What made you happy today? Part II

Nick's current affairs & general discussion about anything that's not sport.
Voice your opinion on stories of interest to all at Nick's.

Has liked: 72 times
Been liked: 74 times

Enjoy. Gotta love the size and price of the booze over there.

If you see one, assuming they still make them, try a Bud Lite Limearita. I got addicted to them, can't buy them here, over there you could get them from Walgreens.

Took the Grandson to Karate yesterday morning then bought him home for the day and night. Had to leave early this morning to go to swimming, they've moved him pools and programs, but had a blast.
5 weeks til Darwin.
Has liked: 216 times
Been liked: 85 times

Noice!! The more holidays the better I say!!! And PS your grandson is lucky to have you and your daughter xx

So after 3 amazing days at lake Louise I’m once again sipping Jimmy and zero on the banks of the Athabasca river in Jasper Canada, and I sincerely feel like the luckiest person alive!

Cheers Jo, he's had a rough start. Abandoned by his father twice and taken away from his mother by CSV twice, but things are looking up.

I enjoyed the sunshine today. We had no spring last year, it just fkn rained through winter until summer, but I'm feeling spring on the horizon :D

After my last attempt at Golf I resorted to Google and discovered that my grip and stance were wrong. So last Friday I went to one of those simulator things and tried to practice what I'd learned and it sort of worked. So today I went out to play 18 holes. Got through 12, but was hitting them a lot better. Hit a few beautiful shots and less crap ones. Next time I go I'll either use a cart or skip going for a 5km walk before going :wink:

Great few days up in Toc. Beautiful sunny weather, plumbers left a mess of mud but all the work done. Bloody cold on Tuesday morning but by mid morning I was working outside in the sun just wearing a singlet, jeans and work boots.

Got all the mud leveled out and threw some lawn seed around the back, moved the pile of galvanised iron that the plumbers had moved back where I wanted it cleaned up down the side, fixed the dolly wheel on the trailer and managed to drag it back to the back yard and even managed to get the huge concrete block off the front lawn out of the road, picked up a little table from the Cobram Op Shop to use in the shed, repaired a leak in the roof guttering and even found time for a game of golf. :D

Also had the NBN bloke around, turns out when they laid the new cable they connected it to the wrong port in the pit, that's fixed.
Council inspector came over, checked out the shed, gave it the tick. Turns out the shed company didn't put in the permit for the plumbing work I had done so he gave me a printed idiots guide as to how to do a section something approval request in the government portal which he'll fastrack once it comes through.

Had the sparky around. Showed him where I want the lights and power points, gave him the keys and told him to do it when he has time and just lock the shed and leave the keys inside and email me the invoice.

Bloody great few days. After all the heavy work on Tuesday the lower back was starting to spasm so I washed down some Neurofen and valium with a few beers and reds Tuesday night after dinner and woke up Wednesday feeling perfect.

Back to dismal dreary Melbourne this arvo, but I should have the Grandson this weekend so I can put up with the shit weather

Nice stui

Bit of whale watching in Juneau today,

Bald eagle sanctuary in Ketchikan tomorrow

Wasn't the weekend to have the Grandson, but got a text from the daughter Friday asking what I was doing Saturday morning as she had a hairdressers appointment and her partner had to work. No problems, drive the 40 minutes to her place to get there by 8:40, she goes to the hairdressers while I get the little bloke organised for Karate. Take him there then back to her place (she gave me the key) he gets changed, we play some footy in the back yard for a while then kick back watching cartoons till she gets home at midday.

Bit different, looking after him at her place, but cool. Just kicked back on the couch with him and let him drive the remote.

Then Sunday, saw them again, they came over for a fathers day lunch at the Bundoora Hotel. Very nice lunch, back to my place for a bit, hit of cricket and a kick of the footy in the park with both of them. Great day.

Yesterday quick spin up to Toc, quick bit of mowing, maintenance and watering, home this morning, got the bags packed, off to Darwin with the old girl in the morning. 6 days of heat.
:D

Enjoy mate xxx

Sitting on the porch at my Tropical Villa in Darwin in my underpants. Currently 26 degrees. Been a long day, Qantas staff were great, took a wheel chair for Mum cos she can't walk more than 10m, they took mine and gave me one of theirs to get her to the gate lounge. When we arrived, just wait on the plane til everyone else leaves then a woman shows up with a wheelchair, gets Mum to the gate lounge then hands over to me to get to the baggage pickup to get her wheelchair back. (fold up wheel chair I got for $40 from the Thomastown Market).

Had dinner at the pub, kicking back with a beer and a Red, watching TV, no anxiety.
Skids
Has liked: 26 times
Been liked: 31 times

Post by Skids »

Enjoy Stui, great spot!

Over 50's get breakfast smorgasbord at the casino for seniors price, think it was $10, but that was 3 years ago.
Don't count the days, make the days count.

2 years at the school of hard knocks and junior just landed her dream job, back at her old high school! Woooohooooo!
Has liked: 14 times
Been liked: 28 times

Post by pietillidie »

We went to Ricky Gervais' latest show in London this evening. Nothing zingingly new, but I still laughed the entire time. Politically incorrect naughty boy humour is my everyday schtick, plus he's a local Reading lad.

Three blokes next to me didn't laugh at a single joke. The show targeted all and sundry races, religions, genders, sexualities, etc., including quite possibly theirs, although it might have been that their English wasn't up to scratch (humour being about the hardest thing to follow in a second language). But it was incredibly hard to get a ticket as we had to book something like a year ago, so their silence was a bit disconcerting.

The show led in with Hell's Bells and led out with Highway to Hell, which was an Aussie bonus. All in all, a great trip into London town.
In the end the rain comes down, washes clean the streets of a blue sky town.
Help Nick's: http://www.magpies.net/nick/bb/fundraising.htm

Up in Toc, yesterday arvo got 4m of crushed rock delivered.

This morning, after a 5km walk , I moved about 3.5m of it. Shovel, wheelbarrow and rake.

And the body has held up :D Not aching and paining, feeling surprisingly good.
Has liked: 14 times
Been liked: 28 times

Post by pietillidie »

In the end the rain comes down, washes clean the streets of a blue sky town.
Help Nick's: http://www.magpies.net/nick/bb/fundraising.htm
Has liked: 128 times
Been liked: 191 times

Had a decent weekend ;)

What about everyone else? :P
Dark Beanie
Been liked: 17 times

Post by Dark Beanie »

Mine was pretty good but exhausting
If you are foolish enough to be contented, don't show it, but just grumble with the rest. - Jerome K Jerome