Pre-Match. Pies v. Bulldogs. All comments

This is a Collingwood Bulletin Board - use this forum for general, Pies-related topics. For other footy topics, use Nick's Other AFL forum, and for non-footy sporting topics please use Nick's Sports Bar. For non-sporting topics please use the Victoria Park Tavern.

Take_a_Screamer
Been liked: 12 times

Post by Take_a_Screamer »

Nick's playground...

AFL great’s ‘warning’ over Pies’ ‘Dancefloor Four’ dominance... with one star on another level
https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/teams/ ... 89b8dc98d2
Ash Johnson...you beauty
Johnson Screamer @ https://www.afl.com.au/video/931485/joh ... -epic-mark? ❤️️
Culprit
Has liked: 9 times
Been liked: 30 times

Post by Culprit »

As per Warb Lad - Krueger (for Cox), Johnson (for Mihocek) Markov (for Richards) Macrae (for Pendlebury) there is simply no alternative unless Bytel is in instead of Macrae. We have nothing to lose this game and that's a bonus. The pressure is on the Dogs to win.
Has liked: 48 times
Been liked: 113 times

Post by Mr Miyagi »

Take_a_Screamer wrote:Nick's playground...

AFL great’s ‘warning’ over Pies’ ‘Dancefloor Four’ dominance... with one star on another level
https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/teams/ ... 89b8dc98d2
Good to see Crispy get credit, he’s been very good since our shit start to the year
Take_a_Screamer

Tonight we will know what the team looks like...
I didn't bother second guessing, 'cause I haven't got a clue due to so many makeshift options.

Lucky WB have injuries, otherwise I would have said we won't win.

Like many I thought the MSD draft would have come to the rescue for this week.
We need a ruckman to replace Cox - we got an 18 yr old project player
We need a focal point in attack (like get Hutchy) - we got an injured midfielder

Good luck Magpies
The winner is any result as good as the toss of the coin.
Maybe a draw, hahaha
Ash Johnson...you beauty
piffdog
Been liked: 35 times

Post by piffdog »

^^ I actually think it would have been pretty short sighted to recruit someone in the MSD just for the 3-4 weeks of football (when we will be getting a bunch of these guys back) given almost any recruit would be unlikely to a) compete physically given theyre probably a tradie or school teacher for a day job and b) fit into a team's game plan without being a complete liability.

Ned Long will get fit and may be able to assist in another month's time, but the club may also be thinking that they get him to train on again next preseason then rookie him for season 2025.
It's never as good/nor bad as it seems...

Culprit wrote:As per Warb Lad - Krueger (for Cox), Johnson (for Mihocek) Markov (for Richards) Macrae (for Pendlebury) there is simply no alternative unless Bytel is in instead of Macrae. We have nothing to lose this game and that's a bonus. The pressure is on the Dogs to win.
Isn’t Howe available? Or did I miss something and he didn’t get through training?
Culprit
Has liked: 9 times
Been liked: 30 times

Post by Culprit »

^^He is but do they risk him after what happened with Checkers? It seems they are. :D
Last edited by Culprit on Thu May 30, 2024 6:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
What'sinaname
Been liked: 9 times

Post by What'sinaname »

AJ in
Allan - dropped

the other changes pretty much as expected
Fighting against the objectification of woman.
piffdog

Post by piffdog »

Interesting so Will Parker stays in I presume? Wonder if they took Allan to WA more for his development and he’s just not quite there yet or perhaps they see MacRae can fill a need better inside?

Interested to see if we run with Howe and AJ forward and or if Howe goes back and Frampton plays second ruck/forward.

As we get closer to the game im less interested in the result and more keen to see how Fly coaches and how the players go about it. I think often players will give themselves an out when the media is telling them all week how injured they are and that they must surely “tip over” soon, but I just don’t think that’s the message the coach is pushing internally.
It's never as good/nor bad as it seems...
Donny
Has liked: 46 times
Been liked: 23 times

Post by Donny »

IN: Oleg Markov,
Jack Bytel,
Ash Johnson,
Jeremy Howe,
Finlay Macrae

OUT: Edward Allan (Omitted),
Scott Pendlebury (Injured),
Brody Mihocek (Injured),
Joe Richards (Injured),
Mason Cox (Injured)

It's a game. Enjoy it. :D
Take_a_Screamer

I've taken the official team and repositioned players in their more likely spots

FB: Brayden Maynard, Billy Frampton, Charlie Dean
HB: Isaac Quaynor, Darcy Moore, Steele Sidebottom
C: Patrick Lipinski, Finlay Macrae, Josh Daicos
HF: Beau McCreery, Jeremy Howe, Lachie Schultz
FF: Bobby Hill, Ash Johnson, Harvey Harrison
FOL: Darcy Cameron, Jack Crisp, Nick Daicos

IC: John Noble, Jack Bytel, Lachlan Sullivan, Oleg Markov, Wil Parker (Sub)
EMG: Nathan Kreuger, Edward Allan, Tew Jiath

IN: Oleg Markov, Jack Bytel, Ash Johnson, Jeremy Howe, Finlay Macrae
OUT: Edward Allan (Omitted), Scott Pendlebury (Injured), Brody Mihocek (Injured), Joe Richards (Injured), Mason Cox (Injured)
Ash Johnson...you beauty
gurugeoff

Post by gurugeoff »

piffdog wrote:Interesting so Will Parker stays in I presume? Wonder if they took Allan to WA more for his development and he’s just not quite there yet or perhaps they see MacRae can fill a need better inside?
they could not leave Allan in. He pretty much fell over every contest he was in
Been liked: 29 times

Post by BazBoy »

All things equal not a bad side.

But Doggies good midfield -our old mate Treloar been in form
I'm not arguing--just explaining why i am right
Presti35
Has liked: 163 times
Been liked: 59 times

Post by Presti35 »

Ashy Johnson, you gotta stand up in this one.
A Goal Saved Is 2 Goals Earned!
Take_a_Screamer

There will be 3 mac Ray's in the game:

2 playing for Collingwood, 1 for WB

I myself happen to live near McCrae in Victoria
Last edited by Take_a_Screamer on Thu May 30, 2024 7:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Ash Johnson...you beauty