K wrote:Mr Miyagi wrote:...
It’s very telling the same day Geelong rorts the salary cap by getting Cameron, Higgins, and Smith, that Collingwood is used as a headline distraction
Well, there's no evidence Geebung is rorting the salary cap, unless rorting means not overpaying their "stars" like Collingwood does.
It does sound like they are benefiting from marketing themselves to players on "lifestyle", which seems to mean country-like for the country boys, who are well represented amongst AFL ranks. (This was a factor for Isaac Smith, according to the media. He also had an offer from Melbourne.)
Much as I hate the pricks i agree. Take a look at the real estate pages too, some amazing properties so much cheaper than Melbourne and the suburbs, Footy players are sporty people duh, so having the surf coast, boat ramps galore, massive golf courses with no crowds of people driving you nuts, plus no traffic when you go to training, is a big plus. We have a holiday place 20 min from Geelong, its heaven, quiet, great beaches, boat ramps, plenty of space to hoon on the jetski, we only just finished the house, but are looking at buying a property there, with acreage, its very affordable. They are also smart in targeting home grown stars who want to return to the area, the G.abletts, Danger and now Cameron all have family in the area. If your getting paid $800k, would you take another $100k to give all that up, be in surburbia without space, family and with such shit traffic? When the same property in Janjuc is $2 million cheaper than the one in Brighton, and the surf is at your doorstep, that $100k difference is negated many times over.