#35,#1 Jaidyn Stephenson

Player President threads here thanks.

Has liked: 6 times
Been liked: 32 times

Post by K »

Mr Miyagi wrote:...
It’s very telling the same day Geelong rorts the salary cap by getting Cameron, Higgins, and Smith, that Collingwood is used as a headline distraction
Well, there's no evidence Geebung is rorting the salary cap, unless rorting means not overpaying their "stars" like Collingwood does.

It does sound like they are benefiting from marketing themselves to players on "lifestyle", which seems to mean being country-like for the country boys, who are well represented in the AFL. (This was a factor for Isaac Smith, according to the media. He also had an offer from Melbourne.)

Post by K »

5 from the wing on debut wrote:...
My guess is that Stephenson will still be at the club when Buckley isn't.
Or return to the club GAJ-style when the coast is clear? :wink:

Post by K »

Mr Miyagi wrote:By the way, weren’t we trading Phillips?
Yep, still are (trying to). But you can't if the player has a contract and does not want to move. So e.g. Treloar can hold firm if he wants.
Presti35
Has liked: 447 times
Been liked: 224 times

Post by Presti35 »

Smith is a season or two away from retiring. He has the rest of his life to live the lifestyle. He's going for another crack at a flag.

But one thing that i find interesting is Geelong are bringing in players over 31, albeit good players, but they are still at the end of their careers. And they are and will be praised and commended for it. But if we bring in someone that's like 27, the same media will question it.

The same way Cox is not that good until the Dogs are interested and then he is a star that can ruck and mark and goal and do all this amazing stuff at 29. Unless he stays and the media will then say the Dogs made the right call.
A Goal Saved Is 2 Goals Earned!

Post by K »

MatthewBoydFanClub wrote:... We're trading to degrade our list because we're embarrassed by how wonderful our list is.
Or to save money because we've thrown millions and millions at a few chosen players.
Has liked: 342 times
Been liked: 105 times

It’s very telling the same day Geelong rorts the salary cap by getting Cameron, Higgins, and Smith, that Collingwood is used as a headline distraction
Well, there's no evidence Geebung is rorting the salary cap, unless rorting means not overpaying their "stars" like Collingwood does.

It does sound like they are benefiting from marketing themselves to players on "lifestyle", which seems to mean country-like for the country boys, who are well represented amongst AFL ranks. (This was a factor for Isaac Smith, according to the media. He also had an offer from Melbourne.)
Much as I hate the pricks i agree. Take a look at the real estate pages too, some amazing properties so much cheaper than Melbourne and the suburbs, Footy players are sporty people duh, so having the surf coast, boat ramps galore, massive golf courses with no crowds of people driving you nuts, plus no traffic when you go to training, is a big plus. We have a holiday place 20 min from Geelong, its heaven, quiet, great beaches, boat ramps, plenty of space to hoon on the jetski, we only just finished the house, but are looking at buying a property there, with acreage, its very affordable. They are also smart in targeting home grown stars who want to return to the area, the G.abletts, Danger and now Cameron all have family in the area. If your getting paid $800k, would you take another $100k to give all that up, be in surburbia without space, family and with such shit traffic? When the same property in Janjuc is $2 million cheaper than the one in Brighton, and the surf is at your doorstep, that $100k difference is negated many times over.

Post by K »

Presti35 wrote:... And they are and will be praised and commended for it. But if we bring in someone that's like 27, the same media will question it.
But if the media does that it won't matter. All that matters is whether it works on-field. Media noise is irrelevant.

Post by K »

LaurieHolden wrote:2021 AGM - questions from the floor?
Malthouse wouldn't have traded out a kid like Stephenson.
(drops mike, walks out...)
What are the odds of there being a 2021 AGM?
Not so high, I reckon.
Has liked: 17 times
Been liked: 176 times

Post by Pies2016 »

Presti35 wrote:Smith is a season or two away from retiring. He has the rest of his life to live the lifestyle. He's going for another crack at a flag.

