Slices of slow cooked beef, heated, in pita bread with lettuce, grated cheese and garlic and chili sauce.

Made the best of being here and did a tip run in the arvo, started chatting to a bloke emptying a trailer load of rubble. Long story short, bloke I hadn't seen for a while. When I told him my name he said phuc, I haven't seen you for like 100 years. Closer to 40 but yeah
Dave The Man

Post by Dave The Man »

Not Watching the News.

Don't want to get Depression
Tannin

Post by Tannin »

NASA to launch first US astronaut mission in nearly a decade on May 27

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2020-04-18/ ... s/12161388

Does this count as self-isolation?
�Let's eat Grandma.� Commas save lives!

The plan apparently is to smuggle Trump into the ship and space station with the intent of sending him on a space walk, without a suit.
Tannin

Post by Tannin »

^ Yay!
�Let's eat Grandma.� Commas save lives!
Pies4shaw
Been liked: 182 times

I think he'd probably like pictures more.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ys4PoTRNftY

So, for keeping in touch with people you can't go to physically see, Zoom is apparently the free video conference call app, but if you just want to video call someone, Facebook Messenger lets you do video or voice calls. There's even effects you can add live to the call while you're on it.

Sunday evening was the routine for the kids to come over for dinner. So instead, I video call the son first so chat to him and the grandson. The old girl cant drive a smart phone but she can hold a tablet and see who she's talking to and thinks it's great.

It was the grandson who alerted me to the ability to do effects, little bugger just drives tech intuitively.
luvdids

Post by luvdids »

The messenger one is great, we (brother, sister, nephew, sis in law & myself) conference called Mum on her birthday.
We had to talk her through how to use the effects so we then all sang happy birthday with animal ears, old lady faces, feet faces etc. Great fun
(also free phone calls through messenger from overseas if connected to wifi, might be handy to know if anyone ever goes overseas again)

Would have been good, I assume similar for Mothers day next week?

I'm not sure how well Hotel WIFI would work with voice calls, but it's def a better idea than paying for mobile phone coverage.
Has liked: 342 times
Been liked: 105 times

Went to JB to get a tv for my dad yesterday, and the joint was as packed as Christmas Eve. The guy with the counter was just standing there, obviously not counting, and there was whole families walking around everywhere. I went to Bunnings for some other things for him, and they had a cordoned off queue, it was a mile long, and no social distancing, I walked away. I’m still trying to only go out when I have to, and saving stuff to do all in one hit.

The social distancing police would have had a field day yesterday if they were so inclined.
luvdids

Post by luvdids »

stui magpie wrote:^

Would have been good, I assume similar for Mothers day next week?

I'm not sure how well Hotel WIFI would work with voice calls, but it's def a better idea than paying for mobile phone coverage.
I've never had an issue, hotels through Europe & the US all worked great, crystal clear. Dubai dropped in & out & mostly wasn't worth bothering with.

Mothers Day might be a call or maybe a sneaky drop in? Aren't restrictions meant to be easing the following day? Is 1 day early really going to kill anyone?
Just realised that's usually just an expression, could be a real life scenario these days!
Has liked: 17 times
Been liked: 83 times

luvdids wrote:Is 1 day early really going to kill anyone?
Just realised that's usually just an expression, could be a real life scenario these days!
Haha, indeed! I fear the literal answer is ... probably, yes.
Bucks5
Been liked: 20 times

Post by Bucks5 »

It isn't about the one day. Dan's rant was along the lines....

If your mother is elderly then she is more vulnerable to COVID19. If you see her face to face, then you expose her to everybody you have had contact with during the past 14 days which could kill her.
How would Siri know when to answer "Hey Siri" unless it is listening in to everything you say?