Hey Hey It's 50 Years

Nick's current affairs & general discussion about anything that's not sport.
Voice your opinion on stories of interest to all at Nick's.

Presti35
Has liked: 440 times
Been liked: 211 times

Hey Hey It's 50 Years

Post by Presti35 »

Found myself strangely looking forward to it.

Watched it. It wasn't that great. Can't see it coming back in any form, unless they bring in a completely new cast with occasional cameos from the originals.

Did you watch this show back in the day? Would you like to see it come back?
A Goal Saved Is 2 Goals Earned!
Has liked: 15 times
Been liked: 76 times

Only very vaguely recall it from early childhood. My general sense is that it was already pretty stale in the late '90s let alone when they tried to resurrect it a decade ago, and that at this point any nostalgia is ... somewhat misplaced.
Has liked: 337 times
Been liked: 103 times

Um no David, it was a smash hit in it’s time! Everyone watched it! It started Saturday morning then went adult in the evening! It was brilliant for a few years!

Not misplaced at all, I forgot it was on or I would have watched it. I only realised when I flicked over from the block.

Red faces was a crack up! And chook lotto! .
Has liked: 15 times
Been liked: 76 times

Perhaps it's one of those "you just had to be there" things!
Has liked: 126 times
Been liked: 160 times

Back in the late 80's it was a ritual to watch Hey Hey before going out on the town Saturday night. It did become pretty much a self caricature towards the end though.
KenH

Post by KenH »

Enjoyed it in the 80's but was pretty ordinary in the 90's lost it's way and couldn't be bothered watching it the other night and wouldn't watch it again.
Cheers big ears

stui magpie wrote:Back in the late 80's it was a ritual to watch Hey Hey before going out on the town Saturday night. It did become pretty much a self caricature towards the end though.
yep exactly!!!!
the end wasnt pretty, but hey hey, when is it ever!!!

KenH wrote:Enjoyed it in the 80's but was pretty ordinary in the 90's lost it's way and couldn't be bothered watching it the other night and wouldn't watch it again.
i think they got too try hard in the 90s, it was starting to become a different world with th internet, 8.30pm safe dirty jokes didnt cut it anymore!!!

everything has a use by date, it was fun while it lasted!!!

those 20 to 1 shows can be funny but also cringeworthy!
Presti35
Has liked: 440 times
Been liked: 211 times

Post by Presti35 »

You can watch it on 7+.

As the cast got older, I think they just lost their flow. But it was very good in its time. I remember when The Footy Show was looking for a new host, Darryl Somers name came up. :lol: Imagine that, Hey Hey It's The Footy Show.

We haven't had a good variety show in years, but is there still a market for it?
A Goal Saved Is 2 Goals Earned!
Has liked: 126 times
Been liked: 160 times

Good question, I think there could be a market for a good variety show but I don't think the numbers would work out. Live Variety shows can be expensive to produce ( I believe) and with all the streaming services available, you'd have to pitch to a market that would attract good advertising revenue.

The FTA stations have a fetish for reality TV which seems to rate highly across different demographics so is fairly low risk and good ROI generally, I can't see any of them taking the risk until that bubble bursts.

Anyway, where will we be in 50 years?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lm5tsUjYVjk

Post by Lazza »

OMG I absolutely loved the show. Enjoyed the Saturday night ritual of having a few drinks at home before going out raging. I thought that the 50 year shows was alright and I hope they continue with it because they have years of great material. I’m probably now one of those really boring people I used to ridicule and wonder how they could stay home and watch hey hey and not go out afterwards! Those were the days I guess when life was a bit simpler.
Don't confuse your current path with your final destination. Just because it's dark and stormy now doesn't meant that you aren't headed for glorious sunshine!

Lazza wrote:OMG I absolutely loved the show. Enjoyed the Saturday night ritual of having a few drinks at home before going out raging. I thought that the 50 year shows was alright and I hope they continue with it because they have years of great material. I’m probably now one of those really boring people I used to ridicule and wonder how they could stay home and watch hey hey and not go out afterwards! Those were the days I guess when life was a bit simpler.
truth mate, right there with you!