Plans for the long weekend?

Nick's current affairs & general discussion about anything that's not sport.
Voice your opinion on stories of interest to all at Nick's.

Arch@M32
Has liked: 155 times
Been liked: 9 times

Plans for the long weekend?

Post by Arch@M32 »

OK, OK I know it's not really a long weekend as the public holiday is Tuesday but lots of us treat it as one and I wondered what you all do. I'm heading to Buchan, East Gippsland for some caving.
Who else is going away?
Where are you going?
Has liked: 337 times
Been liked: 103 times

/\ i just watched the 2 netflix caving shows about the 12 soccer kids and their coach! check the weather reports first!!!

off to the farm, lots of mowing and stuff to do!
Arch@M32
Has liked: 155 times
Been liked: 9 times

Post by Arch@M32 »

think positive wrote:/\ i just watched the 2 netflix caving shows about the 12 soccer kids and their coach! check the weather reports first!!!

Only a handful of the caves in buchan out of the hundreds there that water becomes an issue.

What do you think of the docos?
eddiesmith
Has liked: 11 times
Been liked: 24 times

Post by eddiesmith »

No long weekend here
Skids
Has liked: 29 times
Been liked: 44 times

Post by Skids »

This is whyI love the FIFO lifestyle with an even time roster.

Long weekends, school holidays, even just weekends in general, I avoid; holiday destinations, Shopping centres, Bunnings, The Casino, the beach, the public pool... anywhere that will be packed with weekend warriors.

The only crowd I ever enjoy, is a packed footy stadium.
Don't count the days, make the days count.

Arch@M32 wrote:
think positive wrote:/\ i just watched the 2 netflix caving shows about the 12 soccer kids and their coach! check the weather reports first!!!

Only a handful of the caves in buchan out of the hundreds there that water becomes an issue.

What do you think of the docos?
both are amazing. the 1.5 hour doco is excellent, i watched it after the 6 part series, and just wow, those kids, and the one political dude who would not take no for an answer! if he had, they all would have died. watch it, and dont forget the tissues!!

So I remembered yesterday I forgot to fill the chook feeder, so instead of tomorrow I came back today, lucky, it was almost out! Had fun on the ride on mower, having a rest before going home! It’s so peaceful here!

Post by roar »

Skids wrote:This is whyI love the FIFO lifestyle with an even time roster.

Long weekends, school holidays, even just weekends in general, I avoid; holiday destinations, Shopping centres, Bunnings, The Casino, the beach, the public pool... anywhere that will be packed with weekend warriors.

The only crowd I ever enjoy, is a packed footy stadium.
I'm not a FIFO worker but have been able to avoid those peak times and weekends for a few years now and it's the best! Every holiday is planned to avoid school holidays. Never ski weekends.
kill for collingwood!
watt price tully

Post by watt price tully »

Now that the kids are adults it’s been the same here for a long time. Got the W/E off and a reasonable roster pattern. I’ve taken a fair bit of LSL in the last 1-2 years and have got two more for the Great Vic bike ride at the end of November.
“I even went as far as becoming a Southern Baptist until I realised they didn’t keep ‘em under long enough” Kinky Friedman
Has liked: 126 times
Been liked: 160 times

Every weekend is a long one when you're unemployed, I'm heading back to Melbourne tomorrow, mum's been sooking it up so go home for a week then come back without her.