What made you happy today? Part II
- eddiesmith
- Has liked: 11 times
- Been liked: 24 times
Made a baked basque cheesecake for Mrs WPT's birthday tomorrow:
Currently in the oven and I added lemon zest and vanilla extract to the mix. Tomorrow I'll add a fresh berry topping
https://www.taste.com.au/recipes/basque ... 575e75a169
A Mathew Preston recipe.
To save time I'll just open my arteries and trowel the fat and sugar in
Currently in the oven and I added lemon zest and vanilla extract to the mix. Tomorrow I'll add a fresh berry topping
https://www.taste.com.au/recipes/basque ... 575e75a169
A Mathew Preston recipe.
To save time I'll just open my arteries and trowel the fat and sugar in
“I even went as far as becoming a Southern Baptist until I realised they didn’t keep ‘em under long enough” Kinky Friedman
- stui magpie
- Has liked: 132 times
- Been liked: 168 times
Had the Grandson over today for a bit. That's 2nd time over and 3rd time I've seen him since I think March. I drove to his place, taking a side road to avoid getting stuck in the ring of chicken wire roadblocks.
Fkn brilliant to have him. Unfortunately he takes after his mother in some areas in that he can talk under 4 metres of wet cement and has the concentration span of a fruitfly, but he's also quite intelligent. Just hard to learn when your focus is measured in microseconds.
He was much better behaved than last time, I got cranky a few times which as I explained to his dad was actually all about me being out of practice. His conversation skills have improved and he was able to accept logic and make a case.
eg, we played in the park for a while earlier, a group had moved in near the play equipment having a BBQ and a few drinks, thier kids all over the equipment. He wanted to ride his bike so we rode past (him riding me just walking fast) and he asked if he could go up to the play equipment.
I responded with:
1. Mate, focus, stay with one thing, you wanted to ride your bike lets ride.
2. Anyway, those people are having a bit of a party, best if we just leave them alone hey?
Mr coming up 5 digested that, said "OK, we can come back later after they've gone"
We didn't but I liked the logic. No sooking, no tantrums and no just straight disobedience. Hopefully won't be 4 months before I do that again, The old girl loved it
Fkn brilliant to have him. Unfortunately he takes after his mother in some areas in that he can talk under 4 metres of wet cement and has the concentration span of a fruitfly, but he's also quite intelligent. Just hard to learn when your focus is measured in microseconds.
He was much better behaved than last time, I got cranky a few times which as I explained to his dad was actually all about me being out of practice. His conversation skills have improved and he was able to accept logic and make a case.
eg, we played in the park for a while earlier, a group had moved in near the play equipment having a BBQ and a few drinks, thier kids all over the equipment. He wanted to ride his bike so we rode past (him riding me just walking fast) and he asked if he could go up to the play equipment.
I responded with:
1. Mate, focus, stay with one thing, you wanted to ride your bike lets ride.
2. Anyway, those people are having a bit of a party, best if we just leave them alone hey?
Mr coming up 5 digested that, said "OK, we can come back later after they've gone"
We didn't but I liked the logic. No sooking, no tantrums and no just straight disobedience. Hopefully won't be 4 months before I do that again, The old girl loved it
- think positive
- Has liked: 342 times
- Been liked: 105 times
^^^ Nice one Stui.
Well that cheesecake was a ripper. Served with fresh strawberries, blueberries and double cream. To die for (oops - I might want to change that)
Went for my first swim of the season at the Carnegie Swimming Pool. Online booking then when I got there at 0800 this morning the young woman checking me in said the boiler broke last night
Well that cheesecake was a ripper. Served with fresh strawberries, blueberries and double cream. To die for (oops - I might want to change that)
Went for my first swim of the season at the Carnegie Swimming Pool. Online booking then when I got there at 0800 this morning the young woman checking me in said the boiler broke last night
“I even went as far as becoming a Southern Baptist until I realised they didn’t keep ‘em under long enough” Kinky Friedman
- think positive
- Has liked: 342 times
- Been liked: 105 times
[quote="watt price tully"]^^^ Nice one Stui.
[quote="think positive"][quote="watt price tully"]^^^ Nice one Stui.
- stui magpie
- Dark Beanie
- Has liked: 2 times
- Been liked: 26 times
[quote="watt price tully"]^^^ Nice one Stui.
If you are foolish enough to be contented, don't show it, but just grumble with the rest. - Jerome K Jerome
[quote="Dark Beanie"][quote="watt price tully"]^^^ Nice one Stui.
Youngest has now submitted her two papers this week (3000 & 3700 words) on Royal commissions and Competition Law which is the last of her essay work for the Juris Doctor (post grad law) course. She’s working 2 days a week at one of the courts and two days a week till mid December for her Community Legal Centre work (working in family law). The family law component is run by a woman who is highly experienced in Family Law & is also a psychologist - a good fit.
Then in February she starts her career at a Law firm in Collins Street (if u don’t mind umpire).
Good luck to her. She’s worked awfully hard over a long period of time.
Then in February she starts her career at a Law firm in Collins Street (if u don’t mind umpire).
Good luck to her. She’s worked awfully hard over a long period of time.
- stui magpie
Good stuff to her, the hard work hasn't started yet.
New lawyers in those Collins St firms need to mainline stimulants for the first few years as they are used and abused and worked like 18th century coal miners.
She knows. She picked a firm that looks after their employees but when the work is on, the work is on. She also gets 3 x 6 month rotations in different areas, they pay for whatever it is that Law graduates have to pay for / be registered. She had a choice of other workplaces but liked the “culture” despite another place being more highly regarded with respect to status etc ( she found turning them down a hard decision but knows she is in a fortunate position). She’s a good and kind person.stui magpie wrote:^
Getting started at a Hardware store in year 9 exposed her to “real life” and having to deal with a variety of people turned out to be a good foundation.