The 2021 Great Big Consolidated Trade & Draft thread

This is a Collingwood Bulletin Board - use this forum for general, Pies-related topics. For other footy topics, use Nick's Other AFL forum, and for non-footy sporting topics please use Nick's Sports Bar. For non-sporting topics please use the Victoria Park Tavern.

Has liked: 99 times
Been liked: 184 times

Post by Mr Miyagi »

simon tonna wrote:
Quincy wrote:
Mr Miyagi wrote:Heard Cunnington is available
He is like a rusty old Holden.
Running on one cylinder
Yeah I’d rather bring Greenwood back out of retirement. I just remember a poster here being right into Cunnington all year.

Post by Lazza »

Pebbles Rocks wrote: So we are rebuilding right? And you think it would be a good idea to recruit someone simply on the basis that they are big and who will be 31yo at the start of next year and has been delisted from the wooden spooners?
No, wrong way of looking at this. Just because you are rebuilding, it is a myth that you can have a team of young guys under 23 or whatever battling along each week against sides that will smash them. This will be traumatic. The side also needs a couple of experienced big guys to protect and guide them on the field. Daw will be a perfect recruit for that role. If we are now becoming smarter about how we do things, this is a no brainer. Get it done.
Don't confuse your current path with your final destination. Just because it's dark and stormy now doesn't meant that you aren't headed for glorious sunshine!

Post by inxs88 »

I remember. Ben had to take out an AVO
I love the Pies, hate Carlscum
Has liked: 17 times
Been liked: 176 times

Post by Pies2016 »

Pebbles Rocks wrote: So we are rebuilding right? And you think it would be a good idea to recruit someone simply on the basis that they are big and who will be 31yo at the start of next year and has been delisted from the wooden spooners?
No, wrong way of looking at this. Just because you are rebuilding, it is a myth that you can have a team of young guys under 23 or whatever battling along each week against sides that will smash them. This will be traumatic. The side also needs a couple of experienced big guys to protect and guide them on the field. Daw will be a perfect recruit for that role. If we are now becoming smarter about how we do things, this is a no brainer. Get it done.
Majak has his distractions at the moment. I’m not sure footy is currently his priority.
Been liked: 43 times

Post by BazBoy »

Twenty nine yr old Josh Caddy is of a mind to explore his options after playing in two of Tigers flags
I'm not arguing--just explaining why i am right
MJ23

Post by MJ23 »

Agree we need some big bodied experienced players to protect some of the kids development.
These guys need to set an example on and off the field and need to contribute significantly on field.
A player for "bog bodied" sake can cause more harm than good if its the wrong fit.
these players are taking a kids spot so form should ensure they hold it not body size.

Ideally the kids will take their place in the team when they a physically ready.

Daw does not fit. Caddy might.
"Even when Im old and gray, I wont be able to play but Ill still love the game"
Michael Jordan

Post by Pies2016 »

BazBoy wrote:Twenty nine yr old Josh Caddy is of a mind to explore his options after playing in two of Tigers flags
I will absolutely guarantee you that Caddy won’t be at Collingwood because McRae knows him better than anyone.
Keep in mind, if Caddy finds a new home, it will be his fourth club.
Make of all that what you will.

Post by Lazza »

Pebbles Rocks wrote:Majak has his distractions at the moment. I’m not sure footy is currently his priority.
I assumed that stuff was all behind him. If those issues are still unresolved, he needs to concentrate on getting his mind right before anything else.
Don't confuse your current path with your final destination. Just because it's dark and stormy now doesn't meant that you aren't headed for glorious sunshine!
piedys
Has liked: 371 times
Been liked: 101 times

Post by piedys »

BazBoy wrote:Twenty nine yr old Josh Caddy is of a mind to explore his options after playing in two of Tigers flags
I will absolutely guarantee you that Caddy won’t be at Collingwood because McRae knows him better than anyone.

Well that's a rather negative conclusion to draw?
If Caddy has issues outside football, then sure, Fly won't entice him over.
However, if he has ticked all the boxes and played his role at both AFL/VFL level, then I'd suggest those two will be talking on the blower sooner than later.

His departure from Geelong over to Tigers does concern me though, wandering if was for cap space, or his application, or other.
Still he commanded a spot in that Richmond 22 for quite a while, during that successful era; he'd walk into our 22 - no question.
M I L L A N E 4 2 forever
themonk

Post by themonk »

However, if he has ticked all the boxes and played his role at both AFL/VFL level, then I'd suggest those two will be talking on the blower sooner than later.

His departure from Geelong over to Tigers does concern me though, wandering if was for cap space, or his application, or other.
Still he commanded a spot in that Richmond 22 for quite a while, during that successful era; he'd walk into our 22 - no question.
I just don't think he's good enough.

Would rather invest in Wallis, inside mid that can also play forward.
Been liked: 148 times

Daw is not a good player. It's that simple.

Post by Pies2016 »

Pebbles Rocks wrote:Majak has his distractions at the moment. I’m not sure footy is currently his priority.
I assumed that stuff was all behind him. If those issues are still unresolved, he needs to concentrate on getting his mind right before anything else.
Lazza, youve done it again

Post by Pies2016 »

I posted nearly three weeks ago that McRae and Kingsley were the true front runners for the Collingwood job in the “ who will coach collingwood “ thread. I also posted that info came from a long time mate and twenty year staffer at Richmond F C, so when he gives me “ feedback “ on Caddy, I have every confidence its accurate.
We’ve talked about Patrick Naish too and he reckons he is worth a shot. Exceptional skills and good pace but was a bit timid once under Hardwick and the coach pretty much put a line through him. That’s obviously a bit easier to do when you have no injuries for three years and also have the best list in the comp.
if you want to chase players from Richmond, then I would speak to Chol and Naish ( neither require trades ) long before I would bother with Caddy.
Has liked: 6 times
Been liked: 32 times

Post by K »

Pies2016 wrote:...
I posted nearly three weeks ago that McRae and Kingsley were the true front runners for the Collingwood job in the “ who will coach collingwood “ thread. ...
I shoulda put money on McRae three weeks ago... Missed opportunity!
Presti35
Has liked: 447 times
Been liked: 223 times

Post by Presti35 »

I've watched Daw at VFL level. He's not the player he used to be. And he was never really that good to begin with. As an older player, I dont think he offers any kind of mentoring either.

Would you look at a Zaharakis or Houlii? Players that are passed it, but could offer mentoring to younger players? I'm guessing 99% wouldn't.
A Goal Saved Is 2 Goals Earned!