beer

This is a Collingwood Bulletin Board - use this forum for general, Pies-related topics. For other footy topics, use Nick's Other AFL forum, and for non-footy sporting topics please use Nick's Sports Bar. For non-sporting topics please use the Victoria Park Tavern.

junkboy75

beer

Post by junkboy75 »

here are my 5 favourite beers:

1. Hoegaarden (Belgium)
How good is this stuff?? This belgian white beer is very pale, almost translucent. brilliant taste, heady floral bouquet which is almost like certain chardonnays and rieslings, creamy head. there's a certain way to pour this from the bottle: a special hoegaarden pint glass is placed over an open bottle, then the bottle is inverted and the thing pours like from a tap! nifty, and not many bartenders do it right. quite alcoholic, so wipeout factor is high. try it on tap at belgian beer cafe bluestone, on st.kilda road.

2. Asahi (Japan)
not many people know that beer is the most popular drink in japan, not sake. this one shows that they've learnt their craft well. similar style to a lot of american beers. dry, light, and cleansing. you can drink heaps without feeling bloated. I like to drink it with some toasted wasabi peas at Robot bar, in bligh lane, melbourne.

3. Victoria Bitter (Australia)
ah, good old VB. the classic. it's actually a lager, not a "bitter". definitely world class, great hop flavour. 10 points for versatility. drink anywhere, at anytime, with anyone. best from the tap of course, also great in beer batter for fish and chips. nothing like a VB with mates in a beer garden, on a warm sunny day.

4. Newcastle Brown Ale (UK)
as much as I detest the skunks, I will concede that the geordies know how to make a beer. known locally as broon ale, the colour is a murky brown colour, the bouquet is floral, the taste is clean. luvly dubbly!! great with a fiery vindaloo. most UK themed pubs will have this on tap.

5. Guinness Draught (Eire)
pure thucking black gold!!! this stuff is magic. don't read into all the shite about it tasting like tar, etc..this one is for the connoiseur. black as pitch in colour, creamy head, lingering taste. you can tell that it's doing you good even as you quaff. best on tap, but expect ~ a 5-10 min wait for it to settle. a lot of lesser pubs stuff this up. also quite good from the self-gassing "nitro-bomb" can. magic with freshly shucked oysters natural.

Honourable mentions:
- James Boags Premium (Australia)
- Estrella Dam (Spain)
- Coopers Sparkling Ale (Australia)
- TsingTao (China)
- Pilsner Urquell (Czech Republic)

P.S. yes, I'm still sick and bored of trade rumours.

"consectatio excellentiae"

I've never had Belgian beer, but I had a belgian mate who was over here on exchange, he was always telling me how great their beer was. Seems he is right.

foxy

Post by foxy »

yeah, i had a bit of that hoegaarden stuff the other night. a bit expensive at 5 bucks for a glass. nothing quite like a quiet pot of carlton draught, preferably at the cricketer's arms. nice and smooth.
Been liked: 2 times

Post by Brown26 »

Honourable mentions: Coronas (Mexico)
Kilkenny (guess..)
Golden Lager (Mirboo North Brewry -
incredible)

junkboy75

Post by junkboy75 »

yeah I forgot to mention carlton draught the great pub beer.
corona's are OK although I am wary of a beer that requires a lemon to enhance the taste.
apparently kilkenny's is to Eire what VB is to Aust - it's what the locals drink. caffrey's is their version of foster's lager.
if anyone gets a chance to go to bendigo, check out the Rifle Brigade pub. not only does it do a great ostrich steak, but it's a microbrewery as well that has homebrew on tap. my fave is the Quartz ale (I think that's what it's called), smooth like honey Image

"consectatio excellentiae"
SS11

Post by SS11 »

lol i like VB...

guess its the aussie bloke in me...

Post by Greg J »

"Beer is your friend." Homer Simpson.