But one thing that i find interesting is Geelong are bringing in players over 31, albeit good players, but they are still at the end of their careers. And they are and will be praised and commended for it. But if we bring in someone that's like 27, the same media will question it.

The same way Cox is not that good until the Dogs are interested and then he is a star that can ruck and mark and goal and do all this amazing stuff at 29. Unless he stays and the media will then say the Dogs made the right call.
The big knock on Scott has always been his reluctance ( read impatience ) to develop youth.
They have this great resource in Greg Wells and yet continue to under utilise him and continually fill their list with recycled players. How did Zac Smith work out for them ? Dahlhaus ? Steven ? Henderson has been there four years and finally had a decent 3 month period in the back half of 2020.
After three years at the club, Stanley finally reinvented himself before underachieving the previous years at Geelong.
There’s a theory the Cats were greatly suited by the shortened quarters in 2020 because of their age. I guess we will see that play out with more clarity in 2021.

Post by K »

Pies2016 wrote:...
There’s a theory the Cats were greatly suited by the shortened quarters in 2020 because of their age. I guess we will see that play out with more clarity in 2021.
There's a big chance 2021 will also have shortened quarters.
matrix10

Post by matrix10 »

It does sound like they are benefiting from marketing themselves to players on "lifestyle", which seems to mean country-like for the country boys, who are well represented amongst AFL ranks. (This was a factor for Isaac Smith, according to the media. He also had an offer from Melbourne.)
Much as I hate the pricks i agree. Take a look at the real estate pages too, some amazing properties so much cheaper than Melbourne and the suburbs, Footy players are sporty people duh, so having the surf coast, boat ramps galore, massive golf courses with no crowds of people driving you nuts, plus no traffic when you go to training, is a big plus. We have a holiday place 20 min from Geelong, its heaven, quiet, great beaches, boat ramps, plenty of space to hoon on the jetski, we only just finished the house, but are looking at buying a property there, with acreage, its very affordable. They are also smart in targeting home grown stars who want to return to the area, the G.abletts, Danger and now Cameron all have family in the area. If your getting paid $800k, would you take another $100k to give all that up, be in surburbia without space, family and with such shit traffic? When the same property in Janjuc is $2 million cheaper than the one in Brighton, and the surf is at your doorstep, that $100k difference is negated many times over.
bingo! add in the lack of scrutiny compared to playing for a big melbourne club and they have a serious advantage. Majority are local or country boys from other areas- avoid big city and live a good life. SHould cats get lower TPP? Sydney used to get more due to high cost of living- maybe cats, SA and QLD teams could have a 10% haircut?

Post by Pies2016 »

You don’t invite offers on a very “ promising “ talent after only three years in the system unless there is something going on that doesn’t sit comfortably with the club.
We need to understand no matter how much we all think we know, I can absolutely categorically promise everyone that the club knows a lot more.
And if nothing else, that last sentence is not up for any conjecture. Hi
Gary Player “ the harder I practice, the luckier I get “

Post by Pies2016 »

D P
Last edited by Pies2016 on Sat Oct 31, 2020 3:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Presti35
Has liked: 447 times
Been liked: 224 times

Post by Presti35 »

What I want in the coming weeks?

Logan McDonald. Will Phillips. Reef McInnes. Tom McDonald. Zach Merrett. Keep Treloar. Keep De Goey. Keep Stephenson.

Why are you laughing?

Oh because none of that can happen. #keepcake #eatcake #dudsforstuds #picksfordicks

:lol:
A Goal Saved Is 2 Goals Earned!
What'sinaname
Has liked: 8 times
Been liked: 35 times

Post by What'sinaname »

Rd10.1998_11.1#36 wrote:
donuts wrote:I’m not too sure about this but Barrett does get a few right
Even a broken clock is right twice a day
not a digital clock