Nick, I've just picked myself up off the ground after reading in another post that your opinion is that Josh should not have been taken as 1st Draft choice in '99.
Nick, we all have our opinions on recruiting, but seriously, are you on something? Josh would have been taken as 1st draft choice the year before, except he missed out by 20 days or so in that draft (too young). When has the expectations on an 18 y.o. been as great as they are on Fraser?
He was easily the standout player of that draft, and don't forget that 18 months prior to the draft, he had Glandular fever, so he didn't play all of the TAC cup season, so that also put him out of football and the opportunity to continue weights sessions.
Think of the players from last seasons Rising star, and ask yourself, how many 2nd year players in the season gone performed at the level that Josh did. None! As well, some of the nominations from the rising star year when Josh came second had been at clubs for 12-24 months previous, it's just that they hadn't played more than 10 games.
You are entitled to your opinion, as we all are, but to suggest that taking Fraser at No.1 was a mistake is staggering. Please, don't apply for a job as one of our recruiters.
Nick the Pieman-You are Kidding
- NICK THE PIE MAN
Calm down fellas..
Yes, he is excellent.
Its probably just my biast opinion talking because I have never really liked ruckman and those type of tall players. Yes i reckon he will pay divedends.
Its because i love midfielders and forward players like Adam Ramaunaskas and Matthew Pavelich who were in the draft.
Don't get me wrong though, i like Josh, he is a gun.
And will get better...
"Good 'Ol Collingwood Forever"
Yes, he is excellent.
Its probably just my biast opinion talking because I have never really liked ruckman and those type of tall players. Yes i reckon he will pay divedends.
Its because i love midfielders and forward players like Adam Ramaunaskas and Matthew Pavelich who were in the draft.
Don't get me wrong though, i like Josh, he is a gun.
And will get better...
"Good 'Ol Collingwood Forever"
Good point re Josh RTC but unfortunately he is not the only one asked to play against bigger and harder opponents before his time. That is a factor or where oour list was 3 or 4 years ago and the drafting required to get us oout of that giant hole we were in. Josh at least seems to take it in his stride. He is a very impressive young man.
If want an illustration of how our list effect the players, look at the Lonnie boys. Early on Ryan was looking like recruit of the year. He tired and faded. His brother had an easier introduction and played good footy late in the year. On Saturday he, along with Shaun Bogan nearly got the Hawks home. It will be an interesting comparrison next year. Both boys look like they have bright futures. I think Ryan will be a star wingman in time.